We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Greyhound Carshalton Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carshalton
Certificate of Excellence
eastbourne
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel.”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

A one night stay at the beginning of May 2014. Ideal location as we were attending a show in Wallington. Friendly check in and clean comfortable and modern room. Bar food was very good, but we sadly slept in and missed breakfast due to over indulgence the night before!!!!. Price was a bit on the high side but it was a Bank Holiday if that should make a difference??

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RussB61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meirion P, General Manager at The Greyhound Carshalton Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to feedback your experience with us, please remember next time you visit !!! have breakfast in bed!!!

Kind Regards

Meirion Pering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    97
    38
    15
    14
See reviews for
72
112
19
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

As a previous reviewer has said, the decor in the bathroom is looking old & tatty in room 102 which spoils this hotel from having 5 stars.
Rooms are large, beds are comfy and not too hot or cold and the window is well glazed to block out the sound of the driveway to the car park outside the window.
We didn't eat in the evening as we were attending a function but breakfast was delivered hot and a good full English with little sign of grease/oil. Very filling!
Have stayed before and will again some time but hope the decor gets updated soon.
Staff are excellent and rooms are clean, although carpets are showing their age and signs of wear.
Rooms 101 & 102 are at the entrance to the block so perhaps should be allocated to late night revellers instead of us 'old fogeys' who need a good night's rest. Otherwise I recommend this hotel overall.

Room Tip: Likely to be disturbed by late night returners if you are in the rooms 101 & 102.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnie77uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meirion P, General Manager at The Greyhound Carshalton Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your kind comments just to let you know we are having our bathroom redecorated soon

Kind Regards

Meirion Perring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My husband & I stayed for one night at the end of March 2014. Because we were staying for a special occasion and we live very close by, I'd liaised with the hotel staff beforehand and they couldn't have been more helpful. Everything that they'd said they'd do was done and we couldn't fault either the reception staff or the restaurant staff in any way; they were so friendly and accommodating. Our room (106) was well-appointed and the only slight let-down was the bathroom: the paint was peeling off of the bath panel and the panel above the vanity unit. It would only take about 30 minutes' work to bring the bathroom up to scratch. The toiletries provided were a little different and were lovely and the shower pressure was lovely and strong. We would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HJF68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meirion P, General Manager at The Greyhound Carshalton Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words, just to let you know our bathrooms are going to be redecorated soon, come back we miss you !!

Kind Regards

Meirion Perring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights this weekend. The hotel itself was lovely - comfortable, clean and modern. Nice shower, comfortable bed and yummy biscuits with the tea and coffee.
The staff on reception, behind the bar and serving breakfast were all lovely. Happy to help in anyway.
The only downside to this stay was the food. We ate in the restaurant on Friday night - the waitress got 2 parts of our order wrong and the food itself was of poor quality. The potato wedges were not cooked properly and the meat on the meat platter was full of fatty bits! My husband had the ice-cream for his dessert - the waitress went through the flavours they had...he decided on vanilla, mint choc chip and chocolate. She then came back and said mint choc chip was not an option after all, but he could have pistachio. So he decided on vanilla, pistachio and chocolate. He got pistachio, chocolate and strawberry!! We had waited so long for our food, we just could not be bothered to complain! So he just got on with his dessert...£5 for 3 scoops of what he described as a supermarkets budget range ice cream! Very disappointing.
But as I have said, the hotel itself was great and I would definitely recommend staying there, just eat somewhere else.

Room Tip: The rooms that look out on the pub car park can be a little noisy in the evening with pub goers leav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

I went here for the first time and had dinner with a friend. I had the chefs special, chicken and prawn sizzler, which was £14. The chicken was overcooked and the sauce was horrible. I also only got 4 prawns and a tiny amount of chicken. I will never eat here again!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Wallis484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
424 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for business but I'd stay on my own anytime. This is a classic English coach inn with very nice rooms, sufficient amenities, and a great staff. The rooms are quite large, very clean but there are only a few rooms so book early. The area is beautiful surrounded by a park and nature center. The staff worked overtime to help me with a small problem. Wifi is free but a bit spotty as you walk around.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

lovely pub bit noisy in main bar but we were shown to another bar which was cosy and quiet the rooms are lovely very clean and staff very helpful and friendly we were only there for one night as we had a party to go to the breakfast couldnt be faulted a very vast selection very nice outlook we were there in february but it would be lovely in the summer i would reccommend this pub

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coupleswindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carshalton
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn London Sutton
2.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon (Purley A23) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Thatched House Hotel
Thatched House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sutton
83 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Epsom South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greyhound Carshalton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greyhound Carshalton Hotel

Property: The Greyhound Carshalton Hotel
Address: 2 High Street, Carshalton SM5 3PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Carshalton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carshalton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Greyhound Carshalton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Greyhound Carshalton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greyhound Carshalton Hotel Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing