We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Offley Place Country House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sun Hotel(Hitchin)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Firs Hotel(Hitchin)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Needham House Hotel(Little Wymondley)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveller rating
148
60
23
13
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
148
60
23
13
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teawedding venuebeautiful venuewonderful weddingfood was fantastictop floorwedding breakfastmemorable stayluton airportspecial occasionhuge roomstaff were amazingfour poster bedlounge areanext morningbeautiful groundsbar food
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 255 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I celebrated my 60th Birthday at Offley Place on 21st December. I have been there several times before for a wedding reception and dinner and because of that I decided to celebrate my birthday there and must say it was the perfect venue!
It is a beautiful hotel situated in gorgeous grounds.I was delighted with the evening, everything went so well, the location, the food, accommodation and the staff. It was the perfect evening and I will never forgot it.
The staff are so helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough for us.
Breakfast the next day was excellent and in very relaxed surroundings.
22 of us stayed overnight and everyone commented on how good everything was.
I would highly recommend Offley Place for a special occasion or just for an evening meal.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I loved the location, but the food was inedible and the service was on par with the food.

I have had better food and service on a Ryanair flight!!!!

It was the setting for a wedding, and wasn't cheap... So you expect to get what you pay for. They were catering for 30/40 heads.

The starter looked and tasted like it had come out of a freezer pack, filo prawns with no taste or texture.

The main course came out at different times, across the room so people had finished before others had even started.

The main consisted of a bland chicken breast with a poor attempt of a sauce drizzled over it with steamed veg and a whole peeled potato. Hardly a fine dining experience to start with...
The fact that the steamed carrots were the most tasteful thing on the plate explains a lot.

The Potato wasn't even cooked properly - not just on my plate but as I looked across the room, not one person had made a sizable dent into their starchy tuber.

---------------------A chef that can't cook a potato, really shouldn't be a chef --------------------------------

(I don't think many hung around for the dessert and you could find the party at the bar - drinking away the terrible tastes in our mouths)

In the morning, we decided to give the kitchen another chance, maybe it was an off night etc etc.
But to our amazement the breakfast was just like the dinner. A full English that was cooked poorly, and with no love or passion from the kitchen.

When a member of family asked for theirs to come without eggs - the response and tone was incredible!!! "You get what's on the plate, if you don't like eggs you can just leave them"

WOW - really???

For a hotel and wedding venue that costs circa £150 per room per night you would certainly not expect that.

(considering we had booked out the entire hotel that evening, plus a lot more guests who came for the evening reception)

It really was a poor display on their part.

We have written to them, to let them know our displeasure directly, expecting an apology, perhaps even a good-will gesture on their part (as we didn't get what we paid for)

We heard nothing back...... Say's it all really!

If you are looking for a couple of nights away, or need a hotel locally - I would recommend the Hilton Garden Inn, 10 mins down the road.. (granted the location isn't quite the same) But at a third of the price, the food is decent and the staff bend over backwards to ensure you have a great stay - there is no comparison!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wise_man_say
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamid S, Manager at Offley Place Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for your feed back. The Manager has addressed the issues direct with the Bride and Groom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed for two nights on the 27th December as my friend was getting married at Offley Place on the 28th December. The house is beautiful with a nice driveway and views across the countryside.

The entrance hall is beautiful and you can see the sweeping staircase as you enter. The reception desk is located on the left hand side, and there is a lounge on the right hand side. Through the arch way is a nice cosy bar and the restaurant located in front of you. We had dinner in the restaurant on the Friday night and the wood was fabulous! The service was extremely friendly and professional.

I stayed the first night in the Bridal suite which is very large and has a fantastic and very comfortable four poster bed. The bathroom had a separate bath and shower. On the second night, I stayed in a standard room which was slightly smaller but was still very comfortable. There was a double bed and a pull out bed tucked away in a cupboard. The bathroom had a large bath and a shower overhead. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities and flat screen TV's.

The wedding was fabulous and we had use of the whole house. The staff took care of everything and didn't mind how noisy we got! The setting was perfect and the tables were laid out beautifully in the conservatory (which was turned into the dance floor a bit later).

Breakfast was fantastic (and much needed with the hangovers we had). A choice of continental and whatever you would like cooked!!! I can highly recommend Offley Place for a nice relaxing break or if you are planning a wedding!!

Room Tip: Choose the Bridal suite if it is a special occasion!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurenchimes23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamid S, Manager at Offley Place Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review . We are very pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We booked Christmas Day lunch here and had such a lovely time. The reservation staff were friendly and helpful and this theme continued. We were greeted an arrival and staff were attentive and helpful. Food was very good too.
It's not as upmarket as Luton Hoo, but it doesn't pretend to be. It's a small friendly country house hotel with personal service.
We would definitely return and recommend. We are going to book afternoon tea soon!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamid S, Manager at Offley Place Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Offley Place. We are pleased that you enjoyed your Christmas Day Lunch with us and shall look forward to welcoming you back for afternoon tea, perhaps in front of our log fire, or when its warmer, outside on our terrace overlooking the grounds.
Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

This is probably the 5th or 6th time we have visited for dinner or lunch - we have never had cause to stay overnight. This time it was with family for a pre-Christmas get-together. Another good lunch -- except the Brussel spouts of course, which are a family hate. The food is conventional but always well prepared. And very relaxed and friendly service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Aberphobic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamid S, Manager at Offley Place Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable lunch and hope we can look forward to welcoming you back in the new year, perhaps on one of our Dinner, Bed & Breakfast packages to experience an overnight stay too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews