We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Redcoats Farmhouse Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hitchin
Certificate of Excellence
new mills
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quirky”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed two nights in room 3 with my partner. The room was spacious, and I slept on one of the comfiest beds I have ever rested my head on, AAAAAAHHHHHH. Décor was in keeping with the age of the place, but some of it a little worn and tired looking, valance on the bed was faded and the shower was abysmal, very hit and miss, or should I say hot, cold then scolding!! Needs to be replaced, not fit for purpose. That said, the bathroom was nice and clean. The ceiling in the bedroom had great big cobwebs in places, they had obviously been there a while, head housekeeper should perhaps look up when doing checks.

We ate in the restaurant on the first night, I was served the most DELICIOUS steak &kidney pudding ever to pass my lips, it was DEVINE, hats off to the Chef!! Whilst eating we did notice that the chandelier above our heads was interwoven with a mass of cobwebs, we laughed and suggested to each other at the same time, "House keeper should look up!"

All staff were polite and accommodating. Public areas were very homely, big comfy sofas and roaring fires. Overall our stay was pleasant enough, just slightly tainted by the afore mentioned.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank derek coxall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    60
    27
    13
    5
See reviews for
56
77
8
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Myself and my partner have stayed here on three or four occasions over the last few years. We have occupied both the stable rooms and the main house. Our last visit was last week when we decided to have an impromptu dinner and overnight stay. I booked via their web site which was trouble free and selected the dinner, bed and breakfast option up front as its cheaper than deciding when you are there. We stayed in room 3 which is in the main house and is full of beams, creaky uneven floors, large bed and en-suite and a small window overlooking the rear barn. We booked in about 4.30 and then lounged by the open fire with a few drinks before getting ready for dinner which was in the large conservatory. The meal was excellent. When we were there only a few other guests were dinning too so very cosy.
The next morning breakfast was taken in the conservatory again and was good and plentiful.
In total including drinks, wine with our evening meal and breakfast the whole stay was about £200 which we thought was reasonable for the whole experience.
My only preference having stayed in the main house and the stable would be to stay in the stables next time as the beds are more comfortable and the rooms brighter (personal preference that's all) Although because it is obviously an old house and you have to accept not everything fits well there is a large gap under the door of room 3 which lets the landing (which is left on) light through but all I did was place a few cushions across it. Solved!

Room Tip: Personal preference but I'd stay in one of the rooms away from the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bart1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We are regular visitors to Redcoats as a restaurant, as it is or favourite restaurant, however we do not stay over very often as we live nearby. Due to another guest staying longer than expected, there were compromises requested regarding out room, and we stayed in a little cottage just down the road from restaurant. It was absolutely delightful, and although it meant we couldn't just fall up the stairs into bed, it wasn't an issue at all. However the staff were absolutely amazing about it, chauffeuring us from the cottage to the restaurant when we were ready, and dropping us back at 2.30am, and even compensating us for the inconvenience, which was not necessary at all. Needless to say the meal was delicious with seasonal game available (the Pheasant was delicious!!) and the service and atmosphere was just perfect. Breakfast this morning was just what was need after maybe one drink too much last night. I can think of no restaurant / hotel that I could recommend more strongly than Redcoats Farmhouse (not to be confused with the Hermit of Redcoats) which is why we are regulars. Last night though, they elevated themselves to a whole new level of care. You will also not get a better 'Bloody Mary' anywhere, and I can state that with some confidence. Lovely place and just wonderful attentive and friendly people.

Room Tip: If your budget can extend to it, stay in the main house, or in the Summer see if you can stay in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardDixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for the second time on business and was very happy with the experience. My luggage was carried to my spacious room and the room was well equipped. Good quality toiletries in the bathroom. For some unknown reason the BBC channels did not work on the television, but that was the only problem I experienced. The food is the restaurant was up to its usual high standard.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnDaniell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

From the time we arrived we felt most welcome.All our rooms were delightful.The food was absolutely delicious and plenty of it.We had a dog in our party and he was welcomed.We will return in the future as we really enjoyed the whole weekend.Well done to all the owners ,managers and staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We booked a night and meal at Redcoats on Friday 20th December, travelling from Norfolk to have an evening with family. Our reason for choosing Redcoats was that they allow dogs in the guest accommodation and bar area.

Both our family and we thoroughly enjoyed our meals in the restaurant which was served efficiently and friendly, albeit young staff.

We were then delighted to be able to bring our two welsh springers into the bar area for a nightcap.

The bedroom was adequately equipped with nice bedding which allowed a very comfortable bed.

Breakfast was also very nice, served in the conservatory ( as was dinner).

Only downside was the weather, which prevented us taking a better tour of the gardens.

Will definitely return when we next need to stay in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyandcharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

I have been staying at Redcoats since 1980. There is always a feeling of peace and tranquility which means the owners and their staff work very hard to ensure this aura is not broken.
The rooms have just been refurbished and look very smart indeed. The beds are very comfortable. The Redcoats Farmhouse English breakfast is of excellent quality and is so substantial that it keeps you going until dinner. The gardens are a delight to sit in (when our English weather permits). Redcoats has a very good selection of wines and spirits and even a few nice Havanas.
Would I stay again - certainly.
Would I recommend to others - have been doing so for the last 30 years.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pelham-Martyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hitchin
0.1 mi away
Needham House Hotel
Needham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Wymondley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Hitchin Town Centre Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hitchin Priory
Hitchin Priory
#8 of 8 in Hitchin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Offley Place Country House
2.7 mi away
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Mercure Letchworth Hall
#1 of 3 in Letchworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redcoats Farmhouse Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcoats Farmhouse Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Redcoats Farmhouse Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Redcoats Green, Hitchin SG4 7JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hitchin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hitchin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Redcoats Farmhouse Hotel & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redcoats Farmhouse is a magnificent building, parts of which date back to 1480, with delightful gardens set in rolling Hertfordshire countryside. Our restaurant has been awarded an AA rosette for 8-year running. All of our rooms feature:- Freeview televisions & DVD players (with DVDs available to borrow)- Hot chocolate, tea and freshly ground coffee making facilities- ‘The White Company’ bath and body products- Bath robes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Redcoats Farmhouse Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcoats Farmhouse Hotel And Restaurant
Redcoats Farmhouse Hotel & Restaurant Hitchin, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing