We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Weekend Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Firs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Firs Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Hitchin
Certificate of Excellence
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely Weekend Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed in the Firs Hotel on a weekend break attending a `get together` nearby. The Market Town of Hitchin is only a l0 minute walk across the park, so easily accessible. The Hotel room was clean and the beds so comfortable the bathroom although on the small side had lots of accessories and the shower was great! The breakfasts consisted of help yourself to cereal juice yogurt etc. and then choice of cooked breakfast which was excellent. Plenty of tea or coffee with hot toast - delicious. The staff were happy and courteous. A really enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livelygadabouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firshotel, Manager at Firs Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your weekend in Hitchin, it is really is a lovely town to visit. Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel we hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    73
    28
    9
    2
See reviews for
31
57
19
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

The non smoking room stank of cigarettes, all the floors creek so much sounds like a herd of elephants when anyone walks by.
Bed was Brocken in the middle, needs a complete refurb, very cheap & dated rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauladventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firshotel, Manager at Firs Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
I must apologise if your room smelt of smoke as the hotel is non smoking throughout. We were obviously unaware that there was a problem with your bed. If these issues had been mentioned at the time of your stay, we obviously have rectified them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
258 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

The hotel lies along the busy Bedford Road and is within reasonable walking distance (15 – 20 minutes) from the town centre. It’s standard is a weak three star or an excellent two star level.

There is ample parking space at the back of the hotel.

As some commentators observed the hotel could do with a little bit of refurbishment. With relatively small touches this place could give its star rankings full justice.

The rooms are spacious enough, beds comfortable, bathrooms have plenty of accessories

The hotel is not staffed the whole night so ensure you keep the key with you whenever venturing outside till the early hours.

Dining and breakfast rooms are adjacent to each other. Breakfast, typically included in the rate, is quite standard, perhaps a bit more fresh fruit could improve the overall presentation.

As often happens in family owned hotels the venue shows that personal touch and attention to service with friendly staff only too happy to assist to your needs and provide information required.

Room Tip: Best to get rooms (definitely those numbered 1 - 6 ) at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firshotel, Manager at Firs Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are particularly pleased that you appreciated the personal service we provide.

We just wanted to note that although there is none on reception late at night, there is always someone available to assist guests should the need arise.

We continue to make improvements to both the hotel and the services we provide and hope you will visit us again if you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Just to let you know that my stay at the above hotel was just as good ever.
I had a single room, the bed was very comfortable, and as usual the room up to standard. This is due to the excellent staff who make this all possible. Food and drink very nice, what more could one ask for, I was a tour coach driver for a lot of years, and wish all the hotels I have stayed in had this standard of excellence.

Phil Loades.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philliploades1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firshotel, Manager at Firs Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are really pleased that once again you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We've stayed here a few times and have really enjoyed it here.
The beds are comfortable and the staff were very friendly.
The food was great, nothing to make any complaints about at this hotel.
There was also a carpark.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firshotel, Manager at Firs Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. We are delighted that you have used the hotel several times and hope that we can continue to meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Firs hotel for a couple of days in February 2014.
We had no particular expectations but once there, we immediately noticed a particular warmth and courtesy by the owner.
The hotel is well organized, functional, very clean, just 10 minutes walking from the town centre. Rooms are well equipped, warm and spacious. We particularly appreciated the book in the room describing Hitchin and giving all the necessary infos for the stay at the hotel in the town and county. Breakfast was included in our rate and is both continental and English upon request and everything is freshly prepared. Something interesting for italian guests is that the owners have italian origins and speak our Language very well. In conclusion we really suggest a stay at the Firs hotel in Hitchin

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graziano1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firshotel, Manager at Firs Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
We are delighted that you found the hotel comfortable and the town information useful. Your kind comments and recommendation are greatly appreciated. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Another nice stay in this hotel alway a pleasure to use this hotel stayed with my son and little grandson they had alovely double room and I was in a single room next door which must be used for a child as it had a toy story bin and blankets on the bed but that a side we are always made welcome and my little grandson age 3 loved it and his eyes lite up when he saw his breakfast in the morning which was nicely cooked so thank you you made a little boy very happy

Room Tip: The rooms at the back ground floor handy for the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firshotel, Manager at Firs Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
We are delighted that both you and your grandson enjoyed your stay with us. It's nice to know we appeal to all ages. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hitchin hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hitchin Town Centre Hotel
2.6 mi away
Needham House Hotel
Needham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Wymondley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hitchin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hitchin Priory
Hitchin Priory
#8 of 8 in Hitchin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lord Lister Hotel
Lord Lister Hotel
#7 of 8 in Hitchin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
2.7 mi away
Redcoats Farmhouse Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Firs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Firs Hotel

Property: Firs Hotel
Address: 83 Bedford Road, Hitchin SG5 2TY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hitchin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Hitchin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Firs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located Hitchin hotel with a large free car park and patio area. All bedrooms are en-suite with a spacious licensed bar. Free wifi available throughout the hotel. All breakfasts are cooked to order. If you prefer the individuality of a smaller hotel, the Firs Hotel provides a friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Firs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firs Hotel Hitchin, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing