We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family getogether”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Plus Samlesbury Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Samlesbury
Reviewed 25 August 2014

it was the restaurant that we went too, and very nice it was to. We had been for a day out to Samlesbury hall, and wanted somewhere close for a meal, there were 8 of us in the party and we chose the 3 course Sunday Lunch, good value for money at £15:95 per person, there was sufficient choices, and even managed to cater for the wife who is a Coeliac (gluten free). Anything on the menu could be altered to be gluten free. food was good and plentiful. The attending staff were attentive without being on top of you. all in all a very good time, Final bill was £180 pounds but there were quite a few drinks including brandies. a very nice and relaxed time was had by all aided by the background music that was just that in the background without being noisy

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank certacitoBlackburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

656 - 662 of 809 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Nice modern hotel, room was modern with 40" TV, king size bed and large walk in shower. The food and service in the restaurant was excellent. It was very good value on a amazon voucher. We enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sjs672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Inside the hotel is much more appealing than the outside. Had a lovely welcome on entering and we checked in straight away. The rooms are small and cosy but clean, tidy and the bathroom was lovely. The disappointing part about the room was the hard bed!

We ate bar food for lunch which was lovely, portion sizes were good and fresh.

We ate the evening meal at the hotel. Firstly the restaurant was well presented and the waitress attending to our drinks immediately. She was polite, attentive, but did not mither you about your food or drinks.

As I mentioned earlier the bed was hard, I know this is personal taste but this disturbed my sleep somewhat! Also the noise level from the hallway was loud. During the night as people returned to the rooms all I heard was "slam". The doors are fire doors so obviously close by themselves but are not soft closing ones so maybe worth packing earplugs!!
On our stay there was also so noisy guests, the hotel did deal with this an on checkout were very apologetic.
I went with friends but a nice hotels for couples too. I do have young children who stayed at home on this occasion but I did not see anything for the children to do.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank thebaileysmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We went to this hotel last friday 15th august for afternoon tea for which I had purchased a Groupon. The sandwiches were cold and tastless and I think they may have been kept in a refridgerator, apart from the ones that contained the smoked salmon we had no idea what the filling was as all were tastless.These were accompanied by something in breadcrumbs about the size of a finger and I have no idea what it was and a tiny tastless tart.The scones were certainly not or did not appear to be made "in house" more what you would buy from your local supermarket and cheap ones at that.We were given a small pot of jam and cream for 4 people and One pot of tea that you would normally be given for 2 not 4 and a jug of water. Finally the cakes consisted of two finger sized pieces of maderia and chocolate cake about a centimeter thick and 2 inches long..not exactly the cup cakes shown in the picture and a small macaroon each.Would not recommended this esablishment at all and would most certainly not return there, I thought the whole idea off these venues using the groupon's was to advertise their business ,very disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
Thank carolehigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed here on a Travelzoo deal that was fantastic value (£79 D,B&B for 2) on Saturday 16th August. I was a bit bothered what it would be like but it was brilliant. The hotel is well designed and decorated and our room was spacious with a large shower. The staff were outstanding - every one was welcoming, thoughtful, professional and just a delight. They all seemed so happy and we noticed they worked as a team. We never felt on a bargain stay but were treated as valued guests. The evening meal is 3 course with choice of dishes, the food was delicious and interesting and there was a glass of Prosecco each included in the deal. We paid for extra drinks and coffee and these were all at a reasonable cost (e.g. lovely coffee with homemade mini-shortbread £2.50)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We booked a Travelzoo offer for a Afternoon Tea for 8 people. Lovely welcome on arrival. Young man on the Bar was quick to greet and bring the drinks. We were shown to our table which was excellently presented. However, the waitress service was very poor. The sandwiches and cakes arrived and were very good. We sat round awaiting tea or coffee to be served. This was not forthcoming. I sought out the waitress and she looked surprised that we were expecting tea or coffee. She then came to the table and took our individual orders. We waited for about 10 minutes for the drinks by which time most people had eaten. The drinks arrived in well presented tea pots etc. We then assumed (wrongly) that something called milk would be provided. This never happened. I then sought out a waitress again for the milk. She looked surprised. The milk arrived about 5 minutes later, by which time the drinks were cool.
It is embarrassing to have to get up from the table to ask for basic service. Clearly the waitress staff training needs to be improved, to ensure that they understand what is basic service delivery. In fairness to the hotel, this was the only down side. A lovely hotel, very clean, excellent welcome on arrival but the Restaurant Manager needs to ensure his staff are trained to a much higher standard.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 36GeoffreyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Just had a 2 day stay and i must say it was very nice.The staff are very nice and helpful..Room nice and clean. Food was nice. The wife is celiac and they did all could to accomadate her... It is a bit out of the way so a car is a must..

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank jaimo158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samlesbury
1.6 mi away
Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel
5.5 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
2.2 mi away
Good Night Inns Boddington Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Millstone at Mellor
Millstone at Mellor
#2 of 4 in Blackburn
466 reviews
2.6 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
5.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Preston Leyland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Samlesbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Samlesbury Hotel

Address: Preston New Road, Samlesbury PR5 0UL, England (Formerly Hotel Preston)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Samlesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Samlesbury
Price Range: £45 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Samlesbury Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This brand new 4-star hotel offers style and luxury, free WIFI and free car parking. Located just off junction 31 of the M6, the Samlesbury Hotel has easy access to Preston, Blackburn, Manchester, Liverpool, Blackpool & the Lake District. Each one of our beautifully designed 80 bedrooms feature a flat-screen smart TV with Freeview and an invigorating power shower. There is 24-hour room service available. Merchants Bar & Grill serves fine local cuisine and offers great-value seasonal dishes with a surprising twist. Pop in for a coffee break, meeting or morning tea. We offer a wide selection of drinks and cocktails in a relaxed setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Samlesbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Samlesbury Hotel Preston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing