We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very warm welcome..........”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms
Ranked #6 of 13 Rhayader B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A very warm welcome..........”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.
As we travel by motorbike whenever we can parking is rarely an issue for us, so the warnings we've read about the lack of parking in Rhayader didn't put us off. In the end we parked behind the pub where there are a couple of spaces for the use of guests.
After arriving we were shown to the room we were dreading after reading the reviews on here. That is the one directly above the bar and entrance. We expected it as we had left it late when booking. In the end we needn't have worried as we never noticed any issues with noise or smoke despite having the windows open due the the great warm weather.
The room was very nice but the bed had a really annoying squeak and it must be said it wasn't the best bed I'd ever slept in. It struck me as being from the budget range of beds and is the reason for only awarding a very good rather than an excellent. In the end the squeak was getting to me so much that I effected a, no doubt temporary, repair by cutting a short length of pull cord from the broken window blind and wrapping it between the squeaky bits of metal! Please change the bed Ty Morgan!
The biggest problem with the room was the temperature in the bathroom. This was due to a towel rail that couldn't be switched off unless you pulled the fuse on the spur. You can guess what comes next.......
We decided to eat in the bistro after reading the good reviews but, while it was ok, there was no real wow factor. Nice but not exceptional.
Breakfast however, was exceptional, so maybe the chef was holding something back the previous evening in the bistro.
The staff were all very welcoming and pleasant as was everyone in Rhayader who we spoke to. They are all a great advert for the area.
In fact the whole area was a bit of a hidden gem for us as there is so much to see and do from the great walking and biking, whether bicycle or motor, to fantastic places to visit such as the Red Kite Centre.
And not forgetting the 10 pubs in the town itself.
A little tip is that Rhayader is pronounced Raider according to a very helpful local who had only had a couple of lunch time whiskies!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tigerpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyMorgans666, Manager at Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for your review, we will ensure we take a look at then bed and the blinds.
we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    64
    34
    18
    13
See reviews for
36
112
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

menu does not make it clear when cooked food is available. we had been told there was an all day menu. in fact 'cooking hours' are not shown. an all day breakfast was not available at 3.30 pm. food is generalky good when available but would recommend checking whether the chef is in or not?

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MeditatingDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyMorgans666, Manager at Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for your review and apologies if you were not clear as to when we serve hot food.
Mon - Thurs we cook between 8-2.30pm and 5-9pm (Pasties, Cakes and Sandwiches are available in the period between kitchen opening hours)
Friday and Saturday we cook all day 8-9.30pm (Summer hours)
Sunday we cook all day 8-9pm (Summer hours)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
109 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

A lovely hotel and bistro in the middle of Rhayader, I had high hopes when I checked in. We had a twin room booked, but I was so disappointed when I found out that it was a double room with a camp bed stuffed in the corner! The bed was so creaky and very uncomfortable. As well as that, our room was next to the A470 trunk road which is noisy throughout the night. Breakfast on the other hand was very good, but it didn't make up for the lack of sleep.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJ101A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Please do not go here. We came for my friends birthday.
My chicken soup starter had an 1inch bone in it.
The scallops were so chewy you could bounce them off the floor.
The steak was watery like it had been frozen and it had absolutely no flavour.
The lamb shanks were lukewarm.
The waitress was impatient and clicked her fingers at us to pass the old plates back to her.

Overall..... the worst £150 spent in my entire life.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank JanieWorthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyMorgans666, Public Relations Manager at Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, please can you indicate the date in which you ate with us at Ty Morgan's so that I can enquire which members of staff were on shift at the time.
If you were unhappy with the food and the service which you received why was nothing said at the time? We certainly would have done our best to rectify the situation. I look forward to your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here s few times over the years! This time we stayed in room 1, it is awesome with no straight floors or walls exposed beams. Very cool room.

Downside is the noise coming through the windows, but not sure it can really be helped.

Breakfast was yummy, good choice and ok coffee.

We asked for late check out as we had a wedding that day, very accommodating.

I think if you remember that you are in a small town with no chain hotels and little boutique places it's perfect!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyMorgans666, Public Relations Manager at Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Ty Morgan's. We love that you like the 'quirkiness' of Room 1 with the exposed beams, it gives the room such a great character and is one of our most popular rooms. We really hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We had Very! poor service. Salad so limp it could have been yesterday's. No napkins. Steak was very overcooked. Kept waiting for everything. Half of meal was eaten before the sauces were even offered. Shame as it looked a nice place

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Rhayader, this would be a decent choice, but does have some disadvantages as well as its plus points.

The breakfast was very filling, and the choice of evening meals was good, and very good value (especially after our previous 2 days in the Cotswolds). Service was friendly and enthusiastic and the bar/dining area was spacious and airy.

The room we had was large and well furnished, but was on the first floor at the front of the building, overlooking the street and wasn't double glazed. As the building is adjacent to the main crossroads in the town, this can be a bit of a problem, especially when large articulated lorries come through after midnight. The clocktower in the middle of the crossroads is quite an obstacle!

Also, parking is difficult, unless you have a very small car, as the attached parking requires you to make a difficult turn to get through a narrow gateway at 90 degrees to the (narrow) road. You can park on the street and hope that it's not the one day a year that the traffic wardens come, or you can park 400 yds or so away. Neither option is great .

Rhyader's a pleasant little town, though, and the red Kite feeding station (only 1/2 mile down the road) and the 2 hour drive round the dams and rivers of the Elan valley are well worth doing. There are also some nice pubs in the town, we enjoyed the Crown and the Eagles and would have liked to have got around to the Triangle, which looked interesting, but ran out of time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welsht0ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhayader
0.0 mi away
Crown Inn
Crown Inn
#2 of 3 in Rhayader
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Elan Hotel
The Elan Hotel
#7 of 13 in Rhayader
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Penralley House
Penralley House
#1 of 13 in Rhayader
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Horseshoe Guesthouse
The Horseshoe Guesthouse
#5 of 13 in Rhayader
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bear
The Bear
#3 of 13 in Rhayader
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms

Property: Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms
Address: East Street, Rhayader LD6 5BH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Rhayader
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Rhayader
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ty Morgans is situated in the centre of the Beautiful market town of Rhayader. This brand new development has all its rooms individually designed by an interior designer and has recently been awarded its 4 star status. We have our own Strand Bistro, Morgans Evening Restaurant and Coffee/Sandwich Shop. Rhayader makes a location for touring mid wales with the stunning Elan Valley Dams and the beautiful Wye Valley ideal for walking, cycling, birdwatching and fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LateRooms, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Morgan`s Bar-Bistro-Rooms Hotel Rhayader
Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms Rhayader, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing