We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms
Ranked #9 of 14 Rhayader B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed two nights on a KGB deal which included breakfasts and an evening meal. Our room, number 8, was lovely with views over the hills from the small attic window. It was a nice size with small two seater sofa and traditional cast iron fireplace which made it seem really cosy. My only issue was that being an attic room you had to be careful getting out of bed and accessing the wardrobe but that said, the room was more than big enough for this not to be a too much of a problem.
The breakfasts were freshly cooked to order with local produce and the sandwich bar was great for ordering our packed lunches to take with us.
There is very limited car parking space but you can park the car outside to drop off your luggage then park free of charge in the nearby Smithfields( (?) car park.
For dog owners, it was great having a separate side entrance to the guest house sector so that you didn't need to walk the dog through the bar and there is a lovely riverside walk nearby for a pre-breakfast dog walk.
On leaving I asked to see the other rooms. All of which were beautifully decorated.

Room Tip: Room 8 was lovely with country views but it does have sloping ceiling above the bed head and wardrob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed one night on business trip in room 6. Room high standard and clean. Bed comfy. Plenty of coffee/tea & home made biscuits provided I parked on the road nearby without any problems, but it is out of season so don't know what parking would be like in the summer months . Staff were friendly and helpful. Good range food for breakfast, served quickly. I had dinner in their Bistro; goats cheese followed by lovely lamb rump. Could not find any faults, would return without hesitation.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 6 on side of property. Didn't find road noise a problem but had windows shut.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 11Nictom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

On the sad occasion of a family funeral, we selected Ty Morgan's for a group of us to stay in and it was a great decision. On arrival those of us previously sharing in twin rooms were automatically upgraded to rooms of our own without asking and those who'd travelled a long distance were offered immediate sustenance, In the evening the bar was lively and the breakfasts were full and hearty.
The only downside was the proximity to the main road and while I could sleep in a nightclub, many of my relatives were woken early by trucks.
We didn't eat dinner in the hotel, but the entertainment (in human form) in the bar in the evening was a delight.

Room Tip: take ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnabelMoorsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed here using a Living Social deal for two nights B&B and one evening meal for two.
On arrival we were able to park right outside the hotel but in a one hour only parking bay.
I asked about parking in the hotel`s rear car park but unfortunately found it had three cars parked there already so was full.
As we arrived on a Saturday evening we weren`t bothered about the traffic wardens, but beware he was on patrol first thing Monday morning and spent all day patrolling the High Street.
So if you need to park on the street, park away from the hotel, there is no restriction further down East Street by the Fire Station, or wait for a chance gap and squeeze into the back car park.
The hotel staff are very friendly and really helpful and the food in the bistro was excellent.
I had the sirloin and my wife had the lamb shank.
But and it`s a big but, the hotel is right on the busy road crossroads of the A470 and the A44 through the town.
So there is constant traffic noise from heavy lorries and farm vehicles all day from around six in the morning until late at night.
Also you can hear the staff, customers and the TV in the bar below from just after 7am until after 11pm when the bar closes.
The smokers also tend to stand chatting just outside the entrance door, which was directly under our bedroom windows.
While quite cosy and warm with fairly new carpet and IKEA furniture the floor of our room was certainly not level and a bit creaky and the floor above also creaked every time the guests upstairs moved.
You can hear the Sanflo type waste systems in the other rooms whenever the toilets, baths or sinks are being used.
The hot water supply was poor, we tried to fill the bath but gave up half way through when the water turned cold again and the hot tap for the sink only ever gave us warm water.
So to sum up, eat and drink here by all means as the food is great but don't expect a good night's sleep, so either find somewhere else to stay or use earplugs.

Room Tip: Take earplugs or avoid
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BoBo1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed as Bed & Breakfasters on a one night stop-over.
Bang in the centre of Rhayader, possibly a little too central if your room, as ours was, is overlooking the road that the noisy logging trucks use (24 hrs) making opening the window impossible as their cargo is only a few feet from the window at 1st floor level.
The room itself was clean and comfy with shower/bath combo, somewhat recently refurbished to a good standard.
Some local real ales are sold at the bar, ok too, here you’ll find a welcoming wood burning stove, (mind you, every pub in the town sports one too). Breakfast was plentiful and a good variety of choice.
Great little town with plenty of pubs but some on short hours/or limited catering especially when in low season.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdkwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed on a KGB deal. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was set out well with all the usual you come to expect in a hotel room,the cafe was well stocked with very friendly staff.the menu was brilliant with a good selection to cater for all. Bar staff were friendly we both enjoyed our stay at Ty Morgan's ,Rhayader and have and will continue to recommend to friends and family hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed here on a KGB deal, but would happily come back and pay the extra. It was a 2 night stay with evening meal (first night) and breakfast included (both nights). Food was delicious and breakfast was easily one of the best i've had for both quantity and quality.
We stayed in room 4 which overlooked the village square, it had a king size bed and was kitted out beautifully.The bed was very comfortable indeed !!
The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, they couldn't do enough for you. If only all hotels had staff like the Ty Morgans !

Room Tip: Stay in Room 4 if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bristoldoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhayader hotels
0.0 mi away
Crown Inn
Crown Inn
#2 of 3 in Rhayader
94 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Elan Hotel
The Elan Hotel
#6 of 14 in Rhayader
51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Penralley House
Penralley House
#1 of 14 in Rhayader
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bear
The Bear
#2 of 14 in Rhayader
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Horseshoe Guesthouse
The Horseshoe Guesthouse
#7 of 14 in Rhayader
93 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beili Neuadd
Beili Neuadd
#3 of 14 in Rhayader
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms

Address: East Street, Rhayader LD6 5BH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Rhayader
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Rhayader
Price Range: £69 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ty Morgans is situated in the centre of the Beautiful market town of Rhayader. This brand new development has all its rooms individually designed by an interior designer and has recently been awarded its 4 star status. We have our own Strand Bistro, Morgans Evening Restaurant and Coffee/Sandwich Shop. Rhayader makes a location for touring mid wales with the stunning Elan Valley Dams and the beautiful Wye Valley ideal for walking, cycling, birdwatching and fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Morgan`s Bar-Bistro-Rooms Hotel Rhayader
Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms Rhayader, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing