We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodating and Helpful Hotel”
Review of Lord Lister Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lord Lister Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Hitchin
Callander, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Accommodating and Helpful Hotel”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

On arrival my suitcase was carried upstairs for me. My specific dietary requirements were no problem and they were able to provide breakfast at 6.45 earlier than advertised. The room was well equipped and clean although the bath and bath towels were very small. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    30
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
9
30
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We "upgraded " to an executive room in the hope that this would mean a larger than double bed, unfortunately it didn't . The hotel is old, but clean and quirky, the small bar is cosy and there is a pleasant outside area for warm days. Breakfast was ok, they don't serve dinner but are happy to accommodate guests who wish to order takeaway and eat in their dinning room. Our room was pleasant, although if we had stayed more than one night we would have asked for another room as the bed was very hard and the nicely decorated bathroom did not have a shower curtain on the bath. For the price a good value stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smiler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

This was my third business trip to the area and the best hotel I stayed in. The Lord Lister is not a grand establishment and the charges are modest compared to the other places I looked at but actually it's a very well-run and comfortable hotel. To begin with, the bedroom was immaculate including the carpet and the window sills. The bed was very good and everything worked. It was really helpful that the wi-fi was free of charge (so many places advertise free wi-fi but actually you have to sit in the lounge to get it for free) and the TV had loads of working channels. Breakfast was excellent; freshly cooked hot food and a basket of fruit every day. They don't do evening meal but they offer a range of discounts on local restaurants and I ate at several during the course of the week. Altogether, a well-run and comfortable hotel and one I'd definitely return to.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Executive as the rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed for one night as we were attending a charity event in Hitchin town centre. The hotel was ideally located. The owners were friendly and welcoming and did a great breakfast.
The room was cosy and had everything that we required.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pykey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed for one night in August 2012. The book-in was reltively quick and was completed politely. Our twin room was adequate in size, clean and relatively quiet (the main road was outside.)
The breakfast was excellent and the staff we dealt with polite. Good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alangray21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed one night for a family wedding in Hitchin and we felt right at home. The location was great, the rooms were very clean and spacious. The family who runs the hotel are very friendly and helpful.
The layout of the hotel is very interesting and cozy. The full English breakfast amazing and the little snacks in the room were a big hit. The only thing I feel was missing was a kleenex box in the room and one thing needed to be removed was the BIG grandfather chair that was blocking the closet.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valleyforgegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Charming friendly family run hotel near centre of Hitchin. We stayed in a delightful recently refurbished room with excellent decor and facilities. Would always stay here when visiting Hitchin and recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hitchin
1.9 mi away
Needham House Hotel
Needham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Wymondley
310 reviews
0.7 mi away
Firs Hotel
Firs Hotel
#5 of 8 in Hitchin
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hitchin
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hitchin Priory
Hitchin Priory
#8 of 8 in Hitchin
410 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Farmhouse at Redcoats
2.4 mi away
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Mercure Letchworth Hall
#1 of 3 in Letchworth
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Lister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Lister Hotel

Property: Lord Lister Hotel
Address: 1 Park Street, Hitchin SG4 9AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hitchin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Hitchin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lord Lister Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lord Lister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Lister Hotel Hitchin, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing