We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Offley Place Country House
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hitchin
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great Venue”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We had our Asian wedding here at Offley in August 2013 which was fantastic.
Back on the 23rd August 14 to celebrate our 1 year anniversary which was fantastic from start to finish.

Dominic was there during our stay the entire time and it was a real pleasure as he made our stay perfect.

Thank you Offley for a wonderful stay and more happy memories.

Prior to coming over to Offley we went to the Cove Spa in Hitchin which is about 5 mins away for a couples message. Perfect start to our anniversary stay so we would highly recommend it.

Enjoy

Room Tip: We were in 14, perfect, right at the top of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trush13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    51
    20
    11
    10
See reviews for
60
58
3
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We got married at Offley Place in February 2014 and can't recommend it highly enough. The hotel is a beautiful old manor house and while it is very elegant it has a relaxed, comfortable atmosphere. We got married in the conservatory which was lovely even on a February day. There was lots of room to spread out into the lounges and bar area while still keeping the occasion intimate. We booked out the hotel rooms for our party and enjoyed having the entire place to ourselves for the weekend of our winter wedding. The staff were excellent throughout the weekend and also in the run up to the wedding. Very attentive during the weekend but at the same time discreet. The (mainly vegetarian) food was fantastic and we've had many compliments following the wedding about how much people enjoyed their meal. The whole occasion exceeded our very high expectations and was everything we could have wished for and more for our wedding. We look forward to visiting Offley Place again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whizzwhizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We spent one night here as a treat on our way home from visiting family. We were made very welcome and found it to be lovely. We had a large well equipped bedroom, with plenty of storage space for clothes and some good looking furniture. The evening meal was well cooked and presented by a helpful, friendly waitress. The restaurant was almost empty, such a shame when the meals are so good. Breakfast was just as good. The location is quiet and great for walking, the Chiltern Way crosses the road only yards from the front door. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank longtallmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I love this hotel, the décor is lovely, the rooms are spacious, light and airey, gorgeous four poster bed, and lots of plug sockets, this s a little bug bear of mine in hotels, but not at Offley, plenty to choose from here.

We have tried the restaurant before and its great, however this time we had snacks in the bar, very nice.

Also free wifi - another bug bear of mine, I hate paying through the nose for wifi, but its free at Offley.

If you are looking for some R & R in a beautiful hotel, in a glorious setting, then Offley s the place for you.

Room Tip: I would recommend rooms 5 and 6, they are both fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise44_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
629 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Went to Offley Place Country House last night for a function. I did not know where we were going but the minute we pulled in the drive I had a feeling a good night was about to begin. We had drinks and finger food on the back lawn. The reception was held in a beautiful marque on the lawn. The food and service was great and the staff were really friendly. Go there.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank motorcar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed here for our nephews wedding. The room was very nice and overlooked the back of the hotel so was quite quiet. The staff were very friendly and the food was excellent, both for the wedding and for breakfast. The rose garden is very pretty at the moment. Would certainly come back to stay again for a treat.

Room Tip: We had room 10 overlooking the grounds and church and was at the top of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotlandexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

From start to finish the staff at Offley Place were friendly and helpful. The rooms were all clean and spacious and overlooked the beautiful grounds. The catering was of a very high standard and all of the wedding guests were very complimentary about their meals. We would highly recommend this venue and will definitely be returning to enjoy a weekend break.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-4 are over the conservatory so maybe noisier if there is an event on
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hitchin
3.8 mi away
Needham House Hotel
Needham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Wymondley
261 reviews
3.8 mi away
Redcoats Farmhouse Hotel & Restaurant
5.1 mi away
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Mercure Letchworth Hall
#1 of 3 in Letchworth
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hitchin Priory
Hitchin Priory
#8 of 8 in Hitchin
393 reviews
15.6 mi away
Fanhams Hall Hotel
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Hitchin Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Offley Place Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Offley Place Country House

Property: Offley Place Country House
Address: Kings Walden Road, Hitchin SG5 3DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hitchin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hitchin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Offley Place Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Offley Place Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Offley Place Country House Hotel Hitchin
Offley Place Country House Hitchin, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing