We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lord Lister Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Sun Hotel(Hitchin)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Firs Hotel(Hitchin)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Needham House Hotel(Little Wymondley)
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Broadway Hotel(Letchworth)
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Letchworth Garden City Hotel(Letchworth)(Great Value!)
US$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
31
33
16
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
33
16
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstwin roomtown centrea family run hotelbiscuitsold buildingcouple of nightsexcellent breakfastquaint hotelideal locationthe hotel car parkbeautiful townon arrivalold fashionedcomfortable roomsthe pubvisiting familythe ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Nick and Josie the owners are there to help your guests with everything they can.
The place is well located a few minutes of a lot of restaurants.
It's a old building but very clean, Cozy and Warm enough for foreign people.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My husband and I visited The Lord Lister 12/04/14 to book a double room for the Easter weekend for a friend. We were told by a middle aged woman that there were no availabilities - she did not refer to a computer or a book. I felt this was untrue so called the hotel within half an hour later and I was told rooms were available for said date. Unsure why we were treated this way since Hitchin has a diverse population. Did our colour factor into this decision by this 'family run business' ? I certainly won't be recommending this hotel in a hurry. Mrs Powell

Stayed: April 2014
6  Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LordListerHotel, Owner at Lord Lister Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

I am sorry that you thought that I did not want to give you a room. But I recall that I was asked for prices of rooms for you were going to have a party,
As I was about to give you a price list the gentleman asked if we were busy, which I say Yes
at this point he said it was pointless asking for prices. You both turn round and left the building.
I never did give you the prices and you never asked for any rooms.
We were busy that weekend but were not full.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I stayed at the Lord Lister whilst working in the Hitchin area for a few months. The owners, Nick and Josie, and the other staff (Nina, Pam, Rochine) made me and my colleagues feel incredibly welcome during our stay. This small hotel is ideal if you are looking for great hospitality, a good breakfast to start the day and a clean, comfortable room to retire to at the end of the day. It is within 5 minutes walking distance from the many pubs and restaurants in the lovely market town.

I would happily recommend this to anyone staying in the Hitchin area, either for a short stay or longer.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front can be a bit noisier due to passing traffic.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NitramSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Recommended by a friend. Good price for standard double room. Building itself is a quaint old converted building that has kept it's feel. The rooms are off a myriad of corridors and stairs. Decor was good, clean if a little tired in places. Although we didn't use them the lounge area and bar looked comfortable and welcoming. All staff were friendly and helpful. We felt we could ask for anything and help would be given. Room was good size well equipped and had all the little niceities you expect in a room of a top hotel: not just kettle etc but biscuits, bottled water, quality shower gel, cotton buds, etc etc. Our room overlooked the main road so traffic noise was a small issue. Breakfast was excellent. Good choice of buffet, cereals and fruit. Though no pastries. Cooked breakfast was fresh and well cooked. This would be a good place for business travellers or base to explore the area. Hitchin high street is well worth a look too. Traditional market town with mix of bijou shops and the usual high street ones.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve6244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

An interesting, well run hotel with excellent attention given to detail, and staff available at all times ready to help. Every effort was made to accommodate our needs. Though public rooms were small they were comfortable and attractive. The family room we had was a good size with a full bathroom (plus shower) with opening window in both rooms; it was bright and spotlessly clean. Dietary needs were well catered for at Breakfast, and the discount deal with the local Chinese restaurant came in handy!! Value for money all round.

Room Tip: family rooms are at the back of the hotel, further away from the road
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiddleCEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews