We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value form a very comfortable, friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Samlesbury
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The hotel location has good access to motorways but with this there may be a small price to pay for rooms at the front overlooking the car park - a slight traffic drone, which does subside after rush hour. For rooms to the rear overlooking the river, these are quite quiet with pleasant country side views. We have resided in both.
The reception staff are warm, friendly and genuinely welcoming, as you would expect from local English people. We asked for an executive room and were provide with a room at the front of the hotel which which was well furnished with comforting decor and to a high standard of cleanliness. The high quality bed and linen provided an excellent nights sleep. There is also a large flat screen TV affording a myriad of channels, plus the usual well equipped tea and coffee tray.
The bathroom was tastefully designed with both a bath and a large effective shower, confirming you that you have booked an executive room. Downstairs the lounge area is relaxing, leading onto a smart bar and further lounge area with waiter service. Sadly the waiter was extremely overworked, presumably from being short-staffed, which lead to their being quite a wait for drinks and to place a restaurant order. Previously when staying in APRIL we enjoyed a truly excellent service. As for the menu, there is too much emphasis on the over priced Scottish Steak Club which also leaves you wondering why they have a display cabinet showing raw steak from Argentina and the USA, especially when the Eastern European waitress doesn't have a reasonable command of English to explain the contents. My chowder starter was excellent again, but the scollops were cold and expensive at over £10:00. The wine and steak was also expensive, but the steak was tender and cooked to perfection.
Breakfast was absolutely excellent, for not only for choice, but really hot and well presented by easy to understand English people.
Would we stay again? Most certainly, as our first stay would be hard to beat anywhere.

Room Tip: In April we had had a river view which is quieter and had pleasant view. In May we had an executive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rods350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robin_ford, General Manager at Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review following your recent return stay to Macdonald Tickled Trout.

I am delighted you had an enjoyable experience.

Whilst you have commented that you enjoyed the food, making particular mention to the steak being tender and cooked to perfection I was disappointed that you felt there was too much emphasis on the Scottish Steak Club and finding the menu to be overpriced.

We are immensely proud of our Scottish Steak Restaurant; as you have mentioned we offer the very best steaks from Scotland, Argentina and USA. These are perfectly aged in our ageing fridge which is present in our restaurant for our guests and customers to see the cuts of meat and the ageing process for themselves.

We believe this sets us apart from many others and is a great tool.

I am sorry this left you wondering why we would display our very best produce. The ageing process greatly contributes to the tenderness and flavour of our dry-aged meat.

As I have alluded to above, we are proud of what we do and the quality of the ingredients that we serve, equally we train hard and all of our team members remain knowledgeable about our food.

I would disagree that we have any “Eastern European” team members as you highlight in your review who do not have a reasonable command of English, I am sorry you felt this was the case.

I am also very pleased you enjoyed our Signature breakfast, we really are committed to only using the very best quality ingredients in our breakfasts, we believe the combination of using British free range eggs, free range and red tractor approved award winning sausages from Anna’s happy trotters in Yorkshire and our award winning Macleod Stornoway black pudding to name just a few components are the main reasons why we have consistently won the MIDAS Best Breakfast Award and continue to receive such positive feedback.

The quality remains high and shouldn’t change just because it was presented by an easy to understand English people as your review points out.

I am very proud and privileged to work with the great team that I do, the quality and consistency of the experience our guests endure is down to them, they are the real stars!

Thank you once again for your comments and I sincerely hope you can come back again very soon!

Remember, book with us direct for the very best prices!

Best Regards,

Robin Ford
General Manager
Macdonald Tickled Trout
E: robin.ford@macdonald-hotels.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,470 - 1,476 of 1,652 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Went here recently with family, and overall we really enjoyed it. Rooms were well equipped ( hair dryer, iron, trouser press, coffee & tea facilities ) and very clean, ours overlooked the river which was an added bonus. The deal we booked included an evening meal allowance of £25 per person, and you simply paid for any amount which was overspent. There's various things on the restaurant menu, but with most of the steaks being £21 and above it doesn't leave much room within the £25 allowance for a starter and dessert. We found the bar menu to be much better value - there's a lot more on this menu and at more reasonable prices. All of the staff we spoke to, from cleaners to reception and bar staff to waiters were all very welcoming and polite. The hotel is ideally situated to visit places in various directions - we went to Blackpool one day ( 30 mins by car ) and the Trafford Centre another day ( around 40 mins ). Breakfast is lovely, with a large self service continental selection on offer. Cooked breakfasts are also available to order. We'd definitely stay here again, but the restaurant menu needs a rethink I'm afraid !

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank SuperSonic1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robin_ford, General Manager at Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking to provide candid feedback following a recent stay.

I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay. Thank you for your comments and we hope we can welcome you back again very soon.

Remember, book with us direct for the very best prices!

Regards,

Robin Ford
General Manager
Macdonald Tickled Trout
E: robin.ford@macdonald-hotels.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Last minute booking as overnight stay. Good value DBB break and booked an executive room for a little extra comfort.
Room was spacious and comfy but faced the car park and close to busy road. On a very warm day the room was stuffy and with the window open the traffic noise was annoying.
Opposite rooms faced the river with a lovely view so make sure you ask for a river view room.
Check in was good and meal option explained as £50 credit toward restaurant which sounds OK but food is expensive with starters at £8 and steaks between £24 and £28
Ordered a Dover Sole which was inedible with no offer of filleting at the table.
Apologies accepted and no charge for our sweets to compensate which was a nice gesture.
6.00 to 8.00 pm was 2 cocktails for the price of 1 which made them affordable otherwise priced at £8 or £9 per drink !
No fresh mint for my Mojito so had to choose an alternative.

Breakfast was wonderful and included in the DBB rate otherwise charged at £17.50 which is enough to pay but then a supplement of £2.50 should you want kippers or eggs Benedict.
I find these breakfast and dinner supplements annoying

My first experience of a Macdonald hotel - could do much better, especially in the restaurant that needs a menu rethink.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank NeilY0rkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robin_ford, General Manager at Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Macdonald Tickled Trout.

I appreciate your candid feedback as a result.

All of our Executive Rooms offer a variety of additional features to those of a standard room, primarily offering King size beds, upgraded toiletries and a four piece bathroom. I appreciate that all of our standard rooms do offer superb views of the River Ribble.

The hotel has been extended over the years and the additional Executive bedrooms were added after the standard rooms were built. It is unfortunate that given the size difference of these rooms we cannot install the features of an Executive room into that of a standard.

I am sorry you were inconvenienced by road noise; ordinarily we receive positive feedback given our close proximity to the road network just how quiet our rooms are.

We are extremely proud of our Scottish Steak Restaurant; offering the very best steaks from Scotland and featuring some guest steaks from USA and Argentina! We believe this combined with our ageing fridge, ageing and showcasing our steaks; our great people delivering great service makes for a great experience.

Our Lemon Sole is a very popular dish and one we receive very good feedback and commendations on. I am sorry you didn’t feel this was the case when you dined.

We only use the finest and freshest ingredients from quality suppliers, I appreciate that our prices cannot be compared to other “steak chain restaurants” but we believe our pricing reflects the quality of the ingredients we are using. Starters range in price from £6.50 and our mains range from £11.50. Our steaks start at £21.50.

I am delighted you found our Signature Breakfast to be wonderful. Again committed to only using the very best quality ingredients in our breakfasts we believe the combination of our Free Range British Eggs, Anna’s Happy Trotters Sausages Macleod Stornoway Black Pudding to name just a few components is the reason why we have consistently won the MIDAS Best Breakfast Award.

The supplements that we charge for Eggs Benedict, Kippers and the likes are to cover the cost of these items.

Thank you once again, I hope we can welcome you back again in the very near future.

Remember, book with us direct for the very best prices!

Regards,

Robin Ford
General Manager
Macdonald Tickled Trout
E: robin.ford@macdonald-hotels.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Called in for a meal on the way north 29th May 2014. Among others ordered Bourbon (Jack Daniels) and coke. Was served whisky and coke. No one came to check on us so eventually took drink to the bar where waiter/barman argued with me about the contents of the glass. Eventually replaced but I'm not sure the whisky remnants weren't still in the glass. We had asked for restaurant menu (6.30pm) but were not shown to the restaurant nor asked where we would rather be. Service was extremely slow. 1hr45m to be served drinks starter and main. Probably would go back but disappointed this time

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robin_ford, General Manager at Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your candid feedback and review following your recent visit to Macdonald Tickled Trout.

I am sorry you had a prolonged delay in your meal experience and remained disappointed with your overall experience as a result.

I have spoken at length with Luca who served your drinks and I am quite confident that there must have been a mix up. I remain sorry you left disappointed as a result of his service and Luca has also asked to be associated with my apology to you given you felt he was argumentative.

Please take assurance that I welcome all feedback, both positive and candid, it is the only way we can improve. Thank you once again for taking the time to provide such following your visit.

Kind Regards,

Robin Ford
General Manager
Macdonald Tickled Trout
robin.ford@macdonald-hotels.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The location is great - just off the motorway, so a great place to break your journey and right on the banks of the River Ribble, which was very relaxing. The staff were all very friendly and helpful which can make a difference to your stay. The rooms were lovely - spacious, nicely decorated, well equipped and very comfortable. The bathrooms were also clean and in good condition with nice free toiletries. I'd read that the corridors were a bit shabby but ours was very smart. The beds were incredibly comfortable and all 4 of us had a great nights sleep. Pillows and duvets were also just right for all of us. The bar was cool and comfortable with great views of the river. The food was disappointing. We'd looked at the menus before going to the restaurant and I had decided on the chowder to start with, followed by the salmon. Unfortunately, when we got to the restaurant both the chowder and salmon were unavailable (7.30pm on a Friday night!), so I decided to go with the fish and chips. When the waiter came to take our order they had also run out of the fish and chips! I thought I'd have pasta, but I think there was only one pasta dish (pumpkin stuffed ravioli?) which I didn't fancy. I settled on breadcrumbed chicken and chips. The chicken was lovely - very moist, but the chips weren't to my taste. It came with beetroot coleslaw which really was awful (none of the 5 of us ate it). My husband had a steak kebab, but it was literally one kebab with four bits of meat on it which were overcooked. The lemon sauce was just warm cream with no flavour. Personally we found the meal a bit of a let down and over priced for what we received. I would eat elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: We had two rooms at the front of the hotel overlooking the car park and facing the road, but none of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tess60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robin_ford, General Manager at Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following a recent stay at Macdonald Tickled Trout.

I am happy you had an enjoyable stay overall and found the rooms and facilities ideal.

I was disappointed however to hear you didn’t have a good food experience and many items were missing from the menu on the Friday that you dined. Please accept my apologies for this and any inconvenience that you and your family endured.

Despite this experience I would be delighted to welcome you back again in the near future, I am confident we can demonstrate that we will and do get it right. Please don’t hesitate to contact me personally.

Best Regards,

Robin Ford
General Manager
Macdonald Tickled Trout
E: robin.ford@macdonald-hotels.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Me and my wife stayed for just 1 night and was very satisfied with our stay, the staff were all very nice and help full, our meal was faultless, i had a nice juicy rib eye steak, steaks are a speciality of the restaurant. My wife had salmon. Food was good.
Nice area with the river ribble very close to the hotel.
Will return again.
Jef and pearl.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Geoffrey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robin_ford, General Manager at Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay.

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review and provide some great feedback.
We are extremely proud of our Scottish Steak Restaurant; offering the very best steaks from Scotland and featuring some great guest steaks from USA and Argentina!

We believe this combined with our ageing fridge, ageing and showcasing our steaks; our great people delivering great service makes for a great experience.

I am pleased you had an enjoyable meal, especially the juicy Rib Eye Steak!

Remember, book with us direct for the very best prices!

Best Regards,

Robin Ford
General Manager
Macdonald Tickled Trout
E: robin.ford@macdonald-hotels.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stopped for a single night whilst visiting friends and could not fault the service. The staff were friendly, paid attention to detail and seem to enjoy 'getting it just right'.

The restaurant was recently converted into one of Macdonald's (Macdonald Hotels, - not related to THOSE restaurants with golden arches!) Scottish Steak Clubs. Consequently, the majority of the menu features steaks - Argentinian, Scottish, American - in all their forms. There are plenty of alternative dishes, including excellent pork and fish dishes.

The location is within yards of J31 on the M6 but the sound-proofing works well and there is no intrusive noise.

A first rate cooked breakfast before we departed set us up nicely for the day. Special thanks to Editha for her attentive service at dinner and to Michael for giving our day a cheerful start at breakfast!

Room Tip: Ask for a river-view room, these overlook the river on the back of the hotel, away from the motorway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robin_ford, General Manager at Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay and visit.

I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay and meal.

We are very proud of our Scottish Steak Restaurant; as you have mentioned we offer some great steaks from Scotland, Argentina and USA. I am also pleased that we showed our genuine care and commitment to getting it “just right” and both Edyta and Michael impressed you.

Thank you for mentioning them both, they are delighted with the personal mentions!

I sincerely hope you can come back again very soon!

Remember, book with us direct for the very best prices!

Best Regards,

Robin Ford
General Manager
Macdonald Tickled Trout
E: robin.ford@macdonald-hotels.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samlesbury
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Samlesbury Hotel
4.2 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
4.5 mi away
Millstone at Mellor
Millstone at Mellor
#2 of 4 in Blackburn
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Preston South
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Preston East Hotel
6 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel

Address: Preston New Road, Samlesbury PR5 0UJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Samlesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Samlesbury
Price Range: £53 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views over the beautiful River Ribble, yet conveniently close to Preston town centre and the M6, Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel has an ideal location. Following a £0.5 million refurbishment, the hotel has just introduced a beautiful new Riverside Bar and Lounge where you can relax and enjoy a beverage from our new Costa Coffee. Join us at the new Scottish Steak Club where imaginatively reworked Scottish favourites are passionately prepared by our world class chefs, using only the finest and freshest produce.In addition a number of our bedrooms are being re-decorated from top to bottom including beautiful new bathrooms and soft furnishings. The hotel has also retained many traditional features, such as wood beams in our restaurant and an open plan lounge, creating a warm and welcoming ambience.Macdonald Tickled Trout is always a popular meetings venue due to our convenient location, well-equipped conference suites and extensive onsite parking. Alternatively, our riverside terrace is the ideal place to enjoy a morning coffee with friends or relax with a pre dinner drink as you take in the views. Guests can enjoy our delicious food and drink and then relax in contemporary en suite accommodation, whilst our versitile function rooms are perfect for weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Tickled Trout
Macdonald Tickled Trout Bamber Bridge
Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel Preston/Samlesbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing