We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Few expectations, big surprise”
Review of Firs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Firs Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Hitchin
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Few expectations, big surprise”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Firs hotel for a couple of days in February 2014.
We had no particular expectations but once there, we immediately noticed a particular warmth and courtesy by the owner.
The hotel is well organized, functional, very clean, just 10 minutes walking from the town centre. Rooms are well equipped, warm and spacious. We particularly appreciated the book in the room describing Hitchin and giving all the necessary infos for the stay at the hotel in the town and county. Breakfast was included in our rate and is both continental and English upon request and everything is freshly prepared. Something interesting for italian guests is that the owners have italian origins and speak our Language very well. In conclusion we really suggest a stay at the Firs hotel in Hitchin

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graziano1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firshotel, Manager at Firs Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
We are delighted that you found the hotel comfortable and the town information useful. Your kind comments and recommendation are greatly appreciated. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    76
    31
    9
    2
See reviews for
33
59
20
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Another nice stay in this hotel alway a pleasure to use this hotel stayed with my son and little grandson they had alovely double room and I was in a single room next door which must be used for a child as it had a toy story bin and blankets on the bed but that a side we are always made welcome and my little grandson age 3 loved it and his eyes lite up when he saw his breakfast in the morning which was nicely cooked so thank you you made a little boy very happy

Room Tip: The rooms at the back ground floor handy for the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firshotel, Manager at Firs Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
We are delighted that both you and your grandson enjoyed your stay with us. It's nice to know we appeal to all ages. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

There are no luxuries, but again, we were not expecting any. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. We did find a few crumbs by the bed, but otherwise it was fine. The decor is a bit tired and I am sure that if some investment is made in updating it, customers wouldn't mind paying a little more.
We had one drink at the bar before going out and we enjoyed sitting in the bar area. I was a bit worried as the hotel is on a main road, but with the windows shut, there was no noise from the street at all.
Staff were friendly and we had a good night's sleep, so no complaints at all.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViajeraConGusto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firshotel, Manager at Firs Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review, your comments are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Good clean hotel. Rooms are a little on the small size but more than adequate for myself staff are very friendly and polite. Very nice bar. I can't comment on the evening menu as I went down town for a meal but the breakfast was very nice and very quickly served. Its close enough to the town centre approx 5 mins walk away. I will certainly use it again if I'm in the area again

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank telfordtrucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firshotel, Manager at Firs Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for completing a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amble, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This is the 3rd visit to this hotel. It has clean, comfortable accommodation with a large car park to rear. My wife and I stayed in a front facing room which was a good size,having requested a bath with shower, although there was a bit of traffic noise from the main road. Breakfasts were good and catered for my vegetarian wife. It is well situated and easily found, within easy walking distance of town centre. Would certainly stay here again.
Jim H.
Amble.

Room Tip: Request a room at rear if road noise affects your sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firshotel, Manager at Firs Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
We are delighted that this was your third visit and you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel is on a main road and although we have double glazing this may be noisy for some guests. Thank you for completing a review and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton Latimer, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel was booked by my boss because it was the only one available at the time . If you have to stay here then stay it somewhere to sleep.the food was ok. This hotel needs a visit from the hotel inspector because it needs bringing up to date.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firshotel, Manager at Firs Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
It is disappointing that the hotel is not to your taste. Unfortunately it is difficult to address your comments without specific details. Thank you for completing a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This is a great little hotel. I was a bit put off by the frontage of the hotel as it's a bit tired looking, but once you get inside it's a completely different story. Yes it's not the height of contemporary design, but it's spotlessly clean and very well maintained. It generally feels very comfortable. I was really pleased with our triple room which had 3 proper beds (no sofa bed/'put you up' which you commonly find in triple rooms and which I find unsuitable for adults). The staff were really nice and friendly. The full English breakfast was lovely, decent sausages and we were very well looked after. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable stay in Hitchin.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firshotel, Manager at Firs Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
It is always encouraging to receive such wonderful comments about the hotel. We work very hard to maintain the hotel and make our guest's stay comfortable. Your comments are greatly appreciated and thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hitchin
0.6 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hitchin
365 reviews
2.6 mi away
Needham House Hotel
Needham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Wymondley
310 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hitchin Priory
Hitchin Priory
#8 of 8 in Hitchin
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Mercure Letchworth Hall
#1 of 3 in Letchworth
1,265 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Farmhouse at Redcoats
2.9 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#2 of 3 in Letchworth
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Firs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Firs Hotel

Property: Firs Hotel
Address: 83 Bedford Road, Hitchin SG5 2TY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hitchin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Hitchin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Firs Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located Hitchin hotel with a large free car park and patio area. All bedrooms are en-suite with a spacious licensed bar. Free wifi available throughout the hotel. All breakfasts are cooked to order. If you prefer the individuality of a smaller hotel, the Firs Hotel provides a friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Firs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firs Hotel Hitchin, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing