We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cromwell Bar Wedding Hire”
Review of The Sun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sun Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hitchin
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My son and daughter-in-law hired Cromwell Bar for their wedding. Staff were very helpful and cheery. Rooms we booked good value for money. Buffet we ordered very nice but needed a bit more quantity. However it was a marvellous day to treasure.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments on the venue and the team here. We're so glad you and your families enjoyed a special day with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel could be so much better if the management made some more effort. Initial impressions are not good when there is no one on reception and one has to ask the bar staff to provide check-in facilities. The room was acceptable with comfortable bed, clean bathroom and powerful shower. However, towels are not replaced, simply folded and put back on the rack. Breakfast is copious if uninspiring. The major drawback is the noise from the street and hotel courtyard as late night revellers stumble homewards in the early hours. It's impossible to get a good night's sleep at weekends. But the management seems to be prepared to put up with this rather than do anything about it.

Room Tip: Take earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank detoxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback for us. I'm sorry you were disappointed with your stay, especially on being disturbed during the night. As we are a town centre Hotel we do suffer from late night noise especially at the weekend. We are very conscious of the affect on our guests and are taking steps to address it. Once again, apologies for your disturbed night

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed one Saturday night for a family function. The room was quite small but adequate and the en suite looked as if it had just been refurbished and was fine. We had a meal of fish and chips early in the evening which, for under £10 for 2, was remarkably good. Unfortunately, as other reviewers have noted, the noise from the street was excessive with loud cars revving their engines and the general noise of revellers well into the small hours (must be getting old!). Noise level was not helped with a rattley window - which actually we could have remedied and then to cap it all the road sweeper at around 7am on a Sunday morning going both up and then back down the road, sounded as if it was coming in the room! Not much the hotel can do about these problems, but take heed and try to avoid the rooms over the road.
Overall a good value, quirky but noisy hotel in the centre of town.

Room Tip: Avoid room 12 and those overlooking the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timothyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay, thank you for the lovely comments regarding the team and food. We do have noise issues at the weekend with rooms at the front for which we apologise, but we'll certainly address the rattling window which didn't help!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is is a great location close to everything you could need.

Yes it is noisy at night (probably worse at the weekend) but that is probably due to the close proximity to the pubs & clubs!

It is an old building full of character and granted there are elements which are in need of DIY but if you appreciate the age and the history if the building, you can live with it!

The breakfast was plentiful with good variety and the staff helpful at all times.

The room I stayed in was massive and had everything I needed & for £65 for 3 people with breakfast it was certainly value for money.

I do plan to return!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finallylanky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and thank you for the lovely comments regarding the team and hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I love The Sun Hotel. yes Green King - your rooms need refurbishing....and your hotel is understaffed... but the atmosphere is fantastic ...breakfast is yummy ...the staff are loyal troupers. great value for money and good food ...The Sun Hotel is the heart of Hitchin....come on Green King - put something back.

Room Tip: each room is different
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for us. We're so glad you enjoy your visits to us and appreciate your lovely comments regarding the team here.We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel let down by poor maintenance. Numerous problems in the en suite - worst was the fan did not work and there was a damp sewagey smell when we arrived. There were not enough hangers - 4 for 2 people. Extremely noisy until after midnight on Saturday night with people shouting and singing right outside the bedroom windows.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit. We apologise you were kept awake due to external noise and will address the issues you raised with maintenance in the bathroom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely town clean friendly hotel and breakfast was 1st class! Took it to my room to spoil my lady and she loved it too. Great stay and great mini break well done the sun
Wedding was taking place but we were warned on booking and although it was loud we expected it and when you need to sleep you will we say.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank HertfordshireTewin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay with us, we hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hitchin hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Hitchin Town Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hitchin Priory
Hitchin Priory
#8 of 8 in Hitchin
459 reviews
0.7 mi away
Firs Hotel
Firs Hotel
#5 of 8 in Hitchin
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Needham House Hotel
Needham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Wymondley
381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lord Lister Hotel
Lord Lister Hotel
#7 of 8 in Hitchin
87 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Farmhouse at Redcoats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sun Hotel

Address: Sun Street, Hitchin SG5 1AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hitchin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hitchin
Price Range: £65 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Hotel Hitchin
The Sun Hotel Hitchin, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing