We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Bird Tea Rooms

Blue Bird Tea Rooms
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Hessle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We were looking for anther tea rooms in this area when we chanced upon a short walk to the Blue Bird Tea Rooms. Incredible views over to France. Sit out or in and an area which was fenced off for safety if you have children with you. Inside there is a wood burning stove, for cooler days window seats have comfy cushions and guess what not a National Trust price in sight. We had tea and I had a toasted tea cake, my husband a Kentish cream tea. The staff were friendly and chatty and the whole experience well worth repeating. Thank you so much.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Baroness001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    29
    7
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Go for the views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Far from perfect but you go here for the location. The"fry up" is not too bad. Been here so many times over the years and this place was excellent when owned and run by 2 guys whose names escape me. This was a few years back though.Tea ok ish. Coffee ok ish. Puddings a bit better.

They are sticklers for time. In the past have been minutes late for breakfast only to be told I should have got there earlier. Service not a strong point. However you must not ignore this place as the location is fantastic with great walking opportunities.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Romney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Bad service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

In a beautiful setting on top of the cliffs overlooking the sea. The tearoom does get very busy as isn't very big and if you visit in busy periods you have to wait a long time for a table. Visited today for a drink and a sandwich and was not disappointed with the food, although a few more Pringles would have been nice. Thought five was a bit mean especially as the sandwich cost slightly under £5. The main letdown though was the waitress. She was very busy and a little stressed but that is no excuse for rudeness. She practically threw our cups at us! One customer asked if they could sit at a table that others were just leaving and under her breath and very huffly said Ok, I will be there in a minute! There were other similar instances and it spoilt our lunch. If we hadn't paid up front we would have left.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A lovely quiet cafe over looking the English Channel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

The Blue Bird Tea Rooms are near to the Dover Patrol Memorial which is along the footpath between Kingsdown and the South Foreland lighthouse. I had a Cheese and pickle sandwich with a coffee and was surprised to see the size of it. It came with a salad garnish and some Pringles. The bread was thick and had plenty of filling. (On a previous visit I had a sandwich to take away which they wrapped up for me.)
The portions are very good and the staff are polite and friendly. The menu is quite varied and can be a little pricey but the food is good.
The building was originally the old coastguard station so has large windows all the better for admiring the ferries crossing and the views of France. There is free parking at the end of the lane beside the tea rooms. They have some separate tables inside and a large table at one end with cushion seating. There are some picnic style benches outside too.
I would stop by each time I was up on the cliffs.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Why?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Why the Blue Bird Cafe at St Margarets has so many good reviews is a puzzle to myself and my husband! On our first visit a while back we felt the service to be mediocre, but decided to try again yesterday. My husband`s coffee was good. However my tea was without colour, tasting like a cheap catering teabag. it was distinctly on the worse side of tepid - as if the kettle had never boiled. I ordered some lemon cake, which never arrived. I was quite grateful, as the tea was undrinkable so I did not bother to pursue the none appearance of the cake. Further to which the only available seat was directly in front of the toilet door and I had to move out of the way twice (in the very short time we were in the cafe) on account of customers `needs`. In contrast to this, the little tea hut down on the beach at St Margarets serves a superb egg and bacon bap and 1st rate tea in a nice big mug.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Bird Tea Rooms also viewed

 
St Margaret's at Cliffe, Dover
 
St Margaret's Bay, Dover
 

Been to Blue Bird Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing