We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply superb.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Farmhouse at Redcoats
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hitchin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

If you're after a super modern hotel experience, you're going to be disappointed. If, however, you are after great service, really very good food and the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in, then you will love this place. My wife took me to Redcoates for a birthday night away, and it was simply lovely.

This is very definitely a family home that has been proudly turned into a hotel. From sitting next to the open fire, through to the service, it shines through that the owners want to make sure you're happy and comfortable. The food is excellent, and the little touches like brilliantly crisp cotton bed linen, rather nice toiletries and a small decanter of sherry for a pre dinner drink just take the whole experience to the next level.

Loved the place, and look forward to returning for more restful nights, to be gently woken by the sound of geese gently murmuring a few fields away...because that's about all you will hear. Amazingly quiet and peaceful. Batteries recharged!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed two nights in room 3 with my partner. The room was spacious, and I slept on one of the comfiest beds I have ever rested my head on, AAAAAAHHHHHH. Décor was in keeping with the age of the place, but some of it a little worn and tired looking, valance on the bed was faded and the shower was abysmal, very hit and miss, or should I say hot, cold then scolding!! Needs to be replaced, not fit for purpose. That said, the bathroom was nice and clean. The ceiling in the bedroom had great big cobwebs in places, they had obviously been there a while, head housekeeper should perhaps look up when doing checks.

We ate in the restaurant on the first night, I was served the most DELICIOUS steak &kidney pudding ever to pass my lips, it was DEVINE, hats off to the Chef!! Whilst eating we did notice that the chandelier above our heads was interwoven with a mass of cobwebs, we laughed and suggested to each other at the same time, "House keeper should look up!"

All staff were polite and accommodating. Public areas were very homely, big comfy sofas and roaring fires. Overall our stay was pleasant enough, just slightly tainted by the afore mentioned.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank derek coxall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Myself and my partner have stayed here on three or four occasions over the last few years. We have occupied both the stable rooms and the main house. Our last visit was last week when we decided to have an impromptu dinner and overnight stay. I booked via their web site which was trouble free and selected the dinner, bed and breakfast option up front as its cheaper than deciding when you are there. We stayed in room 3 which is in the main house and is full of beams, creaky uneven floors, large bed and en-suite and a small window overlooking the rear barn. We booked in about 4.30 and then lounged by the open fire with a few drinks before getting ready for dinner which was in the large conservatory. The meal was excellent. When we were there only a few other guests were dinning too so very cosy.
The next morning breakfast was taken in the conservatory again and was good and plentiful.
In total including drinks, wine with our evening meal and breakfast the whole stay was about £200 which we thought was reasonable for the whole experience.
My only preference having stayed in the main house and the stable would be to stay in the stables next time as the beds are more comfortable and the rooms brighter (personal preference that's all) Although because it is obviously an old house and you have to accept not everything fits well there is a large gap under the door of room 3 which lets the landing (which is left on) light through but all I did was place a few cushions across it. Solved!

Room Tip: Personal preference but I'd stay in one of the rooms away from the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bart1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We are regular visitors to Redcoats as a restaurant, as it is or favourite restaurant, however we do not stay over very often as we live nearby. Due to another guest staying longer than expected, there were compromises requested regarding out room, and we stayed in a little cottage just down the road from restaurant. It was absolutely delightful, and although it meant we couldn't just fall up the stairs into bed, it wasn't an issue at all. However the staff were absolutely amazing about it, chauffeuring us from the cottage to the restaurant when we were ready, and dropping us back at 2.30am, and even compensating us for the inconvenience, which was not necessary at all. Needless to say the meal was delicious with seasonal game available (the Pheasant was delicious!!) and the service and atmosphere was just perfect. Breakfast this morning was just what was need after maybe one drink too much last night. I can think of no restaurant / hotel that I could recommend more strongly than Redcoats Farmhouse (not to be confused with the Hermit of Redcoats) which is why we are regulars. Last night though, they elevated themselves to a whole new level of care. You will also not get a better 'Bloody Mary' anywhere, and I can state that with some confidence. Lovely place and just wonderful attentive and friendly people.

Room Tip: If your budget can extend to it, stay in the main house, or in the Summer see if you can stay in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichardDixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel for the second time on business and was very happy with the experience. My luggage was carried to my spacious room and the room was well equipped. Good quality toiletries in the bathroom. For some unknown reason the BBC channels did not work on the television, but that was the only problem I experienced. The food is the restaurant was up to its usual high standard.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

From the time we arrived we felt most welcome.All our rooms were delightful.The food was absolutely delicious and plenty of it.We had a dog in our party and he was welcomed.We will return in the future as we really enjoyed the whole weekend.Well done to all the owners ,managers and staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elaine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We booked a night and meal at Redcoats on Friday 20th December, travelling from Norfolk to have an evening with family. Our reason for choosing Redcoats was that they allow dogs in the guest accommodation and bar area.

Both our family and we thoroughly enjoyed our meals in the restaurant which was served efficiently and friendly, albeit young staff.

We were then delighted to be able to bring our two welsh springers into the bar area for a nightcap.

The bedroom was adequately equipped with nice bedding which allowed a very comfortable bed.

Breakfast was also very nice, served in the conservatory ( as was dinner).

Only downside was the weather, which prevented us taking a better tour of the gardens.

Will definitely return when we next need to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyandcharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hitchin
0.1 mi away
Needham House Hotel
Needham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Wymondley
364 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hitchin Priory
Hitchin Priory
#8 of 8 in Hitchin
447 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Mercure Letchworth Hall
#1 of 3 in Letchworth
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Offley Place Country House
2.1 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hitchin
386 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Hitchin Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farmhouse at Redcoats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farmhouse at Redcoats

Address: Redcoats Green, Hitchin SG4 7JR, England (Formerly Redcoats Farmhouse Hotel & Restaurant)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hitchin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hitchin
Price Range: £68 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Farmhouse at Redcoats 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Farmhouse at Redcoats is a magnificent building, parts of which date back to 1480, with delightful gardens set in rolling Hertfordshire countryside and belongs to a local award-winning hospitality group (Anglian Country Inns). Our kitchen aims to deliver an artisan menu focusing on local, seasonal fresh produce and ‘farm to fork’ dining and our restaurant will provide you with a high quality dining experience in a casual environment. All of our rooms are en-suite and feature free WiFi, TV and tea & coffee tray. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Farmhouse at Redcoats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcoats Farmhouse Hotel And Restaurant
The Farmhouse At Redcoats Hitchin, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing