We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Elan Valley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elan Valley Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rhayader
Certificate of Excellence
Stannington Sheffield
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Recent comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

After visiting the nearby Gigrin Farm Red Kite feeding centre, we stayed overnight at the Elan Valley Hotel. It is in a lovely quiet setting and is a large building standing in mature gardens. The room was clean and tidy with a very large bed. Service in the bar and restaurant was very pleasant, the staff being attentive and helpful but not over fussy. Our evening meal was taken in the restaurant and was good traditional fare, nice house wine . Bar meals are also available Great nights sleep followed by a hearty breakfast. I recommend this hotel and will certainly stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RussHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    60
    17
    7
    0
See reviews for
44
93
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Elan Valley hotel had clearly been doing business for a long time. The staff were friendly and helpful, some very thoughtful touches in the rooms. A minor fly issue whilst we were there in the recent heat (few in bedroom and bathroom as well as in restaurant and at breakfast). Perhaps this due to the weather as no one else seems to have mentioned.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RealTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elanvalleyhotel, Owner at Elan Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
We're glad you enjoyed your stay but understand the flies were so annoying. It was a terrible time throughout the entire valley for flies but the cooler weather has seen things return to a more normal and manageable level, thank goodness! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night on our way from Aberystwyth to London. Hotel staff were very pleasant and the hotel and facilities were clean and comfortable. Good breakfast.
A real pity we could not stay a few days and explore the countryside around the hotel as it looks wonderful for hiking.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerleon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and in all had a generally positive experience. The young man on the front desk was very helpful when we checked in and recommended places to go and things to do in the area.
I had a single room and though it was small it didn't feel cramped, in fact it felt nice and homely and cosy and was only about £40. The bathroom was a really good size too. It wasn't exactly sterile but clean enough and the odd speck of dust doesn't really bother me at all. I also really love that the room had a teddy bear on the bed (as do other rooms)!

Dinner was very nice (probably on the upper end of what I'd usually pay though) although the young waitress didn't really seem to know what was going on and our other waitress was actually a little passive aggressive towards us because someone in the group didn't want vegetables with their steak and just wanted chips and mushrooms with it.

Breakfast was very nice indeed and the breakfast room was lovely and bright. We all had a full English and I must admit I was impressed by the quality of the bacon and the sausage.

The location is lovely and tranquil and great for getting up to the reservoirs.

Really the only thing that tainted our stay was the two members of staff who were waitressing.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hannahsiancrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We booked to stay for four nights of a pre-planned 3 week holiday schedule taking in 4 different B&B's/hotels from Wiltshire to Pembrokeshire, Mid Wales and West Midlands.
I can honestly say we wish we had planned to stay longer than we did at the Elan Valley Hotel.
In a stunning setting just a few minutes from the Elan valley reservoirs and dams, with absolutely loads of things to do within easy reach of the hotel.
An ideal top notch family break given the variety of activities available.
The accommodation was everything it said on the tin, and spotlessly clean.
As a "country hotel" it has plenty of character and warmth, with a feeling of history and timelessness about it which makes it so right for the area, not jarring the senses at it complements the setting so well.
The staff are extremely approachable, friendly and helpful. We got the feeling we really mattered to them as people - something that you just don't get in most hotels. They went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.
The bar meals were such excellent value, a good choice of dishes and very well prepared. We could either stay in the bar and watch the world cup or sit in the secluded conservatory, and so we stuck with them every night for a very reasonable amount. (Saw no reason to try the restaurant although I'm sure the value and quality was good.)
Breakfast was very good, with a good choice of items, and the bacon and eggs was superb!
This was real country living with nice people in an extraordinary setting.
Bye the way, the fitness centre I have given a 5* rating to is the 70 square miles of Elan Valley surrounding the hotel!
We are from NZ where good food and great scenes are the norm and we felt right at home here.

Room Tip: Room 10 is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed here as a last minute decision to get away for a couple of days. Bought our dog along.stayed in room on side of hotel as can let dog out into garden . gorgeous location. Nice and clean and staff were lovely and so welcoming. Had evening meal in bar.was gorgeous .proper food !! I had the salmon fishcakes chips and peas. Husband had burger with bacon and cheese, chips and peas.was delicious. Breakfast was amazing everything is great quality. Had a wonderful couple of days in a beautiful location .will definitely stay here again:))

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohboyolovewales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We went for a meal last nightcap,staying at Elan Oaks caravan site which. Is just a 5 minute walk away. There was,a bar and restaurant menu to choose from.
Lots of choices. We only wanted a main course. I had 1/4 lb beefburger with chips and peas. The burger was great with slice of good bacon and melted cheese, chips and peas were nice. Husband had a home made steak and mushroom pie with chips and peas. There was a lot of very good beef in it with gravy and it had lovely puff pastry top. This was from the bar menu. We could sit in the bar conservatory or restaurant. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We would eat there again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenniferbarrow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhayader
2.4 mi away
Crown Inn
Crown Inn
#2 of 3 in Rhayader
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
8.1 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
11.0 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Builth Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Elan Hotel
The Elan Hotel
#7 of 13 in Rhayader
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
2.5 mi away
Penralley House
Penralley House
#1 of 13 in Rhayader
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elan Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elan Valley Hotel

Property: Elan Valley Hotel
Address: Elan Valley | Nr. Rhayader, Rhayader LD6 5HN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Rhayader
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rhayader
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elan Valley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Elan Valley Hotel Rhayader, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing