We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brill!”
Review of Hitchin Priory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hitchin Priory
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Hitchin
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Well, as far as we're concerned we had a brill time! The chap and younger girl helping serve breakfast were especially accommodating (thanks for the toddler boost, chap) and helpful! Please pass on our compliments..

The only thing I would say is don't be too quick to whisk the empty plates away, I like to look at mine for 20 seconds or so to remind myself how talented I am at eating.

The grounds were lovely but the rooms were a little underwhelming, although we did only pay £60 a night at extremely short notice so hey-ho. The lack of restaurant was a bit peculiar, however due to the abundance of cafés and restaurants in Hitchin I don't really blame them, it'd have to be something pretty flipping special!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MisterCrumbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

As a one night visitor, this was not what I was expecting after a 12 hour working day. Staying in the Priory block, the accommodation is dated and in need of refurbishment. The room was large and spacious, but the double standard bed looked lost in such a large space.

The hanging area, was so large and doorless that looking at the shelves prompted me to think of using them as bunk beds for additional guests, who I could 'sub-let' the room too! ;)

Dining for the evening I thought to make use of the restaurant. Meeting a colleague in the bar (a corner of the building that could have doubled as a store room!), we ordered drinks and asked about eating in the restaurant. 'No, we don't have a restaurant, the room you saw on the way in was a private function room! We serve your meal in here.' Responding to us on the fact the room was full with other guests and no tables were available, the member of staff referred to the chef to see if it was ok to lay out a table in the function room.

The special of the day was ordered - Pork, and a chicken burger and salad. This was served in good time, but we had to reject both dishes, and decided to eat elsewhere. The pork was as dry as leather and had clearly been on a hotplate for too long. The chicken 'burger' came in an anemic looking starter roll with two orange breadcrumbed pieces of processed chicken. (A McDonalds chicken burger would have got five stars, by comparison).

Sleeping in the room was acceptable, although the mattress was of such an age you could feel the springs as you knelt on it, getting in.

Breakfast was served in the previously mentioned private function room. This room had several tables laid out, with one large round table covered, but unlaid. I was amazed to see customers being turned away, as the room was 'full', but with no suggestion or invitation if they may be happy to sit at the large table with others. Suffice to say, as a lone guest sitting at a 4 cover table, I felt very conscious of other people waiting, and finished my breakfast quickly, to vacate the table for others.

To put this into perspective, I happily stay at Travelodges and Premier Inns so do not have high expectations, but for such a large and 'grand' venue, it did nothing to recommend itself as a future overnight stay.

Room Tip: See if there is anything more upto date than the Priory block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SomersetManToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Like the last reviewer, I am writing this review from a wedding guest perspective. The wedding marquee that is set out is nice, however for what is a period building, I don't feel the most is made of it at all. I was expecting a luxury wedding venue hotel. I was disappointed.

The reception is very untidy, not inviting and looks almost make-shift. Maybe this is under renovation, but it didn't look like it. I have to say though, I have no issue with any member of staff. They were all very friendly.

The accommodation, in my view is very disappointing. It feels like a halls of residence. Very clinical. Decor definitely needs updating. Not a place to stay in if the weather is warm, there is no air conditioning which made our stay incredibly uncomfortable, and it wasn't even a heatwave outside. Bedding was disappointing too. Only wine very thin pillow each and no spare bedding left in the room.

Parts of the hotel also looked unclean, dead flies in the restaurant. Not pleasant. On checking out we did mention to the receptionist that we weren't entirely happy with the stay. She provided us with the managers e-mail address to complain. I haven't bothered, as I don't intend to return.

Ideally placed for a visit to Hitchin but as stated they need to do some serious work if they intend to retain their wedding venue status, absolutely no place for have decent wedding photos taken, outside of building needs some serious TLC - overally pretty disappointing!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairemc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a review from a wedding guest perspective. For a period building I have to say it was pretty lacking, the front of the hotel appears a fairly modern design built up against the period frontage, definitely geared more towards conference venue style than period house for weddings, unfortunately it spoils it completely. All the weddings I've been to here (and there have been a few) have been held outside in the marquee, pefectly acceptable but if you have a 14th century house then surely it would make sense to make proper use of this, venue says the building can cater for 200 guests internally but looking at the rooms we could see I seriously doubt it. I know the Priory has recently been acquired for a vast sum of money and unless the new owners are prepared to do battle with the planners to improve the house, facilities and do something substantial with the immediate grounds around the house then this might well turn out to be one giant white elephant. Having said this, the marquee tents used for weddings are nicely set out, unfortunately they are plonked on the lawns behind the main house just to the side as if to say, you can pay large money but we don't really want to see you. However individual staff seemed excellent and very obliging and the food was good. The exterior of the building needs some serious work doing it, building heavily stained from the down pipes, there is a spiral metal staircase at the side of the venue which was used as a wedding photo venue which is rusted and peeling, not appropriate! Its only the very start of the summer wedding season but the majority of the wooden garden furniture is semi-broken and absolutely filthy, managed to leave stains on several of the guests summer dresses. Not impressed to say the least with the ground staff if they think this is acceptable! Some of the bedrooms are half-way decent and some are obviously in need of serious work. Decor definitely needs updating!! Not a place to stay in if the weather is warm, there is no air conditioning (because of the age of the building they say) but they could quite easily fit ceiling fans in the bedrooms without any detraction from the looks of the building. Ideally placed for a visit to Hitchin but as stated they need to do some serious work if they intend to retain their wedding venue status, absolutely no place for have decent wedding photos taken, outside of building needs some serious TLC - overally pretty disappointing!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennings01uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Superb location, right in the middle of Hitchin but in a parkland setting. Stayed one night for business - but have already booked for another night when I am next in the area. Good food in the evening - helped by being able to sit outside in great weather - and a good breakfast. Got a very good price via Booking.com. Interesting mixture of old and new in the buildings, room was in a 70's style block - quite comfortable - a bit hot on the unusually hot day I stayed there - for one aircon in a UK hotel would have been useful

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Purton_Stoke_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The wedding back in may was good. However, arrived with 90 yr old grandma in a wheel chair to be told there was no access to the top floor where the wedding ceremony was to be held. The management were less than helpful and actually made a joke about the situation. As its a listed building they do not want to ruin the aesthetics of their building, therefore if your in a wheel chair you are not welcome here,

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paula_mch123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Great location, perfect for town centre which is what we wanted. The building is very pretty. We were put in a courtyard room away from the main building which is much more modern. The room was very spacious and seemed clean enough with good bedding and towels. The downside was that the room was tired and needs some upgrading. The decor is very dated, the furniture seems poor quality and there were marks and rings over all of the wooden surfaces. The bathroom although a good size was very shabby. Most of the grout was missing from the tiles and what remained started coming off the walls. It was quite scruffy to be honest. The water was burning hot, it came out at such a force from the taps and could easily cause harm, I think this needs looking at or at least warnings put in the bathrooms. On a good note the breakfast in the main hotel was lovely. Lots of choice and very nice so we didn't leave hungry. The staff were also very friendly and nice to deal with. Just a bit of decorating and upgrading and the place would be spot on.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henrydognottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hitchin
0.1 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hitchin
386 reviews
2 mi away
Needham House Hotel
Needham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Wymondley
364 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Farmhouse at Redcoats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Hitchin Town Centre Hotel
2.4 mi away
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Mercure Letchworth Hall
#1 of 3 in Letchworth
1,340 reviews
0.7 mi away
Firs Hotel
Firs Hotel
#5 of 8 in Hitchin
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hitchin Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hitchin Priory

Address: Tilehouse Street, Hitchin SG5 2DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hitchin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Hitchin
Price Range: £38 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hitchin Priory 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hitchin Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hitchin Priory Hotel Hitchin
Priory Hotel Hitchin
Hitchin Priory Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing