We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacklustre!”
Review of Hitchin Priory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hitchin Priory
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Hitchin
London, England`
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lacklustre!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a review from a wedding guest perspective. For a period building I have to say it was pretty lacking, the front of the hotel appears a fairly modern design built up against the period frontage, definitely geared more towards conference venue style than period house for weddings, unfortunately it spoils it completely. All the weddings I've been to here (and there have been a few) have been held outside in the marquee, pefectly acceptable but if you have a 14th century house then surely it would make sense to make proper use of this, venue says the building can cater for 200 guests internally but looking at the rooms we could see I seriously doubt it. I know the Priory has recently been acquired for a vast sum of money and unless the new owners are prepared to do battle with the planners to improve the house, facilities and do something substantial with the immediate grounds around the house then this might well turn out to be one giant white elephant. Having said this, the marquee tents used for weddings are nicely set out, unfortunately they are plonked on the lawns behind the main house just to the side as if to say, you can pay large money but we don't really want to see you. However individual staff seemed excellent and very obliging and the food was good. The exterior of the building needs some serious work doing it, building heavily stained from the down pipes, there is a spiral metal staircase at the side of the venue which was used as a wedding photo venue which is rusted and peeling, not appropriate! Its only the very start of the summer wedding season but the majority of the wooden garden furniture is semi-broken and absolutely filthy, managed to leave stains on several of the guests summer dresses. Not impressed to say the least with the ground staff if they think this is acceptable! Some of the bedrooms are half-way decent and some are obviously in need of serious work. Decor definitely needs updating!! Not a place to stay in if the weather is warm, there is no air conditioning (because of the age of the building they say) but they could quite easily fit ceiling fans in the bedrooms without any detraction from the looks of the building. Ideally placed for a visit to Hitchin but as stated they need to do some serious work if they intend to retain their wedding venue status, absolutely no place for have decent wedding photos taken, outside of building needs some serious TLC - overally pretty disappointing!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennings01uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    99
    105
    63
    56
See reviews for
89
118
19
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nr Swindon, UK
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Superb location, right in the middle of Hitchin but in a parkland setting. Stayed one night for business - but have already booked for another night when I am next in the area. Good food in the evening - helped by being able to sit outside in great weather - and a good breakfast. Got a very good price via Booking.com. Interesting mixture of old and new in the buildings, room was in a 70's style block - quite comfortable - a bit hot on the unusually hot day I stayed there - for one aircon in a UK hotel would have been useful

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Purton_Stoke_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The wedding back in may was good. However, arrived with 90 yr old grandma in a wheel chair to be told there was no access to the top floor where the wedding ceremony was to be held. The management were less than helpful and actually made a joke about the situation. As its a listed building they do not want to ruin the aesthetics of their building, therefore if your in a wheel chair you are not welcome here,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paula_mch123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hitchin hotels

nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Great location, perfect for town centre which is what we wanted. The building is very pretty. We were put in a courtyard room away from the main building which is much more modern. The room was very spacious and seemed clean enough with good bedding and towels. The downside was that the room was tired and needs some upgrading. The decor is very dated, the furniture seems poor quality and there were marks and rings over all of the wooden surfaces. The bathroom although a good size was very shabby. Most of the grout was missing from the tiles and what remained started coming off the walls. It was quite scruffy to be honest. The water was burning hot, it came out at such a force from the taps and could easily cause harm, I think this needs looking at or at least warnings put in the bathrooms. On a good note the breakfast in the main hotel was lovely. Lots of choice and very nice so we didn't leave hungry. The staff were also very friendly and nice to deal with. Just a bit of decorating and upgrading and the place would be spot on.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henrydognottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Having previously lived in the area, we've passed by a number of times, but have never had a reason to enter. We now recognise Hitchin Priory as a valuable find.
Located just a couple of minutes by foot from the centre of Hitchin, this private 19 acre parkland oasis opens up the moment you walk from the ample private car park main to the main building, parts of which date from the early fourteenth century.
Our room 48 in a separate accommodation annex just a few yards from the main building was warm, clean and comfortable - which hits the mark for a short break.
Would we stay again? Absolutely - this facility offers good value for money. We're just hoping that a decent coffee machine is purchased before we return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBSheridan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Went to a wedding in May with our 90 year old mother in a wheelchair to be told the wedding was up 4 flights of stairs and there were no lifts! No managers seemed to find this unacceptable, wedding was good but this rather spoiled the day.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Booked as a special treat before reading reviews and we were nervous over what we may find. Room 9 was in older part of the hotel but on looking at the fire escape plan rooms 6, 7 or 8 would have been more spacious! Well equipped though with nice bathroom and comfortable bed. Warm enough, enough pillows quiet, slept well so no worries on any count. Superbly placed for a night out in Hitchin and lovely spread for breakfast the next day served by a charming young man. Doubt you could match it for where we wanted to be.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie7042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hitchin
2.0 mi away
Needham House Hotel
Needham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Wymondley
310 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hitchin
365 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Farmhouse at Redcoats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Firs Hotel
Firs Hotel
#5 of 8 in Hitchin
178 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Mercure Letchworth Hall
#1 of 3 in Letchworth
1,264 reviews
2.6 mi away
Offley Place Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hitchin Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hitchin Priory

Property: Hitchin Priory
Address: Tilehouse Street, Hitchin SG5 2DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hitchin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Hitchin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hitchin Priory 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hitchin Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hitchin Priory Hotel Hitchin
Priory Hotel Hitchin
Hitchin Priory Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing