We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people, lovely place and lovely places to visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Horseshoe Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 13 Rhayader B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely people, lovely place and lovely places to visit”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed here as our 1st visit to Wales. Paul and family were lovely, the 4 of us had two twin rooms, both different but very comfy and clean. Breakfast set us up for the day and Rhayader is a lovely quite town, in the middle of lots of places to visit and things to do. It was so good we booked another night!! Also the car park was handy.
Highly recommend a visit.
If going again I would arrange to take our bikes as plenty to do and see

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Mblair65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul r, Owner at The Horseshoe Guesthouse, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you very much for coming to stay and you are more than welcome anytime. Especially with the bikes - this area is one of the best to be found anywhere for bike holidays.
Kind Regards.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    30
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
41
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Paul was a very welcome host, and with our bikes securely locked away my friend and I were able to make full use of the facilities. We were in a twin room which was spot on apart from the door blind being quite translucent which meant we got woken at dawn by the sun, when a few more hours kip would've been welcome. That's the only reason for not giving the full five stars.
Breakfast was good, and I would definitely recommend the place for cyclists.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Thom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul r, Owner at The Horseshoe Guesthouse, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thanks for your kind comments, as a keen cyclist myself I like to support fellow cyclists with route planning and secure storage and not least, a breakfast to keep you going, I will look at the blind, thanks for telling me.
Kind Regards,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2013

A lovely place to stay in Rhayader, one of only a very few b&b's in the town with a car park.
Comfy rooms and Paul is a friendly host. Can recommend the scrabled eggs for breakfast and the riverside walk. Nice guest lounge with books and games and ample tea and coffee. Church Street is a quiet road, our room was at the front of the house but there was very little traffic noise.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul r, Owner at The Horseshoe Guesthouse, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you very much and you are more than welcome anytime. Can't beat fresh eggs!
Kind Regards.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We had a super 2 days at the Horseshoe Guesthouse. Good host, food was excellent, evening meal was very good value, freshly cooked, using locally sourced produce. As I'm a non meat eater I always get a bit worried about what's available. Need not have worried food was excellent, some of the best vegetarian food I've ever tasted. Well done Paul, it was much appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul r, Owner at The Horseshoe Guesthouse, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you for coming to stay, You were a pleasure to cook for and you can't beat it if you buy fresh food locally each day so I cannot take all the credit. Hope to see you again soon!
Kind Regards to you both,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in a comfortable room. Breakfast is in a nice large room with plenty of space and large tables, the lounge is also a very good size with plenty of games etc that we were encouraged to use.
Due to the very old nature of the house out main sink for washing etc was actually in the bedroom instead of the en-suite, not a problem just a suprise. Plenty of off road parking and in an area close to the town.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russ999rocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul r, Owner at The Horseshoe Guesthouse, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thank you very much for coming to stay with us and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. See you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswinford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Just spent two days in Rhayader at this guest house, the owner Paul was a great host and very welcoming. The room was good the breakfast was awesome and the stay overall fantastic. We are going back again in July. The Guest house is 2 mins walk from the centre of town and all the pubs and shops.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul r, Owner at The Horseshoe Guesthouse, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you very much for coming to stay and I'm glad you had a good birthday. See you again soon 'in another car! Kind Regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Arrived absolutely exhausted after a gruelling bike ride and welcomed by Paul. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was very clean and comfortable. Lovely home-cooked food and a very welcome packed lunch for the following day. I would not hesitate to return when I'm visiting the area again.

Room Tip: Not all the rooms are en-suite but ours was and so I would definitely request this when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loutan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul r, Owner at The Horseshoe Guesthouse, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thank you for your kind comments - we try to make all our guests stay as comfortable as possible and that is especially so after a hard days cycling. We will look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future. Kind Regards, Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhayader
0.1 mi away
Crown Inn
Crown Inn
#2 of 3 in Rhayader
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Elan Hotel
The Elan Hotel
#5 of 13 in Rhayader
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Penralley House
Penralley House
#1 of 13 in Rhayader
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms
4.3 mi away
Mid Wales Inn
Mid Wales Inn
#4 of 13 in Rhayader
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Horseshoe Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horseshoe Guesthouse

Property: The Horseshoe Guesthouse
Address: Church Street, Rhayader LD6 5AT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Rhayader
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Rhayader
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Horseshoe Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Horseshoe in Rhayader is a 200 year-old spacious Welsh stone building with lots of character and charm, the lounges are furnished with deep comfortable chairs, and are heavily beamed with a log fire for chilly evenings adding to the atmosphere. The Horseshoe has been recently refurbished to a high standard offering the very best in modern facilities whilst retaining the original charm of this lovely old building. Barcut Coch, meaning Red Kite, is a ground floor ensuite twin room suitable for wheelchair access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Horseshoe Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Horseshoe Guesthouse Rhayader, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing