We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable well run quaint hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lord Lister Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lord Lister Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Hitchin
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
358 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Comfortable well run quaint hotel”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Recommended by a friend. Good price for standard double room. Building itself is a quaint old converted building that has kept it's feel. The rooms are off a myriad of corridors and stairs. Decor was good, clean if a little tired in places. Although we didn't use them the lounge area and bar looked comfortable and welcoming. All staff were friendly and helpful. We felt we could ask for anything and help would be given. Room was good size well equipped and had all the little niceities you expect in a room of a top hotel: not just kettle etc but biscuits, bottled water, quality shower gel, cotton buds, etc etc. Our room overlooked the main road so traffic noise was a small issue. Breakfast was excellent. Good choice of buffet, cereals and fruit. Though no pastries. Cooked breakfast was fresh and well cooked. This would be a good place for business travellers or base to explore the area. Hitchin high street is well worth a look too. Traditional market town with mix of bijou shops and the usual high street ones.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve6244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    30
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
8
29
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2013

An interesting, well run hotel with excellent attention given to detail, and staff available at all times ready to help. Every effort was made to accommodate our needs. Though public rooms were small they were comfortable and attractive. The family room we had was a good size with a full bathroom (plus shower) with opening window in both rooms; it was bright and spotlessly clean. Dietary needs were well catered for at Breakfast, and the discount deal with the local Chinese restaurant came in handy!! Value for money all round.

Room Tip: family rooms are at the back of the hotel, further away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiddleCEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed at this hotel recently and have to say it was very poor. From the outside the kerb appeal was poor and from opening the front door it got worse. The hotel was dark and decorated in a very old fashioned style. We had to climb stairs, up and down round corners until we found our top floor room. This had beautifully clean bed linen and the bathroom was spotlessly clean but again the decor, fascination with pine and dusty areas along side the dated furnishings made our room feel small and dark. In the middle of the night our son woke up and had a long sneezing fit which he blamed on his new dust friends.
Breakfast was really poor, shoe-horned into the small dining room breakfast was served with military precision. Cereal was barely eaten when my plate disappeared to be replaced with my full english which was a greasy spoon special, absolutely awful. Tea was stewed but the toast was ok. Perhaps the staff wanted to get finished but it was the fastest breakfast anyone has served for me in a long time.
All in all like staying in a 60's B & B, I expecting Alex Polizzi to appear and start filming an episode of the Hotel Inspector as the Lord Lidster could benefit from her magic

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 67Toon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

There is nothing special about the Lord Lister Hotel, despite the hype that it was once the location of Sir Joseph Lister's school for four years.

Our reception was rather strange; the elderly couple checking in just before us were told that there was no need to pay until they left, but we were told that we must pay the bill there and then. Most hotels charge on checking out, so we were a bit puzzled by this.

Our room was in an annexe to the hotel, just across the coaching entrance. We needed to be very careful when leaving the annexe, as it gave directly onto the "road" where, in the morning, we were almost run over by some other guests in their sports car, going far too fast! Some kind of safety warning should be displayed for guests.

The room was reasonably spacious and the bed was comfortable.

Breakfast was adequate, but nothing special.

There is a small bar in the hotel that looked very quaint - not sure when it opened, or if it served anything out of the ordinary. The "sitting room" at the front looked pretty, with lots of soft furnishings and interesting pictures. There's also a small pretty courtyard garden to the rear where you can sit out.

The hotel isn't in the centre of the town, but is only 5 minutes from the main market square. It's on a main road, and so has normal levels of traffic, but doesn't suffer the same levels of nightly noise from pedestrians that a more central hotel would, which is a bonus.

Next door is an excellent pub called the Half Moon, which serves a wide range of Real Ales which were great. In fact, if you're going to Hitchin to take part in an event at the Half Moon (beer festival, food night, brewery trip, games night, etc) then the Lister is the ideal place to stay!

Overall though, this hotel didn't stand out; you can get similar accommodation and similar food at nearby hotels and pay roughly half the price.

Room Tip: Annexe dwellers: beware of traffic as you come out of the building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tisharu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

We booked for a one night mid-week stay. Our room was in the annex and it looked fresh and spotlessly clean. The main part of the hotel is an old building full of character, the hotel does not do evening meals but has discount deals with various restaurants withi a five minute walk, we got 20% off the food at an excellent Italian.

In the evening the owner served drinks from a small bar and then chatted with us in the lounge. Breakfast was excellent. Good value, would definately stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BogratNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

The Lord Lister in Hitchin is just plan nice. The owners are fantastic and you get a lot of little extras in your room. It is an old English Inn but feels like home. If you think the Ritz is great it might not be for you. It has much more character. Breakfast made specifically for you by the owners. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: There is no lift so something lower in the hotel is smart.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I stayed here for a birthday party in town, this is a family run hotel where the staff are very friendly and go out of their way to be helpful ordering cabs etc.

The room was an executive ground floor double in the rear annex it was spacious and clean and I could find no fault with it . The bar area is small but the lounge is cosy and as most that stay are likely to visit the town and not spend too much time there not a problem, on production of your room key you can get a discount in some local restaurants. Breakfast was really good with a selection of hot/cold options , even had Marmite on the table. Wifi is free and ample parking in the car park or on road opposite after 6.30pm

I can't really fault it, the only minor point is that the celling to my room was not sound proofed and I could hear the conversation/coughing/footsteps of the couple above me into the early hours , but as I always travel with ear plugs soon sorted.

I would choose this hotel again if in Hitchin

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7Mike7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hitchin hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Hitchin Town Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hitchin
352 reviews
0.7 mi away
Firs Hotel
Firs Hotel
#5 of 8 in Hitchin
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hitchin Priory
Hitchin Priory
#8 of 8 in Hitchin
395 reviews
1.9 mi away
Needham House Hotel
Needham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Wymondley
262 reviews
1.9 mi away
Redcoats Farmhouse Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Lister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Lister Hotel

Property: Lord Lister Hotel
Address: 1 Park Street, Hitchin SG4 9AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hitchin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Hitchin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lord Lister Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lord Lister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Lister Hotel Hitchin, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing