We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What lovley gardens!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Halt Gardens and Cafe

The Halt Gardens and Cafe
Ranked #2 of 3 Coffee & Tea in Rhayader
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Halt Cafe & Gardens is situated in the centre of Wales on the main A470 trunk road linking North and South Wales. It can accommodate up to 70 customers and has a Garden Room which can be booked for private parties. There are lovely well-maintained gardens adjacent to the River Wye with gazebos and outside seating for the warmer weather. There is easy vehicular access, lots of parking and easy level access for customers with restricted mobility.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What lovley gardens!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

A lovely meal followed by a restful walk around the lovely gardens. A pleasure to visit after a long journey.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitaLawzam, Owner at The Halt Gardens and Cafe, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our café and for making such positive comments. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    25
    14
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Llandrindod Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
“Consistently dependable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I very often take visiting family and friends to The Halt for meals. Good choice, excellent value menu, child friendly, always clean and with cheerful staff headed by Elaine.

What's to complain about - nothing. Oh the hot water on tap in the toilets was very hot last time. There is a warning notice - do not ignore it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nipponnev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitaLawzam, Owner at The Halt Gardens and Cafe, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our cafe. We are pleased you enjoy your visits and very much appreciate your positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhayader, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabuous Garden, nice clean cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Often stop on way home after shopping or an outing, I love the gardens, they are so well planned and pleasant to sit in. Nice big windows to sit by inside if wet. USUALLY have great coffee, made by proper barrister machine. Reasonable prices for lunch and food comes fairly quickly considering they make to order. Disappointed to find last time different person behind counter assumed coffee meant INSTANT!!! yuk

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitaLawzam, Owner at The Halt Gardens and Cafe, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you Catherine for taking the time to review our cafe. Your mostly positive comments are very encouraging. I am sorry you did not get the coffee you wanted when you last visited. I have reinforced with the staff the need to make sure the order for coffee is correct before serving.
I am confident you will not experience such a problem in future. However if at any time there is a problem with your order make it known to the staff and I am sure they will deal with it satisfactorily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great stopping place on trip through Wales”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stopped here many times on trip from Bristol to N Wales. Good food, reasonable price. In summer garden nice to eat in. Food prepared to order, but speedy. Well priced. Friendly service. Recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vickers55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitaLawzam, Owner at The Halt Gardens and Cafe, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for your very positive comments about our cafe. Like you many customers welcome the opportunity to take a break mid journey by stopping off with us to take refreshments. The gardens are much appreciated especially during the summer months - at the moment they are especially beautiful with the roses and perennials in full bloom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tipton, uk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice Clean Cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Easy parking. Clean cafe. Free Wifi. Reasonably priced food. Licenced. Conservatory area very nice with aircon.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jos22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitaLawzam, Owner at The Halt Gardens and Cafe, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for your very positive comments about the Halt Cafe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Halt Gardens and Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Halt Gardens and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing