We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre at best”

Evans Takeaway & Diner
Ranked #12 of 21 Restaurants in Rhayader
Cuisines: Fast food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Evans' Takeaway and diner has been in the family for over 80 years as previously Evans Plaice and also Halton Fish & Chip Shop. We have recently undergone a makeover in our restaurant and now serve traditional meals alongside burgers, hot-dogs, thick-shakes and waffles. We cater for children s birthday parties to eat in or takeout and our tables can be reserved by phone.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Mediocre at best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

We spent at least 15 minutes waiting for our takeaway cod and chips. All good things are worth waiting for, however, we found the fish and chips to be pretty bland. and the service positively pedestrian.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Taffy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    18
    10
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darwen
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

The fish was really good, but the batter was too thick for me. The chips were quite dry.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank BarryDarwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A chippie cafe with very little food and very little service.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Just returned from a visit to this establishment (calling it a restaurant is pushing it a bit - it's just a sit-in chippie) and was extremely disappointed. We ordered fish and chips and steak and kidney pie and chips, only to be told five minutes later by a very uninterested young girl that they had no steak and kidney pies left. What sort of chippie runs out of pies at 7pm on a Friday night other than this one?
We finally settled for beef stroganoff instead which when it finally arrived was not too bad. The haddock and chips however was very poor, with a portion of fish only half the size of our local chippie and the chips were hard and tasteless. After waiting in vain to be asked about puddings we eventually collared another disinterested young girl and requested two toffee dream delights. Five minutes later, you've guessed it, she returned to tell us (with no apology at all) that they did not have any, at which point we gave up, paid up and left.
We do not expect a five course candlelit dinner in a sit-in chippie but this was by far the worst one we have encountered.Avoid at all costs - there's plenty of pubs offering decent grub in Rhayader instead!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank rattyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pretty good fish & chips shop!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

The place was pretty good! The fish was fresh and the chips were tasty. They sold us the fish and chips in some good quality bags, which we appreciated as we at in the car. I didn't realize the restaurant was separate from the counter, so by the time we ordered we weren't allowed to sit down since we had apparently used the "take away" section. Prices were good. Staff seemed a bit weird, but most of mid-wales is weird. I would definitely eat here again if I am driving down the A470.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelso, Scotland
Level Contributor
282 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Had fish and chips here and they were absolutely excellent. Clean dining room, good service and lovely F&Cs. Cant' say any more than that.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank travel_fan022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Evans Takeaway & Diner also viewed

 

Been to Evans Takeaway & Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing