We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burnt Pizza for £10.95”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Samlesbury
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed last night after trip to blackpool air show, looked forward to menu described on internet. Promoted as 'quality food to inspire'. Firstly, all day sunday roast, only served till 3, even though all tables advertise 'all day'. Lounge menu and restaurant menu dishes are the same but differ in price. Restaurant menu £1 less!! Even the waiter, who was suitable embarrassed, was confused by this. We ordered a 'Prime burger and hand cut chips' , and a pizza to share for the 2 kids. The quantity of this approx. 160g burger (5/6oz) and 6/7 chips in a metal pot , served with a small ramekin of coleslaw, did not warrant the cost of £11.50. The pizza was completely burnt on the base, to the point where you could smell it, and inedible. The waiter kindly removed it and returned with a un-burnt one 15 mins later, at which point they had lost their appetite . Breakfast was fractionally better, but cooked to order - NOT. Scrambled eggs where cold, bacon folded during cooking hence hard. On the plus side, plenty of variety, and plenty of waiting on staff , even though they never cleared any item from our table and we stacked it up in a corner. We were very disappointed with MacDonald Hotels as they did not deliver what the promote.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robin_ford, General Manager at Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review following your recent visit to Macdonald Tickled Trout.

I am disappointed you didn’t have an enjoyable stay or experience. Please contact me personally as I would like to discuss your comments in greater detail.

Best Regards,

Robin Ford
General Manager
Macdonald Tickled Trout
E: robin.ford@macdonald-hotels.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,404 - 1,410 of 1,633 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Booked in for one night as it looked lovey on the website, all was fine till we arrived!!! I had booked a family room which was TINY, the windows are locked shut so we had no air, four people in a just about double room.......no good, and it was like a furnace. We went down for a drink and unfortunately there was a full on fist fight going on in the lobby....back to the room!!!! We had a hot, sticky, uncomfortable night and changed our plans for next day and just got out as soon as we were up. Pity really as the staff were lovely and very helpful, it was the hotel, the rooms and it's general feel that made it a poor stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robin_ford, General Manager at Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review following your stay at Macdonald Tickled Trout.

I am disappointed you didn’t have an enjoyable stay or experience. I will contact you directly to discuss your comments in further detail.

Sincerely,

Robin Ford
General Manager
Macdonald Tickled Trout
E: robin.ford@macdonald-hotels.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had a great time here. The staff were excellent especially Lisa. Many thank for all your help. The food was very good and the staff made our party go with a swing and no request was too much. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Lovely rooms overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ghamaryllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robin_ford, General Manager at Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review following your recent event.

I am very pleased that you found the event to be enjoyable and my team (especially Lisa) to be excellent. I am glad that no request was too much and we catered to every need to make your event truly memorable.

Come back soon!

Best Regards,

Robin Ford
General Manager
Macdonald Tickled Trout
E: robin.ford@macdonald-hotels.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

No air con
Wine £11.75 a glass - ridiculous
Smell of stables on way to lift
Not even a 3 star £120 a night!
Couldn't actually sit down on the toilet in the room - sink and wall on both sides.
Do yourself a favour and drive straight past.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank TheSkinners1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robin_ford, General Manager at Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to Macdonald Tickled Trout.

I am sorry your stay and experience wasn’t to your expectations, I have written to you separately given your letter addressed to me this week.

Sincerely,

Robin Ford
General Manager
Macdonald Tickled Trout
E: robin.ford@macdonald-hotels.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed at the Ticked Trout and both thought what a great Hotel, staff were all excellent, friendly, helpful and efficient and gave us a warm welcome. The restaurant was first class.
Would not hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: Family 22 - over looks River Ribble (But check room number)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HappyMacLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robin_ford, General Manager at Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Macdonald Tickled Trout.

I am delighted you had a great stay and would not hesitate to return.

I am very proud of my team and honoured to work with the quality and capability of each and every one of them. Please let me know personally if I can assist with any future accommodation needs.

We look forward to the prospect of you coming again soon!

Robin Ford
General Manager
Macdonald Tickled Trout
E: robin.ford@macdonald-hotels.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We arrived on a Sunday evening, and the Reception Staff were lovely and welcoming, we were checked in quickly and offered for our bags to be taken to our room etc.
The room itself was lovely but was slightly too warm even with two windows open, so A/C would be an advantage being fitted.
The Bar/Lounge area was lovely and welcoming and the staff could not be more helpful and pleasant.
The Breakfast was gorgeous, with a large selection on the cold buffet as well as being able to order a cooked breakfast. Again Staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble.
In total we stayed 3 nights, due to my husband having business in the area, I would definitly have no worries in visiting again.
Loved the outside decking looking over the River Ribble was lovely to sit out there of an evening.

Room Tip: If you like a cool room ask at reception for a fan to placed in the room before you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SusanH71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robin_ford, General Manager at Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Macdonald Tickled Trout.

I am delighted you had a great 3 night stay and enjoyed various aspects of your experience. We are very proud of our award winning breakfast, glad you enjoyed it!

Please do let me know personally if I can welcome you back again and help you with your accommodation needs.

Best Regards,

Robin Ford
General Manager
Macdonald Tickled Trout
E: robin.ford@macdonald-hotels.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I've passed The Tickled Trout countless times whilst travelling on the M6 and have always wanted to stay there as it looks like such a pleasant location despite being so close to the motorway and a main road. We booked on the day we travelled and were quoted £73 on Expedia but, when we arrived at reception, I was only charged £55 - result! The hotel is very pleasant and the staff all friendly and efficient. Our room wasn't very big but was clean, comfortable and very acceptable for the price. We overlooked the river and wished we had binoculars as there's a plethora of wildlife to watch. We stayed at the end of the heat wave and some parts of the hotel were very warm, particularly the corridor leading to our room and the room itself. There was no aircon but the window opened fully so it wasn't a problem. There was some background noise from the M6 but it really didn't bother us at all, surprising seeing as it's so close to the hotel and as we live somewhere that doesn't really have any traffic noise at night. The bathroom was very compact but clean, the only problems being that I repeatedly stubbed my toe on the doorstop due to the limited floor space and the hot tap over the bath being marked as cold. Breakfast was pretty much the usual standard for a Macdonald hotel and we had no complaints. We've stayed at Macdonald Anstey Hall and the dinner menu was fairly small but interesting and reasonably priced for the quality and portion size. It also presented us with enough choice to eat there two nights in a row. Not so The Scottish Steak Club. We like steak and, living in rural Scotland, have excellent local beef available at between £15 and £25 for a hearty portion with all the trimmings. The meal we had in the SSC was good but expensive for what we got, costing around £140 for one starter, mains, desserts, cheese, a bottle of wine and a soft drink. The chips were delicious but were lost in their fancy holder as there were only about eight each. The steaks were very good and cooked to perfection but my partner's t-bone was cut very thin and he didn't think it was anywhere near 12oz (t-bone is his favourite so he tends to know these things). Everything else was delicious, however I've had better meals for £100 all-in and one that could easily compete on steak quality and portion size (admittedly rump not fillet or t-bone) that was only £14.95 per head for three courses. The lounge bar menu is much cheaper but very ordinary and there was nothing on it that my partner wanted to eat. If we'd realised the relatively limited offerings in the main restaurant we'd have gone into Preston rather than booking a table as we were advised to do despite the place being almost empty. The one thing we really did like was the option of having a selection of individual desserts served in glass on wooden boards. We shared four of them and they were all delicious. The cheeseboard was pretty decent but again a bit overpriced. Nothing warranted a complaint, our waitress was extremely pleasant and efficient and the price of the room brought the overall cost to around what we often pay for a hotel and dinner, however we probably wouldn't eat in the SSC again. We eat out quite often and are probably hyper-critical, especially when it comes to steak, and it would probably be a nice place to go for a meal in terms of comfort, service and overall ambience, and if steak is a special treat for you. To sum up, a lovely wee hotel, very friendly staff and definitely somewhere we'd stay again. We'd probably not eat there unless the restaurant menu included some more interesting options as Preston isn't far away and there looks to be a fair range of other options in the area. My value rating is based on the room rate being so good and would be lower had we paid the full price.

Room Tip: A room at the back will have a river view, ideal for watching herons, ducks, geese and various other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robin_ford, General Manager at Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to Macdonald Tickled Trout and Scottish Steak Club.

I greatly appreciate your candid feedback and complex review detailing the local area and the nearby nature reserve.

Our location is idyllic despite the close proximity to the motorway network and we are privileged to overlook Brockholes nature reserve and reservoir. The wildlife is plentiful and as you have mentioned can be seen from the hotel.

Thank you once again for your feedback and I hope we can welcome you back again very soon.
Remember; book direct for the best rates, guaranteed!

Sincerely,

Robin Ford
General Manager
Macdonald Tickled Trout
E: robin.ford@macdonald-hotels.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samlesbury
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Samlesbury Hotel
4.2 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
6 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#4 of 15 in Preston
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Legacy Preston International
4.5 mi away
Millstone at Mellor
Millstone at Mellor
#2 of 4 in Blackburn
460 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Preston Leyland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel

Address: Preston New Road, Samlesbury PR5 0UJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Samlesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Samlesbury
Price Range: £55 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views over the beautiful River Ribble, yet conveniently close to Preston town centre and the M6, Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel has an ideal location. Following a £0.5 million refurbishment, the hotel has just introduced a beautiful new Riverside Bar and Lounge where you can relax and enjoy a beverage from our new Costa Coffee. Join us at the new Scottish Steak Club where imaginatively reworked Scottish favourites are passionately prepared by our world class chefs, using only the finest and freshest produce.In addition a number of our bedrooms are being re-decorated from top to bottom including beautiful new bathrooms and soft furnishings. The hotel has also retained many traditional features, such as wood beams in our restaurant and an open plan lounge, creating a warm and welcoming ambience.Macdonald Tickled Trout is always a popular meetings venue due to our convenient location, well-equipped conference suites and extensive onsite parking. Alternatively, our riverside terrace is the ideal place to enjoy a morning coffee with friends or relax with a pre dinner drink as you take in the views. Guests can enjoy our delicious food and drink and then relax in contemporary en suite accommodation, whilst our versitile function rooms are perfect for weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Tickled Trout
Macdonald Tickled Trout Bamber Bridge
Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel Preston/Samlesbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing