We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Birthday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Redcoats Farmhouse Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Redcoats Farmhouse Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hitchin
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family Birthday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

From the time we arrived we felt most welcome.All our rooms were delightful.The food was absolutely delicious and plenty of it.We had a dog in our party and he was welcomed.We will return in the future as we really enjoyed the whole weekend.Well done to all the owners ,managers and staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    60
    26
    13
    5
See reviews for
54
77
7
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
norfolk
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We booked a night and meal at Redcoats on Friday 20th December, travelling from Norfolk to have an evening with family. Our reason for choosing Redcoats was that they allow dogs in the guest accommodation and bar area.

Both our family and we thoroughly enjoyed our meals in the restaurant which was served efficiently and friendly, albeit young staff.

We were then delighted to be able to bring our two welsh springers into the bar area for a nightcap.

The bedroom was adequately equipped with nice bedding which allowed a very comfortable bed.

Breakfast was also very nice, served in the conservatory ( as was dinner).

Only downside was the weather, which prevented us taking a better tour of the gardens.

Will definitely return when we next need to stay in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flyandcharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

I have been staying at Redcoats since 1980. There is always a feeling of peace and tranquility which means the owners and their staff work very hard to ensure this aura is not broken.
The rooms have just been refurbished and look very smart indeed. The beds are very comfortable. The Redcoats Farmhouse English breakfast is of excellent quality and is so substantial that it keeps you going until dinner. The gardens are a delight to sit in (when our English weather permits). Redcoats has a very good selection of wines and spirits and even a few nice Havanas.
Would I stay again - certainly.
Would I recommend to others - have been doing so for the last 30 years.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pelham-Martyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
74 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

I've thought longer than usual about what to say in this review - and indeed what rating to give - as this hotel is one that both pleased and aggravated me in almost equal measure. The General Manager, who I assume is a member of the family who own the property, is charm and helpfulness personified. He clearly wants to run a good if not excellent establishment. In his favour he has a wonderful, historic building that whilst a little faded in parts is atmospheric and welcoming. Sitting by the open fire with a glass of wine was the definition of relaxing. My bedroom was comfortable - and once the small problem of it being almost arctic in temperature was solved was welcoming as well. I shudder though when I recall the limp, slightly tacky plastic shower curtain, the loud and quite frankly downright incompetent waiting staff - one in particular has a voice like a foghorn. The food is good - but the kitchen is let down by historically bad service. This hotel has the potential to be so much more than it currently is and I cannot help but think that the GM could go some way to achieving all he wants if he started with new staff.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben G, General Manager at Redcoats Farmhouse Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Sequinedshoes,

Thank you for your feedback. Whilst I am pleased so many aspects of your stay were good, I certainly take on board your comments about the not so good.

I am sorry about the shower curtain. As we refit our rooms we are replacing any remaining shower curtains with screens - the room you stayed in is planned to be refitted this year (however is still a firm favourite with many of our regular guests).

I am sorry that you found our restaurant team lacking. We do our best to combine efficient service with a friendly and less formal style - actively avoiding the starchy formality found in some restaurants. We are constantly working with our staff to improve their polish and finesse however I cannot identify any specific issues relating to your stay. If you wish to provide me with further details to help me address the issues you encountered I would be grateful if you could contact me directly.

Best wishes,
Ben Gainsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgware, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

What a lovely Hotel ! great views of the country side and very friendly and helpful staff. Our room was very clean and comfortable and so relaxing! The food and service was amazing and the value was worth every penny. My partner and I will recommend our friends to visit and also come again ourselves! A weekend to remember :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZoePaige1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wealdstone
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

The service and food was excellent the attention to detail was ggod. Everyone enjoyed the meal and the there a good choice on the menu even the the teenagers enjoyed it

We also styed the nigth after the dinner the room was great it was very peaceful and clean. The facilties in the room were excellent even a cofee maker in the

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil642013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Regretfully we only spent 1night and due to a pre booked meal elsewhere we did not have the opportunity of sampling an evening meal. We did however have a night cap or two in the bar when we returned. As far as the room was concerned (Room 16 in the courtyard) it was first class. Recently re-modernised to a very high standard it was certainly one the best we have stayed at. As we had our dog with us, the staff very kindly laid up a table in the bar so he could join us for breakfast. I went for the full English and every element was top class. We will be back and cannot wait to explore the gardens.I have to mention the owner who was most hospitable, even offering to drive us to the local pub where we were dining, as the direct road was closed due to works meaning a long detour.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Briand43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hitchin
0.1 mi away
Needham House Hotel
Needham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Wymondley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
3.8 mi away
Offley Place Country House
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Hitchin Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hitchin Priory
Hitchin Priory
#8 of 8 in Hitchin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Mercure Letchworth Hall
#1 of 3 in Letchworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
11.0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redcoats Farmhouse Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcoats Farmhouse Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Redcoats Farmhouse Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Redcoats Green, Hitchin SG4 7JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hitchin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hitchin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Redcoats Farmhouse Hotel & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redcoats Farmhouse is a magnificent building, parts of which date back to 1480, with delightful gardens set in rolling Hertfordshire countryside. Our restaurant has been awarded an AA rosette for 8-year running. All of our rooms feature:- Freeview televisions & DVD players (with DVDs available to borrow)- Hot chocolate, tea and freshly ground coffee making facilities- ‘The White Company’ bath and body products- Bath robes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Redcoats Farmhouse Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcoats Farmhouse Hotel And Restaurant
Redcoats Farmhouse Hotel & Restaurant Hitchin, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing