We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great B&B with a brilliant guest living room”
Review of Brynteg

Brynteg
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rhayader
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brynteg
Ranked #10 of 13 Rhayader B&B and Inns
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great B&B with a brilliant guest living room”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

A good B&B with large rooms and spacious bathrooms. The inclusion of a guest living room is very nice as well so you are not confided just to your room but are able to relax and watch some TV (with loads of informative local brochures available to hand). Local knowledge was very helpful as well sending us to the Triangle Inn for dinner which was exactly what we required. Great facilities for bikes as well with a garage around the back being locked at night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeelyCrenshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
26
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at this lovely bed and breakfast in Rhayader for one night, whilst visiting the Elan Valley. I booked over the phone with the very helpful Adrian, who owns the B and B with Mandy. When we arrived, Adrian made us feel extremely welcome and showed us to our very clean, homely room with ensuite, as well as showing us around the house. I was particularly looking forward to the views and was not disappointed! We spent most of our stay walking in the Elan Valley, for which this B and B is perfectly located. We enjoyed the traditional Welsh breakfast - especially the locally sourced bacon and homemade jams. Adrian and Mandy made us feel entirely welcome and comfortable throughout out stay; we would definitely return!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MissLararara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stayed one night on the way through Wales. The B&B was really easy to find, cosy and private. I had taken one of the doubles at the back because of the reviews on here. So glad I did, lovely views over farmland and hills and a couple of comfy chairs by the window to enjoy it. This made the place for me, having somewhere to relax, without having to leave the room after a long day's driving. The hosts were helpful and accommodating. I was provided with a map and booklet on arrival. Bed was very comfy. If you're looking for a quick, cheap dinner, I recommend Evan's Plaice chip shop, and the benches behind St Clement's church overlooking the river.

Room Tip: Although the single is a great price and (I had a peak) looks totally nice. The doubles at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillyway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We spent a lovely Easter weekend at Adrian and Mandy's lovely B&B. We arrived early and wanted to change into our biking gear and they let us check in early which was great as it meant we already had a base and could put all our stuff away. The house is very clean and the room was lovely with an amazing view from the window out on to the surrounding countryside. For breakfast we had the full welsh which was very nicely cooked and just the right portion size for us. There is also cereal and yoghurt on offer but the main attraction was the home cooked jam and marmalade which was a welcome addition to the menu (we even took some home). There is space to store bikes etc out the back but we hired bikes at a very reasonable rate so didn't use the facility. The area is very nice with lots of friendly locals and plenty to see and do - you simply must visit the amazing Elan Valley and also watch the Kites feed at Gigrin farm. Adrian let us know that there was a fifth dam dating from the 50's so we visited that before we left and were not disappointed - a great weekend enhanced by friendly hosts, good food and a warm comfortable stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Berkscouple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Lovely people, lovely views, lovely breakfast, lovely rooms - warm, clean and comfortable. We've stopped at other places in Rhayader & this is by far our favourite. Can't fault a single thing & will be aiming to stay here again in future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Fantastic spot, incredibly warm welcome and a very short walk to a multitude of pubs and restaurants. Comfortable, warm rooms, plenty of space and a lovely lounge to relax and watch tv in. Unlimited tea and coffee and a breakfast with plenty of choice that went down a treat.

We were mountain biking the Trans Cambrian way and secure bike storage was made available in the garage out the back. Many thanks to our wonderful hosts, three soakings wet and muddy middle aged men were made to feel incredibly welcome after a day of hard riding!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyM1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We had a very comfortable, relaxing stay at Brynteg. We were made to feel very welcome, the accomodation was very clean and comfortable. The food was delicious, eggs from their own hens and home made preserves, lovely. The hosts gave us a lot of useful information about the local area, which is absolutely beautiful, great walking territory.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhayader
0.1 mi away
Crown Inn
Crown Inn
#2 of 3 in Rhayader
89 reviews
6.9 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Penralley House
Penralley House
#1 of 13 in Rhayader
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Bear
The Bear
#3 of 13 in Rhayader
46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms
0.3 mi away
Beili Neuadd
Beili Neuadd
#2 of 13 in Rhayader
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brynteg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brynteg

Property: Brynteg
Address: Brynteg East Street, Rhayader LD6 5EA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Rhayader
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Rhayader
Hotel Class:3 star — Brynteg 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brynteg Guesthouse is in a quiet, convenient location just 200m from Rhayader town centre with its shops, cafes and pubs. The red kite feeding centre at Gigrin Farm is visible from the rear of the house and is only a 10 minute walk away. We serve a full Welsh breakfast using eggs from our own hens, sausage and bacon form Rhayader's award-winning butcher and tomatoes from our garden. Vegetarian options are also available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brynteg Rhayader, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing