We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of The Dragon Inn - CLOSED

The Dragon Inn
Price range: US$11 - US$28
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We went with friends to a Chinese restaurant that we had not visited before. We all chose the set menu at £15.95 per head. This gives three courses, with a recommendation for a party of four of six appetisers, two second courses and six main courses. The food was very good, nicely presented and the potions are the the right size. Service was good, if not swift but the time passed pleasantly. One small quibble, the wine is quite expensive, even for this type of establishment. We also enjoyed a little entertainment from the proprietor. A pleasant evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank andrewlgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
308Alun308, Manager at The Dragon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Dear andrewlgc,

Thank you for your time in writing the review. I am pleased to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your recent dining experience with us at The Dragon Inn. All of our dishes are freshly cooked to order and our ingredients are carefully selected to guarantee authentic flavours. Our selection of wine is also of high quality to compliment our far eastern cuisine. Our recommended house wine is priced at only £14.50 a bottle which, when you compare to our neighbouring pubs and restaurants, is very competitive and good value for money for this type of wine. Again, thanks for your feedback and I hope to be of service to you and your friends again in the near future. Kind Regards, Alun (01462) 440989.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

We have driven past a few times and been put off by the "tired pub" look from the road but having promised our son a Chinese takeaway tonight and having read the reviews online we thought we would give the Dragon Inn a try - we are soooo glad we did. The food was absolutely fantastic. Couldn't fault it in any way and we have high standards! It was really nice to know that they don't use MSG and all the ingredients were very fresh with nice crunchy veg. We will definitely be going back for more

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tallulah29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
308Alun308, Manager at The Dragon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear tallulah29,

Thank you for choosing us for your take-away meal......or shall I say 'thank you' to your son for wanting some good quality Chinese food! I am glad you all enjoyed your meal from us and why not bring your son in for a meal some time for an entertaining dining experience with us?

Kind Regards,
Alun
Manager
01462 440989

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We found this little gem by chance and was very pleased with out findings. Not only was the good delicious but the service was fantastic to the point the waitor was showing us magic tricks a real time cruncher when waiting between meals look forward to returning again.

Thank Chr10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
308Alun308, Manager at The Dragon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you Chr10 for your kind feedback. Good food and service is what we set out to provide to our customers and I am really pleased to find that you have confirmed this in your review. We look forward to being of service to you again very soon.

With Kind Regards,
Alun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My husband is a local who spoke highly of Dragon Inn, so we decided to give it a go.

I shall write a review objectively and i hope this will improve the business greatly. First off, i am a Malaysian Chinese and my family is in the food trade, so I do know my asian food. I sincerely hope my review will help the Dragon Inn to improve their food.

PROS :
1. Location : a bit far out from the town but makes it a great romantic getaway, ample parking space and generally lovely
2. Cleanliness : Superb, neat and tidy
3. Ingredients : Vegetables are Fresh, meats are lean with hardly any fat on it. This is probably where all the fantastic reviews comes from as everything is not overly oily and bombarded with additives.
4. Portion size : lovely, it may look small, but if you opt for the buffet set, it is satisfying and not overly bloaty.
5. Service : The manager is kind and helpful, friendly and always with a smile on his face.
6. Price : it might sound expensive but for the quality of ingredient, locations and variety is worth it.

All sounds very lovely but why only 2 stars? Because the food is a huge let down.

CONS :
1. Identity : while the place is neat and tidy with a hint of chinese decoration on it, it does have a very confusing identity and it's still a very much 'pub' like feel to it all. Would suggest the manager to invest a simple, cost effective makeover to give it a complete oriental image rather than confusion.
2. Menu : A great variety of choices, but would definitely like to know its listed ingredient.
3. Food : I shall only comment on the food we ordered and from what we observed. We ordered sweet and sour wonton, which itself was confusing as we have never heard of that, the correct name of it should be 'Fried Wonton with Sweet and Sour sauce dip', the folds of it is all wrong, the skin is too tough from being aired too long before frying, there's hardly any meat in it and would suggest the restaurant to choose a better brand of sauce as it is too watery and not enough balance of flavour between the sweet and sour. We had egg fried rice, which is superb, great balance of flavour and not just salty and oily like the other fried rice we had. We also had beef with chilli and honey and Char Siew Pork. Both the meats are excellent cut of lean with no fat which we love, the vegetable is fresh and not over cooked, however, it is still prepared wrongly and was a huge disappointment. Its like you are eating the ingredient and not as a whole dish. The char siew is all wrong, just... wrong. I've had better char siew from a road side stall in Malaysia than this. And i am not sure that the beef with chilli and honey should looked the way it looked, it was sweet, but we can't find any chilli on it.

As a paying customer, we have the right to expect a certain standard of food. For the quality it has it is very disappointing. Would suggest the chef to undergo more training. It may have a good review for people who never had anything to compared with, but as an asian who knows her food, my heart literally shattered when i saw the starter wanton. I hope this review helps the owner to improve the food and restore its authenticity and not stray from its true colour and flavour. Continue to stick with your practice as everything else is fantastic because your ingredient is truly fresh and tasty, but if the food is improved and more Asians agreed with the food standard we are positive your business will be prosperous!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank brmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
308Alun308, Manager at The Dragon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Dear brmate,
Thank you for taking the time to write the review. I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with some of our dishes. Sweet and sour wonton...all of our sweet and sour dishes are served with a light crispy coating, hence the term 'sweet and sour' is used. In the case of wonton, it is really the wonton pastry that is the main feature of the dish, therefore, one would not expect to have much filling inside the wonton. However, if you were to have the wonton in the soup, then you will find the filling is plentiful. We would have been more than happy to explain to you about the dishes if we had known that they sounded unfamiliar to you. The beef with honey and chilli...the dish does include fresh chilli but perhaps the batch of chilli that we had on the day was not particular hot. We have on a few occasions been told by our customers that the chilli were too hot so it does depend on the type of chilli that we get delivered weekly. The Roast Char-Siu Pork.... this is one of our most popular dishes so I am not too sure what you meant by 'just wrong'?... I can only think of one explanation and that may be because we do not use MSG to marinate the pork, unlike every other restaurants here in UK and in the Far East, which, if you are used to tasting food with MSG, then our dishes may taste a little strange.

Again, I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We value customer feedback because we rely on them to improve our standards of food quality and service. We thank you for your positive comments, in particular on our location with ample car parking, cleanliness, fresh ingredients, good portion size, good service and good value for money.

With Kind Regards,
Alun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We were a party of 6 who were staying in the area revisiting old haunts. We wanted to find a good Chinese for our last evening. We couldn't have found anywhere more accommodating.
The food was amazing. Portion sizes good and plenty to choose from the menu. We had the 'all you could eat' for £17.90 each which was excellent value.
Alan the owner did magic acts with cards, elastic bands and a spoon, fork, toothpick and chopstick.
Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would highly recommend. There were plenty of other diners so it must be popular.

Thank vegaslover2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
308Alun308, Manager at The Dragon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Good Day to you Vegaslover2010,

Thank you very much for your most kind review. It was a pleasure to keep you all entertained between courses and I am so happy to learn that you all loved the food as well. I hope to see you again soon when you're next in the area visiting your old haunts because I have more tricks to share with you all!! For your information, our prices are only £15.90 per head from Sundays to Fridays. Regards to you all.....Alun 01462 440989

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dragon Inn also viewed

 
Hitchin, Hertfordshire
Hitchin, Hertfordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing