We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful room and outstanding food!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royal Arms Restaurant & Hotel
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed from a groupon offer and upgraded to stay in the bridal suite room in march. We were a little worried as some reviews portrayed it as a death hole. This was not the case at all, the room was beautiful, looked so pretty. The bed was huge and we had lots of room for storage etc. It was a gorgeous room and a beautiful view. We had both breakfast and dinner in the reaustraunt and I have to say the food we had was totally outstanding! The starter was the best food I've ever eaten my life and my husband agrees too. The breakfast was also lovely with lots of choice. The staff were very helpful and friendly too. We very much enjoyed our stay and would reccomend. The only point I would make is that I would have thought that the bridal suite should have had a bath not just a shower. The bathroom was a little dated and really could have been beautiful given a little TLC. It was clean though. Its a huge space and I feel it would be outstanding with a a bath in it. It didn't quite match the beauty of the bedroom. Even given this though we would definatley return! Gorgeous food,friendly staff, lovely room and quiet peaceful location! The view was gorgeous. Also its nice to have no one upstairs. Beautiful vaulted beamed ceilings in our room. Reccomend highly!! Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here and it had good reviews. We were so disappointed the room needs a radical makeover, it was very dated, i did not sleep much at all, got up in the middle of the night a big bug was in the bathroom scary!. Our room room five had a ticking sound which kept us awake also room next door got in late, so we woke up very thin walls.Breakfast was extra very poor choice of cereals, and ok breakfast for the price. On the high end price wise so need to deliver better choice and value. Staff were trying their best but seemed un motivated,dining room needs a radical makeover, to bring it up to date !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snapdragon88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Called in at 2:20 PM. Got a table. Room near to full. Lunch was very good. Hot plenty of gravy. They sting you for drinks £9.50 for a pint of cider and a glass of white wine. We have been to this restaurant before I have to say it is looking dated

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMRMidlandsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

6 of us stayed here back in May and we were all very impressed, upon arriving we were stunned by the amazing views, very rare to find. We were welcomed by very curtious staff . The Royal Arms oozes plenty of charachter and has all the aspects of a cozy and comfortable country inn. food was great quality and slightly pricey but inevitable. Grounds were kept beautifully , rooms were clean and spacious though a bath tub would have been nice. All in all a lovely break away and will definately return at Christmas. xxx

Room Tip: All rooms lovely , but pay for an upgrade with views . Room 8 gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cassey56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

First of all the negatives the room was average with quite a few cobwebs and very dark. No hot water for a shower had to wait 2 hours and the shower was very dated. One.bath towel and one hand towel provided which wasn't ideal when you both want a shower.
The positives bed was comfy and the evening meals was of very good qualty and the hotel is in a lovely countryside location. Staff are very friendly and the pub side was cosy and relaxing.

Room Tip: Don't have room 7 as hot water takes too long to reach it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joeycoolcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed hear on a groupon deal which was very good value. Room was lovely and included a four poster bed. It would have been nice to have a bath in the room rather than a shower, but, hey you can't have everything. The staff were polite, friendly and attentive without always hovering. Food was well cooked and presented and the portion size more than ample. Breakfast was good but disliked the scrambled egg and would have preferred coffee on the table rather than help yourself. The hotel has lovely views and is quiet and relaxing. Very clean hotel and beautiful gardens. I would have liked tablecloths on the tables but other than that, no real complaints. Would stay there again, had a lovely, relaxing time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClanAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

6 of us got together on a dinner bed and breakfast package last month. This place blew us away when driving into the car park. Truly amazing view over open countryside. The gardens and public areas were immaculately kept. A really unique venue in a wonderful part of the country. Rooms were all very clean and nicely decorated. The dining room was gorgeous. Staff were cool and attentive and new their stuff. 30 whiskies on offer kept the fellas happy and very nice cocktails. Food was excellent cooked well and breakfast perfect. The owner gentleman was very nice and professional and looked after us all very well. Only negative no bath tub. But overall outstanding venue which deserves its reputation. See you soon xxx

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jayc r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Royal Arms Restaurant & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Arms Restaurant & Hotel

Address: Main Street | near Market Bosworth, Sutton Cheney CV13 0AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Sutton Cheney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sutton Cheney
Price Range: £62 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Arms Restaurant & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Arms Restaurant and Hotel, A place which surpasses any traditional definition. We are nestled on the Leicestershire - Warwickshire border, situated in beautiful rural setting very close to where the historical Battle of Bosworth took place and within a convenient distance to Twycross Zoo, The Ashby Canal, Bosworth Park and for race fans - Mallory Park race track. We are a renowned 4 star rated restaurant and inn with 18 rustically decorated en-suite bedrooms in our stand-alone barn style accommodation adjacent to the main building. The backdrop of idyllic rolling countryside makes The Royal Arms perfect for a romantic getaway, business stop over, your wedding reception, many a celebration and team building days and a whole host of events. We have excellent private dining and conference facilities, and a purpose built barn with adjacent marquees for weddings and banqueting. Be it a visit for business or pleasure you will be offered a warm and genuine welcome in this home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Royal Arms Restaurant & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Arms Restaurant And Hotel
The Royal Arms Restaurant & Hotel Sutton Cheney, Warwickshire
Royal Arms Sutton Cheney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing