We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical retreat”
Review of Beili Neuadd

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beili Neuadd
Ranked #3 of 14 Rhayader B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Beili Neuadd is a really magical place. The grounds and surrounding countryside are utterly beautiful and the bunkhouse is really comfortable, warm, well-equipped and has loads of rustic charm. What made it even more special was the wonderful welcome, fantastic breakfast and great advice from Alison. Hugely recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine_R0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison P, Owner at Beili Neuadd, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

I'm so pleased you discovered the magic of Beili Neuadd which is what makes it such a special place to live in. Hope you feel refreshed after your stay and that we an welcome you here again in the future.
Best wishes Alison.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

My friend and I stayed in the Beili Neuadd Bunkhouse for two nights in mid August 2014 while cycle touring Wales in. After a cramped night in a tent the night before this was an absolute diamond to find.

Alison our host, was friendly, welcoming and informative without being intrusive as some proprietors can be in these type of establishments.

There was plenty of room for our bikes to be stored under cover and very welcome hot and powerful showers to be had after a day of being rained on going over the Black Mountains. The drying room was a great touch to get all our stuff ready for the next day.

We liked the setting, facilities and price so much that we decided to do a circular bike ride around the Elan Valley the following day and stay another night at the bunkhouse.

I would highly recommend this as a place to stay if you are visiting the Elan Valley for cycling (either touring or as a base fore a cycling holiday), or walking or simply as a perfect location away from it all. There is a fully kitted out communal kitchen and dining room for a very large group to all be fed if you want to self cater, but Rhayader also has a number of places to eat out too.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Major_Adam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison P, Owner at Beili Neuadd, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your lovely remarks about your stay here at Beili Neuadd. I'm glad you found it to be such a good venue for your trip. Hope to see you again here in beautiful mid Wales.
Best wishes

Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We couldn't have felt more welcome. A jug of fresh milk in a small fridge in our room and a tin of homemade brownies awaited us. We stayed in the main house which is lovely and homely, with guests able to use a cosy lounge with books, TV and a piano. A full welsh breakfast with local produce including egg laid by their own hens set the day off well. A very friendly host. Pretty grounds with a lake. Very comfortable bedroom. Thoroughly recommend. The 3star bunkhouse in the grounds sleeps 16 in 3 rooms with bunk beds with its own kitchen and sitting area. Good recommendations for local places to eat in the evening.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0uCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison P, Owner at Beili Neuadd, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay here at Beili Neuadd last weekend. I'm glad you found it relaxing and peaceful after a lot of walking in beautiful mid Wales.
Hope to welcome you both again here in the future either in the farmhouse B&B or bunkhouse
Best wishes Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This was our second stay in the chalet at Beili Neuadd. Alison is a busy lady but found the time to show us around the grounds, tranquil, picturesque & full of wildlife. Alison pointed out the Tawny Owl in an amazing tree in the garden. We were allowed to set up our small moth trap in various habitats & had some amazing finds.
The Chalet is perfect for anyone wanting basic accommodation in beautiful surroundings. Walk along quiet lanes to Rhayader & up to Gilfach (2 miles uphill!), worth the effort!
We look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison P, Owner at Beili Neuadd, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for another great review of your stay here at Beili Neuadd chalet. thank you also for finding such wonderful moth species in our beautiful small holding. Look forward to welcoming you both here again.
Best wishes Alison and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

At first I thought that the term 'Bunkhouse' gave this place a disservice but after a bit of thought, i'd say that it actually suites it down to the ground. You have to visit to know what I mean.

I arrived here with a group of friends who were cycling around Wales to raise money for charity. The weather was stunning and the peaceful silence was deafening. I instantly fell in love with this place.

I'd have happily slept on a straw bed outside just to be surrounded by such beautiful gardens and countryside but luckily there was no need because the accommodation was perfect for us as a group.

Clean rooms and linen. Good showers and toilets. Lovely kitchen area and communal dining space. This place is perfect for groups of friends looking to get away and explore the stunning surroundings. The breakfast provided was incredible and certainly set us on our way for day 2 of a hefty challenge.

I would certainly come back with friends, family or just with my wife (although i'd probably stay in the main house!)

Thank you so much for a wonderful stay. I hope I have the pleasure of staying there again someday soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrMFJordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison P, Owner at Beili Neuadd, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Wow, thank you for the fantastic review of our lovely 16th century bunkhouse. It was a pleasure having all of you to stay here on your marathon cycle ride and so lovely that you enjoyed the peace and beauty of this magical place. I hope we meet you again. Best wishes Alison and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Nestled in the Welsh hills, a couple of miles from Rhayader, this is a truly lovely guest house complete with beautiful gardens, large pond, ducks, sheep, pigs, chickens and probably other animals we didn't encounter. The 16th century house is full character and our bedroom's slightly sloping wooden floor and bijou en-suite only added to the charm. The high quality breakfast was also excellent and I sincerely recommend Beili Neuadd as the perfect base for exploring the reservoirs and landscapes of Mid Wales.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madgee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison P, Owner at Beili Neuadd, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay here with us in Beili Neuadd and Thank you for your super review.
I hope you cam manage another trip to stay and hopefully have more time to explore this fabulous area.
Best wishes
Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My husband and I stayed for just 3 nights and were made to feel very welcome. Our little dog was also welcomed and made to feel at home with the resident dogs. The breakfast was first class as were the two evening meals. Alison provided homemade cake or biscuits daily which were delicious. We appreciated having a fridge in the room in which there was a bottle of milk (so much better than the tiny amounts of milk you are usually supplied with) and a bottle of ice cold spring water. The house is situated in a glorious setting with a large garden and is so peaceful. Highly recommended. One of the best places we have stayed in. We hope to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison P, Owner at Beili Neuadd, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you very much for the lovely review of your stay here at Beili Neuadd.
It was a pleasure to welcome you both - and of course your lovely wee dog.
I hope you manage a return visit.
Best wishes Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhayader
7.1 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,349 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crown Inn
Crown Inn
#2 of 3 in Rhayader
93 reviews
0.5 mi away
Penralley House
Penralley House
#1 of 14 in Rhayader
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Horseshoe Guesthouse
The Horseshoe Guesthouse
#5 of 14 in Rhayader
92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bryn Derwen Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
The Bear
The Bear
#2 of 14 in Rhayader
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beili Neuadd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beili Neuadd

Address: Bailey Neuadd St Harmon, Rhayader LD6 5NS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Rhayader
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Rhayader
Price Range: £65 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beili Neuadd 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beili Neuadd is a traditional farmhouse set in beautiful countryside 2 miles east of the small town of Rhayader. The farmhouse has 2 double en suite rooms 1 double with private bathroom and a Bunkhouse sleeping 16. It is surrounded by a large garden with pond, stream and wooded area. Breakfasts include pork sausages and bacon from our own rare breed pigs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Ebookers so you can book your Beili Neuadd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beili Neuadd Rhayader, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing