We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what was needed”
Review of Lord Lister Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lord Lister Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Hitchin
Reviewed 19 September 2013

An interesting, well run hotel with excellent attention given to detail, and staff available at all times ready to help. Every effort was made to accommodate our needs. Though public rooms were small they were comfortable and attractive. The family room we had was a good size with a full bathroom (plus shower) with opening window in both rooms; it was bright and spotlessly clean. Dietary needs were well catered for at Breakfast, and the discount deal with the local Chinese restaurant came in handy!! Value for money all round.

Room Tip: family rooms are at the back of the hotel, further away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiddleCEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed at this hotel recently and have to say it was very poor. From the outside the kerb appeal was poor and from opening the front door it got worse. The hotel was dark and decorated in a very old fashioned style. We had to climb stairs, up and down round corners until we found our top floor room. This had beautifully clean bed linen and the bathroom was spotlessly clean but again the decor, fascination with pine and dusty areas along side the dated furnishings made our room feel small and dark. In the middle of the night our son woke up and had a long sneezing fit which he blamed on his new dust friends.
Breakfast was really poor, shoe-horned into the small dining room breakfast was served with military precision. Cereal was barely eaten when my plate disappeared to be replaced with my full english which was a greasy spoon special, absolutely awful. Tea was stewed but the toast was ok. Perhaps the staff wanted to get finished but it was the fastest breakfast anyone has served for me in a long time.
All in all like staying in a 60's B & B, I expecting Alex Polizzi to appear and start filming an episode of the Hotel Inspector as the Lord Lidster could benefit from her magic

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 67Toon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

There is nothing special about the Lord Lister Hotel, despite the hype that it was once the location of Sir Joseph Lister's school for four years.

Our reception was rather strange; the elderly couple checking in just before us were told that there was no need to pay until they left, but we were told that we must pay the bill there and then. Most hotels charge on checking out, so we were a bit puzzled by this.

Our room was in an annexe to the hotel, just across the coaching entrance. We needed to be very careful when leaving the annexe, as it gave directly onto the "road" where, in the morning, we were almost run over by some other guests in their sports car, going far too fast! Some kind of safety warning should be displayed for guests.

The room was reasonably spacious and the bed was comfortable.

Breakfast was adequate, but nothing special.

There is a small bar in the hotel that looked very quaint - not sure when it opened, or if it served anything out of the ordinary. The "sitting room" at the front looked pretty, with lots of soft furnishings and interesting pictures. There's also a small pretty courtyard garden to the rear where you can sit out.

The hotel isn't in the centre of the town, but is only 5 minutes from the main market square. It's on a main road, and so has normal levels of traffic, but doesn't suffer the same levels of nightly noise from pedestrians that a more central hotel would, which is a bonus.

Next door is an excellent pub called the Half Moon, which serves a wide range of Real Ales which were great. In fact, if you're going to Hitchin to take part in an event at the Half Moon (beer festival, food night, brewery trip, games night, etc) then the Lister is the ideal place to stay!

Overall though, this hotel didn't stand out; you can get similar accommodation and similar food at nearby hotels and pay roughly half the price.

Room Tip: Annexe dwellers: beware of traffic as you come out of the building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tisharu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

We booked for a one night mid-week stay. Our room was in the annex and it looked fresh and spotlessly clean. The main part of the hotel is an old building full of character, the hotel does not do evening meals but has discount deals with various restaurants withi a five minute walk, we got 20% off the food at an excellent Italian.

In the evening the owner served drinks from a small bar and then chatted with us in the lounge. Breakfast was excellent. Good value, would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BogratNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

The Lord Lister in Hitchin is just plan nice. The owners are fantastic and you get a lot of little extras in your room. It is an old English Inn but feels like home. If you think the Ritz is great it might not be for you. It has much more character. Breakfast made specifically for you by the owners. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: There is no lift so something lower in the hotel is smart.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I stayed here for a birthday party in town, this is a family run hotel where the staff are very friendly and go out of their way to be helpful ordering cabs etc.

The room was an executive ground floor double in the rear annex it was spacious and clean and I could find no fault with it . The bar area is small but the lounge is cosy and as most that stay are likely to visit the town and not spend too much time there not a problem, on production of your room key you can get a discount in some local restaurants. Breakfast was really good with a selection of hot/cold options , even had Marmite on the table. Wifi is free and ample parking in the car park or on road opposite after 6.30pm

I can't really fault it, the only minor point is that the celling to my room was not sound proofed and I could hear the conversation/coughing/footsteps of the couple above me into the early hours , but as I always travel with ear plugs soon sorted.

I would choose this hotel again if in Hitchin

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7Mike7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Cozy room - a bit small but very charming. All the staff were friendly and helpful.The young lady at the front desk went out of her way to help us make a dinner reservation for Valentine's Day. Plus they helped us get the bags out of the room and down the stairs. I don't especially like the separate hot and cold taps in the bathroom, but it's not uncommon in the area. The breakfast was much better than what you get in the chain hotels. My only complaint is that I contacted them via email regarding a sweater that was left in the room and I did not receive a reply.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hitchin
0.1 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hitchin
398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hitchin Priory
Hitchin Priory
#8 of 8 in Hitchin
460 reviews
0.8 mi away
Firs Hotel
Firs Hotel
#5 of 8 in Hitchin
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Needham House Hotel
Needham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Wymondley
382 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Farmhouse at Redcoats
2.3 mi away
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Mercure Letchworth Hall
#1 of 3 in Letchworth
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Lister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Lister Hotel

Address: 1 Park Street, Hitchin SG4 9AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hitchin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Hitchin
Price Range: £69 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lord Lister Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Lord Lister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Lister Hotel Hitchin, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing