We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another relaxing stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Arms Restaurant & Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royal Arms Restaurant & Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Nuneaton, UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Another relaxing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stayed at the Royal Arms last night. This is our second stay. Once again, everyone was welcoming and the meal was fantastic. This time we had a room upstairs and it was fantastic. So relaxing - I think that we will be back again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank willyNuneaton_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    93
    55
    30
    24
See reviews for
49
201
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We just stayed here one night on a Groupon offer. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was a reasonable size and clean. Bed was comfortable. Food at dinner and breakfast was nice so overall nothing to complain about and good value for money. The hotel is in a very rural location, which adds to the experience. We walked from the hotel to the Bosworth battlefield heritage centre, which made for a pleasant morning

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

just got back from staying here for the ight , check in very quick , very pleasent staff , food was very nice , rooms are ok but not 4 star by any means , have all amenities but need updateing , also i was happy to see the room was in the yard at back and looked like single storey buildings so was looking forwrd to a peaceful stay , however there was a room above us but i hav,nt a clue how they got up there ??? sounded like a heard of elephants ,floorboards very thin , if i were management i,d avoid putting people on top of each other unless booking dos,nt allow you too . good value though as i only payed £90 for fourposter room with 2 coarse eve meal and full breakfast for 2 !! nice seting with a few nice towns close by and nice walks , in all i,d recomend if you can get a good deal like me , resturant is very nice and full of character

Room Tip: avoid room 12 if anyones above
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carpslayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Went to the Royal Arms this afternoon for lunch with my mother. The setting is gorgeous, have passed the restaurant a few times on trips out and finally ventured inside for a bite to eat. I found the menu to be somewhat limited - however this is not un-common for a lunch menu, but on the positive side great value for an excellent quality meal at only £11.95 for 2 courses. I had the Soup of the Day which was Roast Tomato & Red Pepper - this was an unusual choice for me as i usually only have leek & potato soup but was absolutely gorgeous and a lovely piece of fresh bread to accompany it. My mum had the goats cheese starter which she thoroughly enjoyed. For main course i opted for the chicken curry - which whilst was presented and cooked lovely i found to be a bit too spicy for my taste so couldnt finish the dish - so air on the side of caution if your tastebuds like mine not quite tolerable of hotter dishes. My mother had the Belly Pork which she thoroughly enjoyed and described as cooked perfectly, nice & tender.

We were seated in the bar side as the restaurant side was empty so the staff did not want us to feel out of place or alone - which i thought was very considerate. So we were seated on a nice table in the bar area near a nice roaring open fire which was well maintained and very welcoming and homely. My only reservation about this was that it wasn't very well lit in this side of the restaurant as is more informal. So my only advise would be to sit in the restaurant side if you're looking for a lighter, more formal environment and also to dine in the evening to be able to experience the full A La Carte Menu which would offer a greater choice of dishes.

Lovely pleasent staff and a nice atmosphere - would like to return to try the evening menu in the main restaurant.

Room Tip: my only advise would be to sit in the restaurant side if you're looking for a lighter, more form...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThisLittleMiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

After visiting this hotel the phrase "Spoiling the ship for a Ha'porth of Tar" came to mind.
We had looked forward to our visit after calling in the summer previously and loving the decor and character of the place. On first impression the bedroom was great, clean and well presented but upon closer inspection the bed was of awful quality with springs sticking up in all places. In our opinion one of the main requirements in a hotel / B&B is to get a good nights sleep and I can never understand why some establishments insist on using the cheapest mattresses possible, as in this case, I am sure that the extra cost of a better quality mattress would soon be offset and that guests would be more likely to return.
The staff were pleasant enough but did seem to find requests hard to understand and the bar prices seemed to vary depending on who was serving you, making me wonder if they were just charging what they thought they could get away with.
After our rickety nights sleep we went across for breakfast and found this a rather chaotic experience and was certainly not worth the price being charged. Cereals consisted of three children's type with no muesli or similar on offer, fruit was limited. Coffee was self service and luke warm and there was a good choice of different tea bags but no obvious way of making it. Upon asking the waitress I was bought a pot of hot(tish) water so that I could put my tea bag in. Really, for the price, I would have expected table service for tea and coffee at the least.
The "Full English Breakfast" arrived and was again disappointing, tasteless,luke warm, poor quality and small portions, along with cardboard toast sat on the side of the plate, no separate plate being provided for this.
To sum up, my impression is that the owners are missing a really good opportunity as the place is in a great location and is tastefully decorated but is spoiled by skimping in important areas, trying to maximise profits by using poor quality ingredients.
Would we return?.......... Regretfully no.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed here on a groupon deal which included a three course meal and breakfast it was excellent value for money and could not fault the food in anyway.We found the place to have a charming quirkiness too it.The rooms were in the out buildings which were nice and clean.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Russ112112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

we stayed here back in October 2013 and had no complaints at all, we enjoyed it so much that we book another visit for January. When we got there the heating wasn't working, when we inquired about it they said it was being sorted out.We went for a meal and returned to find the heating and hot water were still not working. We were told there was a problem, and they could put us up elsewhere but they were struggling to get through to the other hotel. We were given our money back eventually but we were so disappointed, I am writing the review in the hope that the hotel will check the heating and hot water works on a daily basis, possibly in the morning before people check in! and also have a plumber on call (the manager said he was trying to fix it himself?!) so any issue is rectified immediately. As our opportunity for getting away for a weekend is very rare, we will not come here again because we wouldn't want to take the risk. We had looked forward to this weekend for 10 weeks, and ended up returning home, it was a huge disappointment.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimandpambeesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Cheney
1.7 mi away
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Market Bosworth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4,027 reviews
4.2 mi away
Badgers Mount Hotel
Badgers Mount Hotel
#1 of 1 in Elmesthorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
4.0 mi away
Millers Hotel
Millers Hotel
#2 of 12 in Nuneaton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa
8.1 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
13.1 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Arms Restaurant & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Arms Restaurant & Hotel

Property: The Royal Arms Restaurant & Hotel
Address: Main Street | near Market Bosworth, Sutton Cheney CV13 0AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Sutton Cheney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sutton Cheney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Arms Restaurant & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Arms Restaurant and Hotel, A place which surpasses any traditional definition. We are nestled on the Leicestershire - Warwickshire border, situated in beautiful rural setting very close to where the historical Battle of Bosworth took place and within a convenient distance to Twycross Zoo, The Ashby Canal, Bosworth Park and for race fans - Mallory Park race track. We are a renowned 4 star rated restaurant and inn with 18 rustically decorated en-suite bedrooms in our stand-alone barn style accommodation adjacent to the main building. The backdrop of idyllic rolling countryside makes The Royal Arms perfect for a romantic getaway, business stop over, your wedding reception, many a celebration and team building days and a whole host of events. We have excellent private dining and conference facilities, and a purpose built barn with adjacent marquees for weddings and banqueting. Be it a visit for business or pleasure you will be offered a warm and genuine welcome in this home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Royal Arms Restaurant & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Arms Restaurant And Hotel
The Royal Arms Restaurant & Hotel Sutton Cheney, Warwickshire
Royal Arms Sutton Cheney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing