We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy but nice food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms
Ranked #9 of 13 Rhayader B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Noisy but nice food”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed here using a Living Social deal for two nights B&B and one evening meal for two.
On arrival we were able to park right outside the hotel but in a one hour only parking bay.
I asked about parking in the hotel`s rear car park but unfortunately found it had three cars parked there already so was full.
As we arrived on a Saturday evening we weren`t bothered about the traffic wardens, but beware he was on patrol first thing Monday morning and spent all day patrolling the High Street.
So if you need to park on the street, park away from the hotel, there is no restriction further down East Street by the Fire Station, or wait for a chance gap and squeeze into the back car park.
The hotel staff are very friendly and really helpful and the food in the bistro was excellent.
I had the sirloin and my wife had the lamb shank.
But and it`s a big but, the hotel is right on the busy road crossroads of the A470 and the A44 through the town.
So there is constant traffic noise from heavy lorries and farm vehicles all day from around six in the morning until late at night.
Also you can hear the staff, customers and the TV in the bar below from just after 7am until after 11pm when the bar closes.
The smokers also tend to stand chatting just outside the entrance door, which was directly under our bedroom windows.
While quite cosy and warm with fairly new carpet and IKEA furniture the floor of our room was certainly not level and a bit creaky and the floor above also creaked every time the guests upstairs moved.
You can hear the Sanflo type waste systems in the other rooms whenever the toilets, baths or sinks are being used.
The hot water supply was poor, we tried to fill the bath but gave up half way through when the water turned cold again and the hot tap for the sink only ever gave us warm water.
So to sum up, eat and drink here by all means as the food is great but don't expect a good night's sleep, so either find somewhere else to stay or use earplugs.

Room Tip: Take earplugs or avoid
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BoBo1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    66
    35
    20
    15
See reviews for
38
117
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed as Bed & Breakfasters on a one night stop-over.
Bang in the centre of Rhayader, possibly a little too central if your room, as ours was, is overlooking the road that the noisy logging trucks use (24 hrs) making opening the window impossible as their cargo is only a few feet from the window at 1st floor level.
The room itself was clean and comfy with shower/bath combo, somewhat recently refurbished to a good standard.
Some local real ales are sold at the bar, ok too, here you’ll find a welcoming wood burning stove, (mind you, every pub in the town sports one too). Breakfast was plentiful and a good variety of choice.
Great little town with plenty of pubs but some on short hours/or limited catering especially when in low season.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdkwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed on a KGB deal. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was set out well with all the usual you come to expect in a hotel room,the cafe was well stocked with very friendly staff.the menu was brilliant with a good selection to cater for all. Bar staff were friendly we both enjoyed our stay at Ty Morgan's ,Rhayader and have and will continue to recommend to friends and family hope to return soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed here on a KGB deal, but would happily come back and pay the extra. It was a 2 night stay with evening meal (first night) and breakfast included (both nights). Food was delicious and breakfast was easily one of the best i've had for both quantity and quality.
We stayed in room 4 which overlooked the village square, it had a king size bed and was kitted out beautifully.The bed was very comfortable indeed !!
The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, they couldn't do enough for you. If only all hotels had staff like the Ty Morgans !

Room Tip: Stay in Room 4 if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bristoldoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We had a KGB deal for our stay in Ty Morgans. The location is excellent right in the centre of Rhayader. Our room was No 3, ok, except that the bed was in the wrong position, it was positioned next to the wall on which the TV was mounted, also it being at the front on the first floor the traffic outside was loud at times. the bathroom was modern and well equipped. Our meal on the first night was excellent, almost more than we could eat. There is parking at the rear, but probably only 3 spaces. there are excellent pubs in the town, I can recommend the Cornhill Inn, excellent ales and 2 friendly cats, also the Triangle Inn, good food and ales, over the river bridge and on the left.
We had a day trip along the Elan Valley passing through devils bridge and an afternoon in Aberystwyth.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terlga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Although the bistro and the hotel looked okay the apartment was 100mtrs down the road down a very dark creepy hallway which had a sensor light but it still was very creepy. Also it was above a laundry mat. The beds were clean but hurt our backs. So we couldn't sleep through the night we were up every two hours. Our 12 year old son slept in the second bedroom which was down a dark hallway and around the corner, as the light did not work. Couches had dog hair and didn't look clean so we used the bath towels to sit on. Kitchen cutlery was greasy and kitchen didn't look very clean so we did not make our meal at the apartment we went out to eat. Bathtub was stained and didn't work. The apartment was very spacious but definitely not worth £90 a night in the condition it was presented. My husband was very angry he could not take a shower in the morning so he was able to receive 10% off and a complimentary breakfast which we did not accept as we just wanted to leave after a night of no sleeping. Avoid avoid the creepy dirty apartment!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank JastridG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed here for two nights on a KGB deal, had a nice stay. Room was comfortable and clean . Staff were friendly and polite. The food was excellent. Breakfast was really good and we had evening meals which we really enjoyed. Parking is a bit of a problem. They do have space at the back of they hotel for two or maybe three cars but the entrance to this space is very narrow. So need to be careful if you have a big car, other than that parking has to be found elsewhere. The hotel is in a nice small town within easy reach of the elan valley which is very beautiful. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank two-taffies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhayader
0.0 mi away
Crown Inn
Crown Inn
#2 of 3 in Rhayader
90 reviews
7.0 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,328 reviews
7.0 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
799 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bear
The Bear
#2 of 13 in Rhayader
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Elan Hotel
The Elan Hotel
#6 of 13 in Rhayader
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms

Property: Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms
Address: East Street, Rhayader LD6 5BH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Rhayader
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Rhayader
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ty Morgans is situated in the centre of the Beautiful market town of Rhayader. This brand new development has all its rooms individually designed by an interior designer and has recently been awarded its 4 star status. We have our own Strand Bistro, Morgans Evening Restaurant and Coffee/Sandwich Shop. Rhayader makes a location for touring mid wales with the stunning Elan Valley Dams and the beautiful Wye Valley ideal for walking, cycling, birdwatching and fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Morgan`s Bar-Bistro-Rooms Hotel Rhayader
Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms Rhayader, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing