We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent at the price”
Review of Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crown Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rhayader
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent at the price”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I recently stayed at the Crown Inn as a solo traveller. The value for money was excellent. Room 2 was comfortable, clean and warm with decent facilities for making tea and coffee and free bottles of water and biscuits or pieces of cake. The bed was comfortable and noise from the road evident but not intrusive as the rooms are in a courtyard to the rear of the pub. The room needed a few little changes to be really excellent - the flex on the kettle was a bit too short, the remote on the TV was a bit knackered, the shower is a bit small (not something that can be changed) but the water was plentiful and warm.

The bar was very cosy on dark winter nights with a good fire burning. The food rates 10/10 - good range excellently cooked at prices well below what I have paid elsewhere for worse fare. Maybe another vegetarian option would be an idea. Nice armchairs by the fire afterwards.

Good breakfast across the road at Ty Morgans (owned by the same people apparently) where you can pay your bill or book for extra nights - the Crown keeps pub hours so is not open in the morning.

Staff were excellent - friendly and efficient. Altogether I would recommend the Crown Inn to anyone wanting a good low-cost place to stay in this wonderful area of Wales.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown I, General Manager at Crown Inn, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review.
Hope to you decide to visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    33
    20
    9
    6
See reviews for
12
47
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Delightful Inn. Welcoming and cosy. The staff were genuine in their attention and friendly. Enjoyed drinks and very good meal. Would definitely return and consider taking rooms. The Crown provides a pleasant evening in a country inn with a log fire and a cheerful atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown I, General Manager at Crown Inn, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your kind review of our bar.
We love to hear when people enjoy our food and service.
Maybe next time you can stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport UK
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My husband and I had a nice lunch here after visiting the Élan Valley dams. We received a very friendly welcome from the barmaid and sat near to an open log fire which was great to warm up by. We both had the steak and red onion sandwich which came with a generous portion of chips and salad. I also enjoyed a pint of one of their cask ales. We felt that the food and drinks were reasonably priced and of good quality. We would definitely call here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysSeeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown I, General Manager at Crown Inn, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thanks for your review we're pleased you enjoyed your lunch with us and hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Food and service good but not outstanding. Two customers standing by the door smoking, but they didn't obstruct the entrance.
(We didn't stay overnight, but there's no entry for the restaurant alone.)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d_v_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown I, General Manager at Crown Inn, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your review apologies for the smokers by our door we do have a designated smoking area to the side of the building they may not have been aware of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My wife and I were driving up from Caerleon to Portmeirion, and were in need of a quick pick-me-up to help us finish the travels...a nice strong cup of coffee and liver pate kept us going for the last miles...the wait staff was very friendly, the food of reasonable quality, and environment cozy...would not hesitate to recommend a stop here for anyone needing a quick bite!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petergoode2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown I, General Manager at Crown Inn, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your kind review
Hope you visit us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed here twice before, said would never stay again as always given twin room when asked for double, thought archer the revamp we would give it another go......well the positives first, the room was very clean, the towels spotless white and nice toiletries left on the bed.. Now the negatives, the bed.. You could feel every lump, bump and spring in the cheap mattress, non of us had a very good nights sleep.
When we returned to our room at about 930 it was very dark, there were no lights in the alley leading to the stairs, no light on the stairs so was very dangerous.
Then reading the welcome pack, we realised we had to go to another's B and B across the road for breakfast, had we know this or been told this on arrival we would not have stayed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown I, General Manager at Crown Inn, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Apologies you weren't very happy with your stay with us I have now updated our page to explain about the breakfast, however our sister b&b we use is only 10 yards over the road from ourselves.
We did look into the lighting mentioned it is a sensor light so am not sure why it did not click in for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rhayader hotels

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We call in at this pub as it said they had pigeon breasts on the menu, which sounded interesting. however, when we ordered, these were 'off' so I plumped for the fish cakes which it said came with salad. It came in fact with chips (which I rarely eat) and the tiny salad was well wilted under the hot fish cakes. My husband's shepherds' pie also came with chips and salad (also not mentioned) although, of course, it contained potato. Why can one never buy a light lunch in a pub! I hate wasting food.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank felicia333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhayader
7.0 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,318 reviews
7.0 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
261 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Horseshoe Guesthouse
The Horseshoe Guesthouse
#5 of 13 in Rhayader
89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms
0.0 mi away
The Elan Hotel
The Elan Hotel
#7 of 13 in Rhayader
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Inn

Property: Crown Inn
Address: North Street, Rhayader LD6 5BT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Rhayader
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rhayader
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn with atmosphere, real ales, good selection of house wines, lagers, cider and hot beverages available. Good quality and value for money meals and snacks served lunchtime and evening. Daily Specials and also special offers sometimes available. Bed & Breakfast is available in three en-suite twin rooms, the bathrooms and showers have recently been refurbished and the rooms have flat screen TVs and tea/coffee making facilities.Some off street parking is available for residents.A warm welcome is guaranteed for all customers whether eating, drinking or sleeping. We welcome dogs in our bedrooms however they aren't permitted in our restaurant area. Breakfast is served a few yards away in Ty Morgans which offers a wide range of traditional and alternative breakfast choices ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Inn Rhayader, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing