We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun night”
Review of Corks Wine Bar - CLOSED

Corks Wine Bar
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Now under new management. We offer excellent wines at competitive prices. We offer premium wines such as Chateau Neuf du Pape and Barolo at amazing prices! - Our Tapas menu is influenced by Indian street food as well as traditional home cooked classics. Majority of dishes come with an Organic Chapatee. We offer Tapas from Thursdays to Saturdays. Special offer on Thursdays - 3 dishes for £10 ! Live music, wine, food and laughter..All welcome.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun night”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Wine bar that serves Indian tapas - family run by a lovely family serving traditional authentic Indian food - only tapas though so you need to order a few otherwise you will be hungry again. Small bar and best in the warmer weather and not much space inside.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SGC65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    1
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A really unique place to eat for a memorable evening”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

On an off chance instead of our normal "mid night out" curry we thought we would try Corks' new Inidian Tapas menu on Saturday night. What a brilliant decision. The food is really great, freshly cooked and a completely different experience to the normal curry you might expect from a restaurant. It was very reasonably priced, we spent about £10 a head and were pleasantly stuffed! Service was brilliant, the owner could not have been more attentive and all with a live duo providing a sound track to our evening.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahrutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“love!y indian tapas, excellent wine, great value”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Recently under new ownership,Corks is now a great place to relax and enjoy some excellent wine and really tasty Indian tapas as well as the friendly welcome of Harpreet and his team. There is live music most weekends (check the posters in the windows for more on who is playing when).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great original concept”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

An excellent evening of music, wine and the most superb Indian Tapas. A very friendly spot where the owner cooks the tapas whilst you are enjoying a lovely glass of wine and listening to some great local talent. Very good value and very original.
We shall visit again and regularly
Joe & Jackie

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This place is buzzing !”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Chanced on this place when fleeing from loud music in other pubs, this was a fantastic way to spend a Saturday evening; live music created great atmosphere, good choice of wines, beers & spirits, efficient service and the most delicious authentic Indian tapas cooked to order & great value. A perfect venue to lift your spirits & enjoy ambience, join in the dancing in the street or just enjoy the music.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Corks Wine Bar also viewed

 
Ickleford, Hitchin
Hitchin, Hertfordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing