We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bedrooms need updateing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royal Arms Restaurant & Hotel
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Nice hotel but could be better, the bedrooms could do with an update, gaps in ill fitting door letting in drafts would not like to stay in winter, broken tiles in bathroom, also toilet could have done with some bleach down badly stained,on requesting semi or skimmed milk told only full fat milk available which my wife can not use it would have been nice to have an option, also stains on cushions on bed better to not have them on at all.
Don't want to criticise anything about the hotel part really nice bar and restaurant and the outside area is really nice, breakfast was very good, did not have our evening meal there so I cannot comment, if they upgrade the bedrooms the hotel would be spot on.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank everon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

As we were getting married in Market Bosworth we chose to stay here along with our families on the night before and the night of our wedding. We were extremely well looked after by the manager who helped us organise a meal for over 30 people. The rooms were pleasant (I stayed in the Bridal Suite) and clean, the bed wasn't the comfiest but it was fine. The food was very good with great service.
When I looked at this hotel previously it didn't have great reviews but I would say the majority are unfair. It's well worth a visit and you really feel like you are being looked after personally which you cannot say about a lot of the larger hotels in the area (we know because we researched them all!). We will definitely be returning, i am looking forward to it already!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lp23egg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed here on a Groupon voucher - excellent value.
The location is super - quiet and in the country, lovely courtyard with lawns and gazebo.
Dinner was good, although the bread & butter pudding is best avoided - too stodgy.
The room was spacious, but was the least attractive part of the package - bed creaked at the slightest movement, there was another room above (in a single-storey building) where every sound could be heard (no carpet, for a start) and the toilet took ca 10 minutes to fill.

Room Tip: avoid room 9 (and 10?), which has attic room above it. I am told it is only used when the hotel is f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HJPinBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We bought a Groupon deal and it was a amazingly good value. The food was delicious and the service was great. Most of the poor comments seem to be about the rooms. The room we had was in what looked like a converted stable block. They are fairly basic but, I think, quite charming. We upgraded to a four poster but it didn't really seem to fit with the small room and rustic style. That said, it was very comfortable. My main negative comment would be that there needs to be more attention to detail in the cleaning. Our room wasn't dirty by any means but there was quite a lot of visible dust on the 4 poster and in the bathroom. General upkeep would also make a big difference.The shower was small and the grouting and sealant needed to be redone. The room needed a coat of paint and that would have made a big difference. Also, in the restaurant, we loved the rustic style but, again, all the ornaments need a good dust! There were small vases of flowers on each table at breakfast which would have been a nice touch but they were nearly dead and the water was old. Small details but it is such a shame, this place could be fantastic. They do weddings and when we first arrived we thought it could be a potential venue for our daughter's wedding but these cleaning issues put us off and we dismissed it. Such a shame. As I said, great value and we enjoyed it but I would happily pay more to stay in this charming building if these details were put right.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveholsLoughborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The views over fields at the rear of the courtyard apartments is a treat when the early morning sun shines.
The bar seperates the 2 snugs with 3 choices of real ales.
The restaurant is nice and airy with a good choice of foods.
The rooms are basic and with a comfortable bed.
Any negatives would be the door that rattled through the night had I not rammed some paper into the latch.
The seafood casserole lacked the advertised scallops and prawns but had copious amounts of salmon.

Room Tip: room 7 is the end of a block affording a view over the fields
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stagione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stayed at the Royal Arms last night. This is our second stay. Once again, everyone was welcoming and the meal was fantastic. This time we had a room upstairs and it was fantastic. So relaxing - I think that we will be back again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willyNuneaton_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We just stayed here one night on a Groupon offer. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was a reasonable size and clean. Bed was comfortable. Food at dinner and breakfast was nice so overall nothing to complain about and good value for money. The hotel is in a very rural location, which adds to the experience. We walked from the hotel to the Bosworth battlefield heritage centre, which made for a pleasant morning

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Royal Arms Restaurant & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Arms Restaurant & Hotel

Address: Main Street | near Market Bosworth, Sutton Cheney CV13 0AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Sutton Cheney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sutton Cheney
Price Range: £63 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Arms Restaurant & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Arms Restaurant and Hotel, A place which surpasses any traditional definition. We are nestled on the Leicestershire - Warwickshire border, situated in beautiful rural setting very close to where the historical Battle of Bosworth took place and within a convenient distance to Twycross Zoo, The Ashby Canal, Bosworth Park and for race fans - Mallory Park race track. We are a renowned 4 star rated restaurant and inn with 18 rustically decorated en-suite bedrooms in our stand-alone barn style accommodation adjacent to the main building. The backdrop of idyllic rolling countryside makes The Royal Arms perfect for a romantic getaway, business stop over, your wedding reception, many a celebration and team building days and a whole host of events. We have excellent private dining and conference facilities, and a purpose built barn with adjacent marquees for weddings and banqueting. Be it a visit for business or pleasure you will be offered a warm and genuine welcome in this home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Arms Restaurant & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Arms Restaurant And Hotel
The Royal Arms Restaurant & Hotel Sutton Cheney, Warwickshire
Royal Arms Sutton Cheney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing