We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant B&B family stay in a quaint mid-Wales market town”
Review of Liverpool House

Liverpool House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Liverpool House
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rhayader
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pleasant B&B family stay in a quaint mid-Wales market town”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We booked two rooms on short notice during our driving tour of England and Wales. Ann, our innkeeper, was helpful without intruding on our family's privacy. She gladly loaned us a bottle-opener to replace the one we left behind at our last stop, and kept our perishables in her fridge. The rooms were comfortable, not too small, and pleasantly cool with the windows open (no A/C). The en-suite bathrooms are not very large, but everything works. The view from our rooms was gorgeous Welsh countryside - sheep grazing on the hills.

Rhayader is a small market town set in the beautiful Elan Valley. We did not stay long enough to enjoy any of the scenic hikes, but our after-dinner stroll in the village park was refreshing. Ann recommended the "Lamb and Flag" for dinner - good "pub grub" with many locals also there. Breakfast was the traditional "full English".

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back with views towards the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    7
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
8
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Magnetic Island Queensland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

One night was enough .We stayed in the building to the left of the main Liverpool House, apart from the musty smell the room wasn't very clean and the view of the Texaco service station across the road was to die for .The only redeeming feature was the breakfast .

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thinedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rhayader hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
redditch
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Stayed at the Liverpool house for 2 nights, when phoning and making the reservation we told the owner that we had a English Springer Spaniel that we would like to bring away with us. "No problem" we were told "we allow dogs" you are always concerned that even though it is nice to take your pet away will the standards of accommodation drop. I can honestly say that we found our room clean, comfortable, very roomy, and cosy. We had en-suite with lovely thick towels and toiletries. A four posted bed and comfortable sofa in bedroom. Tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer and colour TV. also plenty of cupboard space if you was staying more then a couple of nights. We chose a Full English breakfast which was tasty and well presented with a choice of cereals and yogurts. The dining room for eating was also very clean and nicely laid out.....there is also a lounge for you to sit in with large colour TV, games.books and lovely view of the Rhayader countryside. We can highly recommend this B&B has we found it value for money and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpoolhouse, Owner at Liverpool House, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

My wife stayed here for 1 night on the 22nd June. We stayed in room G2 which was on the 1st floor at the rear of the hotel. OK it was a bit cluttered, but, it was more than adequate for our needs. The view from the windows was overlooking the rolling hills of mid wales and we could see the red kite birds drifting in the prevailinf breeze. Yes the room was dated, but who cares; as long as the room and bed is spotless; all is well and spotless the room was.. It had two low slung armchairs which were comfortable, but a tad small for my body frame. The shower was good, and the bathroom had all the neccessary soaps, shampoos etc.
Breakfast was good. We ate a full cholestrol free, english breakfast, lots of calories but nice. We paid £28.00 ppn and paid by credit card on our departure.

Room Tip: The rooms on the rear of the hotel are the quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taffy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Recently decorated, the house was smart, very warm, clean, comfortable (we loved the sofa in our room), and the owner was very friendly. It was a short walk into Rhayader for the riverside walks and restaurants, and there were good views at the rear of the house of kites circling at Gigrin farm and the odd one even flying low overhead. The breakfast had plenty of choice, with cereals, yoghurts and a variety of cooked food (all very good). We had a perfect long weekend and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendybartlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed here one night as part of a short break to Wales. Check-in was straightforward and the proprietor was helpful and friendly but the place is stuck in a time-warp decor wise and our room had a musty smell to it, as well as peeling wallpaper, loose plaster and a vivid blue toilet and washbasin! Other than that our room had all of the usual facilities with plenty of storage space, and a table and two easy chairs were provided but the bed was one of the most uncomfortable we have ever tried to sleep on.
At breakfast the following morning, the cerials seemed a little stale and had the cooked breakfast not been swimming in grease it would have been quite tasty, although the service was very efficient.

To be honest, we would not return to this B&B unless the decor and rooms had been updated - we have stayed in far better accommodation for the same money.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the property have good views to the hills beyond Rhayader and Red Kites can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rattyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We had a double room with four poster bed. Our daughter and grand daughter had a family room at the top of the house with a good view at the back. Both rooms were warm and comfortable with armchairs and a sofa. The cooked breakfast was very good and the owner was very friendly We would certainly stay here again if in the area as we think we had excellent value for money.Joan and Bill Benham, Four Marks, Alton, Hampshire

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhayader
0.1 mi away
Crown Inn
Crown Inn
#2 of 3 in Rhayader
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
11.5 mi away
Cedars Guest House
Cedars Guest House
#2 of 3 in Builth Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beili Neuadd
Beili Neuadd
#2 of 13 in Rhayader
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Horseshoe Guesthouse
The Horseshoe Guesthouse
#6 of 13 in Rhayader
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bear
The Bear
#3 of 13 in Rhayader
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liverpool House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liverpool House

Property: Liverpool House
Address: East Street, Rhayader LD6 5EA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Rhayader
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rhayader
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Liverpool House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Liverpool House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liverpool House Rhayader, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing