We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Horseshoe Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 13 Rhayader B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable and very friendly”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

A nice clean hotel with an incredibly friendly welcome. We really enjoyed the three nights we stayed here and Paul cooked us a lovely meal on one of the nights. Loads of pubs to eat out if you want. It's well located for mountain biking in the Elan Valley and there's bike storage available.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul r, Owner at The Horseshoe Guesthouse, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you very much for coming, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we'll look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    33
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
44
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Greeted by Paul on arrival for my one night stay. Had a single room. Good size and very clean. Plenty of pubs locally to eat at. Breakfast hot and fresh. Very cosy hotel in a picturesque part of Wales.
Thanks Paul the mountain road was great.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Darren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The first of 3 nights in 3 different hotels across Wales. This one was always going to be a short stop, with a late evening arrival followed by an early start before breakfast. A good size room with wet-room. Helpful host. The town seemed pleasant with a large number of pubs serving food and friendly locals. We were in town for single digit numbers of hours, but it was pleasant and no complaints.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HQ2_net
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed at the Horseshoe for two nights having booked by phone speaking to Paul who was really friendly. On our arrival, we were given a room which was overlooking the front of the building but this was no problem as the road is so quiet. Our room was not the largest but was comfortably furnished and very clean. This business is a family home and the couple have three charming children yet the place is very clean and Paul's breakfasts were delicious . Unfortunately due to family circumstances we were not able to have dinner at The Horseshoe but if the breakfasts are any thing to go by I think we missed a treat.

Room Tip: Some rooms are not en suite so it may be advisable to check. L
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

First time in Rhayader and four of us stayed for a weekend. Paul is a welcoming and helpful host. Rooms were of different shapes and sizes but all were well furnished, clean and fine for us and breakfast was just right.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiftyandchildfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed here for six nights and were made welcome by Paul. Room was ok but quite dark as the building was old but the size was adequate. TV signal was poor so viewing was very limited. No ITV Toilet was noisy due to Saniflow.
There were tables and chairs outside which is a nice touch and there was secure storage for bicycles and off road parking The breakfast was ok but no sausages. Location is perfect as it is close to shops and pubs but nice and quiet.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul r, Owner at The Horseshoe Guesthouse, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for coming to stay. I am glad you enjoyed your visit. You are right saniflows are more noisy than a normal toilet, that's why I have the newest quietest model but there is no getting away from their use when you have such an old building. I hope that the character of the place shines through as a compensation for the momentary annoyance. We'll look forward to seeing you in the near future - I know visiting the Elan Valley can become addictive.
Kind Regards,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Greeted by Paul the owner in a very pleasant natural manner and assured that our motorcycle would be secure in the parking area (very sensitive at the moment as only 3 weeks old!).
Provided with a key to the room and outside door then shown to our room which was number 3 upstairs. Very pleasant room with nice en-suite only let down by the macerator noise which would come on during the night if using the loo. The room overlooked the street and suits early risers as a postman lives opposite and starts his van very early on; also if, like me you like sleeping with the window open there is a fair amount of street noise.
The bed was very comfy with coffee and fair trade tea available in the room. The downstairs lounge was nice and the whole ambience of 'the family home' was very pleasant. Dogs are accepted but thankfully for me I couldn't pick up any evidence of that in our room. This was important to me as I'm allergic to dogs and cats.
Breakfast was lovely as it was freshly cooked to order rather than sitting in a bain marie. Choice of juices and cereals was perfectly adequate. A packed lunch could be ordered for £6 which seemed very reasonable for what was in it.
We did not have an evening meal in house as it needs to be ordered in the morning, again very reasonable at £16 for 3 courses. We ate in Rhayader itself both nights at The Eagle and The Crown respectively, perfectly happy with both which had super real ales.
We normally spend our mid week nights off in our motorhome but occasionally treat ourselves to a hotel break a couple of times a year, we're very pleased with this as a choice and will probably return at some point. Very reasonably priced for what we experienced.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room not overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imt58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul r, Owner at The Horseshoe Guesthouse, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you very much for coming to stay and you are more than welcome anytime.


Kind Regards.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhayader
0.1 mi away
Crown Inn
Crown Inn
#2 of 3 in Rhayader
90 reviews
7.1 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,328 reviews
18.6 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Bear
The Bear
#2 of 13 in Rhayader
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Elan Hotel
The Elan Hotel
#6 of 13 in Rhayader
47 reviews
0.3 mi away
Penralley House
Penralley House
#1 of 13 in Rhayader
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Horseshoe Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horseshoe Guesthouse

Property: The Horseshoe Guesthouse
Address: Church Street, Rhayader LD6 5AT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Rhayader
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Rhayader
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Horseshoe Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Horseshoe in Rhayader is a 200 year-old spacious Welsh stone building with lots of character and charm, the lounges are furnished with deep comfortable chairs, and are heavily beamed with a log fire for chilly evenings adding to the atmosphere. The Horseshoe has been recently refurbished to a high standard offering the very best in modern facilities whilst retaining the original charm of this lovely old building. Barcut Coch, meaning Red Kite, is a ground floor ensuite twin room suitable for wheelchair access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your The Horseshoe Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Horseshoe Guesthouse Rhayader, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing