We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but Noisy”
Review of The Sun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sun Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hitchin
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Stayed for two nights at a weekend whilst visiting friends. Room was small but comfortable. Breakfast was ok but tables and chairs etc looking a little bit tired and need renewing. The big minus point was the noise from the street as there is a nightclub next door which kept us awake till four in the morning. It was so bad my wife purchased ear plugs for the next night as it was not helped by an ill fitting window. The evidence of the nights activities was evident with the blood trail through the court yard the next morning. Overall the Hotel was ok and in a good location but I think we will be using elsewhere in the future due to the noise issue and other places offering better value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JT162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your comfortable room and breakfast, we are sorry that noise disturbed your nights sleep , one of our neighbours was holding a party, we have complained.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
There are newer reviews for The Sun Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2012

This was a good hotel, rooms, service, food and value. But the use of inhouse function rooms and the noise from the street outside was exessive. Would use this hotel again but would bring ear plugs.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geranimo138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Thank you for your feed back on your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We value all your comments, and take them on board to offer the best service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We stayed last weekend with some friends. We had a nice weekend despite it being the coldest for ages. The hotel was fine - very old with lots of narrow corridors and beams. We had booked 2 rooms quite a while since and thought it funny as they were both booked together that we weren't anywhere near each other.We needed a built in Sat Nav to try and find each other the first night!
I have decided after staying at a number of Old English inns that next time I am going to ask for a room with a bath as we usually go away with the same friends and they always get a bath and we just get a shower.
With the weather as it was last weekend I longed for a hot soak to warm up and instead got a hot shower which when you opened the cubicle door to get in soaked the floor as it went over the bi fold door.
The room was ok - not a bad size and usual comfy bed etc.
We ate in the first night and that was good.Saturday we went to London on the train and thats when the snow started.We got a taxi back from the station and booked in at the Strada(opposite the Sun) when we got back as we didn't fancy venturing any further.
Sunday we went for a walk after checking out at 11am and then set off for home.
Found the reception staff not particularly friendly and didn't even ask if we'd had a good weekend or enjoyed our stay or even a safe journey home.Its the little things that matter!!!Aside from that no complaints.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madmol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We do value all feedback and work hard to maintain good service to all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We recently used this hotel on the 29th of January, after a drive down from Scotland we were warmly welcomed at reception, settled into our freshly re-vamped room. We enjoyed our meal and drinks in the bar which were very reasonably priced. Free WiFi was also used. The breakfast was excellent also. A great character hotel at a good price.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2012

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, we always appreciate all your feedback at Old English Inns and constantly work hard to deliver service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Inns soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I used this hotel on behalf of my employer for a two day meeting. The staff were exceptionally polite, friendly and helpful. The meeting room one the ground floor at the back of the restaurant was excellent and comfortable, and the catering superb. A special offer for meetings held in January and February made this booking extremely good value for money. Whilst not as grand as some of the other venues for meetings in the Hitchin area, the town centre location makes it ideal.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonnenetball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Lovely old building but car parking limited and poor night's sleep due to noise from late night (Saturday) revelers using the courtyard as a cut through to public car park. Noise went on until after 3 am.
Breakfast was understaffed and a long wait but delicious when it arrived!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests. We look forward to welcoming to back to one of our Inns very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

A lovely old, rabbit warren of a coaching inn in the centre of town.
A great breakfast with toasted real bread -yum!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandJPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2011

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hitchin
0.1 mi away
Hitchin Priory
Hitchin Priory
#8 of 8 in Hitchin
431 reviews
0.6 mi away
Firs Hotel
Firs Hotel
#5 of 8 in Hitchin
184 reviews
2.0 mi away
Needham House Hotel
Needham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Wymondley
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lord Lister Hotel
Lord Lister Hotel
#7 of 8 in Hitchin
86 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Mercure Letchworth Hall
#1 of 3 in Letchworth
1,301 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Farmhouse at Redcoats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sun Hotel

Address: Sun Street, Hitchin SG5 1AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hitchin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hitchin
Price Range: £52 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Hotel Hitchin
The Sun Hotel Hitchin, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing