We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice building & breakfast but a bit tired and needs some tlc”
Review of Hitchin Priory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hitchin Priory
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Hitchin
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Great location, perfect for town centre which is what we wanted. The building is very pretty. We were put in a courtyard room away from the main building which is much more modern. The room was very spacious and seemed clean enough with good bedding and towels. The downside was that the room was tired and needs some upgrading. The decor is very dated, the furniture seems poor quality and there were marks and rings over all of the wooden surfaces. The bathroom although a good size was very shabby. Most of the grout was missing from the tiles and what remained started coming off the walls. It was quite scruffy to be honest. The water was burning hot, it came out at such a force from the taps and could easily cause harm, I think this needs looking at or at least warnings put in the bathrooms. On a good note the breakfast in the main hotel was lovely. Lots of choice and very nice so we didn't leave hungry. The staff were also very friendly and nice to deal with. Just a bit of decorating and upgrading and the place would be spot on.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henrydognottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Having previously lived in the area, we've passed by a number of times, but have never had a reason to enter. We now recognise Hitchin Priory as a valuable find.
Located just a couple of minutes by foot from the centre of Hitchin, this private 19 acre parkland oasis opens up the moment you walk from the ample private car park main to the main building, parts of which date from the early fourteenth century.
Our room 48 in a separate accommodation annex just a few yards from the main building was warm, clean and comfortable - which hits the mark for a short break.
Would we stay again? Absolutely - this facility offers good value for money. We're just hoping that a decent coffee machine is purchased before we return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RBSheridan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Went to a wedding in May with our 90 year old mother in a wheelchair to be told the wedding was up 4 flights of stairs and there were no lifts! No managers seemed to find this unacceptable, wedding was good but this rather spoiled the day.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Booked as a special treat before reading reviews and we were nervous over what we may find. Room 9 was in older part of the hotel but on looking at the fire escape plan rooms 6, 7 or 8 would have been more spacious! Well equipped though with nice bathroom and comfortable bed. Warm enough, enough pillows quiet, slept well so no worries on any count. Superbly placed for a night out in Hitchin and lovely spread for breakfast the next day served by a charming young man. Doubt you could match it for where we wanted to be.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie7042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very nice building but shabby fixtures & fittings. Decided to have a shower to freshen up after arriving however as I removed bath towel the towel rail fell off the wall. Was not able to adjust shower and did not wish to scald myself so had a strip wash instead. Many areas of the hotel lacked care & attention. On the plus side. It was quiet, bed was comfortable and the breakfast was very nice although waitresses did not seem totally engaged with guest requirements but were very polite.

Room Tip: Room 1 was very quiet, no problem sleeping. However building has lots of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Douglas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Friendly and efficient service, comfortable and sizeable room (no. 7), decent breakfast, reasonable price, great location for our visit to family recently moved to the area, close to pleasant town centre and restaurants etc. Liked best: building, room, location. Liked least: slightly undersized duvet, no mushrooms on breakfast buffet and 10 mins of noisy, indecorous behaviour by a couple outside below our first floor window at 2am on bank holiday Monday!

Room Tip: Room 7 in main house was good for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J_n_J258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We booked into the hotel on Saturday night to be told that we couldn’t use the bar or restaurant because there was a wedding reception taking place – not a problem as the hotel is very close to lots of bars and restaurants in Hitchin. Opened the door to our room to the smell of cigarettes. I immediately rang reception who informed us that there were no other rooms as there was a wedding on. Reception rang back and we accepted the £10 reduction in the room rate but declined the offer of some air-freshener; the receptionist said it was very unusual for the rooms to smell as housekeeping were normally very good at noticing if someone had been smoking in any the rooms. We opened the windows to try and clear the air and noticed cigarette burns on the net curtain and window sill and several cigarette stubs outside the window (well spotted housekeeping).

Returning to the room after supper out we couldn’t sleep with the windows open because of the wedding festivities; the final straw was the noise inside the room which sounded like a tank filling somewhere above us up which continued all night. No sleep at all – was offered another £10 when we checked out.

Wasn’t expecting a luxurious hotel, but a decent night sleep would have been great.

Room Tip: Avoid room 45 - noisy plumbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hitchin
0.1 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hitchin
386 reviews
2 mi away
Needham House Hotel
Needham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Wymondley
364 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Farmhouse at Redcoats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Hitchin Town Centre Hotel
2.4 mi away
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Mercure Letchworth Hall
#1 of 3 in Letchworth
1,340 reviews
0.7 mi away
Firs Hotel
Firs Hotel
#5 of 8 in Hitchin
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hitchin Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hitchin Priory

Address: Tilehouse Street, Hitchin SG5 2DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hitchin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Hitchin
Price Range: £39 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hitchin Priory 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Hitchin Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hitchin Priory Hotel Hitchin
Priory Hotel Hitchin
Hitchin Priory Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing