We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mezzo

Mezzo
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Samlesbury
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Was very please with the look and service, food was good will be going back with the family. Would be lovely to just have a drink in outside area
Thanks

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    94
    76
    52
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

First time visit to Mezzo but is highly recommended, the staff were very attentive and polite, the food was wonderful and a very enjoyable evening out

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fatcontroller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Super again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I don't understand the mixed reviews Mezzo gets. We eat out a lot and every time we've been at Mezzo we've had good service, good food, good portion size (apart from the lobster ravioli) and good wine at modest prices. It was my daughter's birthday and offered to take her anywhere to celebrate. She chose Mezzo. It didn't disappoint.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmydash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Unprofessional staff & a rude, pompous manager.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My mother, sister and I booked a table for 8.15pm on Saturday evening. It was our 2nd visit to the restaurant after an excellent experience first time round. We arrived 20 minutes early and told the waitress that we would sit in the bar and they could call us when our table was ready.

We ordered a bottle of Prosecco at the bar and were asked 'are you okay with wine glasses because we don't have any flutes?' We replied that we'd prefer flutes so the lady told us to have a seat and she'd bring them over which she did, but we had to pour our own drinks!

We waited until 8.35pm and had to go back to the bar to say we were ready to order and ask when we could go to our table. We'd obviously been forgotten about! A waiter came over to us to take our order and bluntly said 'Okay, tell me.' We are a well mannered and friendly family and were certainly surprised to be spoken to like we were. After ordering, the manager came over to us and advised there was no halibut left, which would have been nice to know this before ordering.My mother had to choose something else.

We were seated in the restaurant and ordered another bottle of prosecco. A young waiter poured our drinks this time but it was not cold! We immediately told the manager who got a bucket of ice for the other half of the bottle... but we were left with our warm drinks in our glasses! Wouldn't it have been better to get us a new, cold bottle?

The starters and mains were delicious and although we waited quite a while for the mains, they were worth it! We ordered desserts. Another different waitress came back to tell us they'd run out of the chocolate dessert my sister ordered so she chose a creme brulee instead, which she said was lovely.

When it came to pay the lady at the bar asked how our meal was, we said the food was delicious but the service was poor and that they couldn't provide two things off the menu that we'd asked for. We weren't making a big deal out of this at all, we only mentioned them because she asked, but the manager quickly interrupted to say that we should have been offered alternatives. When we explained that we weren't, he said he would have a word with the staff but this was of no help to us at the time. We found him extremely abrupt and people in the bar were looking over because he was raising his voice when there was really no need to. We said we'd waited quite a long time to be seated, and for our food and his reply was that we hadn't! We would have just accepted an apology but it was fairly obvious one was not forthcoming...

We asked for the head office address and he just started sarcastically reading it out to us... As though we would remember it? We eventually got a card off him.

Looking at other reviews I can see that we're not the only ones who have had a bad experience with the manager.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AlissaSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria UK
Level Contributor
126 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Nice Italian, recommend you book a table. Service was ok, food nice, plenty to drink, couldn't manage a sweet! So all in all an enjoyable evening.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank StevelCumbriaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mezzo also viewed

 

Been to Mezzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing