We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel, just look past the exterior!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Samlesbury
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, just look past the exterior!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

On arrival, it looks a bit old, tired and right next to the motorway / service station, we wondered what we had booked.
But having read reviews we were confident, and as soon as you enter your in an environment you expect from a Macdonald hotel!
Nice rooms, very nice bar / restaurant & bar area
Would definitely stay again in passing.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robin_ford, General Manager at Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following a recent stay at Macdonald Tickled Trout.

We are pleased you had a great stay and would stay again in the near future.

We have invested heavily in the hotel, primarily on the ground floor areas to the tune of around £1m. True to our commitment in continuous improvement and investment in our hotels, the next planned phase is a renovation to the exterior which will start in October.

I sincerely hope on your next visit the exterior will have been completed and you will note a considerable improvement.

Remember, always book direct for the best rates, guaranteed!

Best Regards,

Robin Ford
General Manager
Macdonald Tickled Trout
E: robin.ford@macdonald-hotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    519
    269
    119
    68
See reviews for
359
550
44
377
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

I visited the restaurant on sunday night with a friend and ordered a T Bone steak as it sounded delicious. It arrived and I could not believe my eyes. I was hungry so ate the fillet and a little of the Sirloin. I then took a couple of pictures and waited to complain, really i should have taken the photos as the steak was whole. I complained about the size of the steak in view of the fact I was paying £28 for it and it should have been at least 12 oz pre cooked weight.. It was at best 10 mm thick at its thickest and down to about 5 mm. I awaited feedback from the customer liaison officer Lisa and today spoke to her. I have now also spoken to the manager.They are speaking to their suppliers and yes there has been a problem with sizes. I asked to know what the minimum weight is and will be told within the hour. This steak was around 6 0z in weight. Utterly disgraceful. Do not bother if you are going for a steak. I am a Butcher so really do know what i am talking about.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Butcher663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robin_ford, General Manager at Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to Scottish Steak Club.

I was bitterly disappointed that you didn’t enjoy the T Bone steak and hoped I made this evident when we spoke about the matter on the phone.

I admit we did have a problem with the weight of our T Bone steaks (being too small) and as I highlighted to you when we spoke, we immediately removed the T-Bone steaks from our menu and I subsequently immediately addressed the issue with our beef supplier.

The correct weight T Bone steaks are now in place and I have continued to do periodic weight checks to ensure a similar situation does not arise again.

I hope that despite the issue with the weight of the steak you enjoyed the quality of the meat and the overall experience.

We appreciate your knowledge and skill as butcher and thank you for bringing the matter to our attention and discussing it at length with me over the phone so the relevant action could be taken.

Sincerely,

Robin Ford
General Manager
Macdonald Tickled Trout
E: robin.ford@macdonald-hotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Have been staying at the TT 3-5 nights/week since 11th July. Easy access to hotel from motorway, buig plus . Front of House: very warm welcome particularly Abul, goes the extra mile. Guest Relations Manager Lisa very customer focused, big plus. Waiting and bar team a credit to Robin & Anthony, particularly Klaudia, great service, v.professional team leader(moving up soon I expect). Thanks to all

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P-Shakas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robin_ford, General Manager at Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review following your recent stays at Macdonald Tickled Trout.

It’s always encouraging to hear such satisfaction from our guests and in particular the personal recognition of Lisa and Klaudia, I have shared your feedback with them both this afternoon.

Thank you once again and we hope we can welcome you back again very soon!

Remember; book direct for the best rates guaranteed!

Regards,

Robin Ford
General Manager
Macdonald Tickled Trout
E: robin.ford@macdonald-hotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedford
Level Contributor
433 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Having to take my invalid mother outside in the rain to gain access to her disabled room was ridiculous. They managed to mess up breakfast orders up two days running. Then only offered to discount it rather than waive it. The place is expensive for what it is. The staff work hard to compensate for things. The rooms are hot and there is no air conditioning. We held a family 40th birthday there and the venue and service was good. Would I go back there? No. Used to use the hotel 20 plus years ago and it desperately needs management to get a grip. We watched a coach pull up into the service station next door and the passengers ran into the car park to pee up against the fence. Shoddy!

Room Tip: Motorway drone ever present.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickmBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robin_ford, General Manager at Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Macdonald Tickled Trout.

I am pleased you enjoyed the recent 40th birthday dinner and celebrations.

I am sorry that you and your mother didn’t enjoy your stay. All of our ground floor rooms for those guests that require flat level access need to be accessed via the outside, unfortunately whilst we have made many accessibility improvements to the property due to the design and age of the building there are a few small stairs needed to gain access internally to these rooms, I apologise that you were unnecessarily inconvenienced as a result.

We appreciate that given the warmer weather of late some of our rooms have been a little warmer, none of our bedrooms offer air conditioning nor do we advertise this. For your convenience we do offer fans and I have ensured this week we make relevant purchases to ensure we have adequate supplies.

Further bedroom investment will ensure air conditioning is installed.

I am sorry you didn’t enjoy breakfast and our team were mistaken with your order on both days, I have discussed this at length with my breakfast team and breakfast chef this morning.

Unfortunately I cannot be held responsible for passing cars behaviour but nonetheless disappointed that you and your mother were witness to this.

I am genuinely sorry you didn’t have an enjoyable experience at Macdonald Tickled Trout.

Sincerely,

Robin Ford
General Manager
Macdonald Tickled Trout
E: robin.ford@macdonald-hotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed last night after trip to blackpool air show, looked forward to menu described on internet. Promoted as 'quality food to inspire'. Firstly, all day sunday roast, only served till 3, even though all tables advertise 'all day'. Lounge menu and restaurant menu dishes are the same but differ in price. Restaurant menu £1 less!! Even the waiter, who was suitable embarrassed, was confused by this. We ordered a 'Prime burger and hand cut chips' , and a pizza to share for the 2 kids. The quantity of this approx. 160g burger (5/6oz) and 6/7 chips in a metal pot , served with a small ramekin of coleslaw, did not warrant the cost of £11.50. The pizza was completely burnt on the base, to the point where you could smell it, and inedible. The waiter kindly removed it and returned with a un-burnt one 15 mins later, at which point they had lost their appetite . Breakfast was fractionally better, but cooked to order - NOT. Scrambled eggs where cold, bacon folded during cooking hence hard. On the plus side, plenty of variety, and plenty of waiting on staff , even though they never cleared any item from our table and we stacked it up in a corner. We were very disappointed with MacDonald Hotels as they did not deliver what the promote.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robin_ford, General Manager at Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review following your recent visit to Macdonald Tickled Trout.

I am disappointed you didn’t have an enjoyable stay or experience. Please contact me personally as I would like to discuss your comments in greater detail.

Best Regards,

Robin Ford
General Manager
Macdonald Tickled Trout
E: robin.ford@macdonald-hotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Booked in for one night as it looked lovey on the website, all was fine till we arrived!!! I had booked a family room which was TINY, the windows are locked shut so we had no air, four people in a just about double room.......no good, and it was like a furnace. We went down for a drink and unfortunately there was a full on fist fight going on in the lobby....back to the room!!!! We had a hot, sticky, uncomfortable night and changed our plans for next day and just got out as soon as we were up. Pity really as the staff were lovely and very helpful, it was the hotel, the rooms and it's general feel that made it a poor stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robin_ford, General Manager at Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review following your stay at Macdonald Tickled Trout.

I am disappointed you didn’t have an enjoyable stay or experience. I will contact you directly to discuss your comments in further detail.

Sincerely,

Robin Ford
General Manager
Macdonald Tickled Trout
E: robin.ford@macdonald-hotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had a great time here. The staff were excellent especially Lisa. Many thank for all your help. The food was very good and the staff made our party go with a swing and no request was too much. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Lovely rooms overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ghamaryllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robin_ford, General Manager at Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review following your recent event.

I am very pleased that you found the event to be enjoyable and my team (especially Lisa) to be excellent. I am glad that no request was too much and we catered to every need to make your event truly memorable.

Come back soon!

Best Regards,

Robin Ford
General Manager
Macdonald Tickled Trout
E: robin.ford@macdonald-hotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samlesbury
1.5 mi away
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Samlesbury Hotel
4.3 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
6.0 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Preston East Hotel
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel

Property: Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel
Address: Preston New Road, Samlesbury PR5 0UJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Samlesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Samlesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views over the beautiful River Ribble, yet conveniently close to Preston town centre and the M6, Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel has an ideal location. Following a £0.5 million refurbishment, the hotel has just introduced a beautiful new Riverside Bar and Lounge where you can relax and enjoy a beverage from our new Costa Coffee. Join us at the new Scottish Steak Club where imaginatively reworked Scottish favourites are passionately prepared by our world class chefs, using only the finest and freshest produce.In addition a number of our bedrooms are being re-decorated from top to bottom including beautiful new bathrooms and soft furnishings. The hotel has also retained many traditional features, such as wood beams in our restaurant and an open plan lounge, creating a warm and welcoming ambience.Macdonald Tickled Trout is always a popular meetings venue due to our convenient location, well-equipped conference suites and extensive onsite parking. Alternatively, our riverside terrace is the ideal place to enjoy a morning coffee with friends or relax with a pre dinner drink as you take in the views. Guests can enjoy our delicious food and drink and then relax in contemporary en suite accommodation, whilst our versitile function rooms are perfect for weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Tickled Trout
Macdonald Tickled Trout Bamber Bridge
Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel Preston/Samlesbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing