We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Arms Restaurant & Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa(Market Bosworth)
US$78
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Premier Inn Leicester North West Hotel(Leicester)(Great Value!)
US$78
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Badgers Mount Hotel(Elmesthorpe)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Longshoot Hotel(Nuneaton)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$83
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Millers Hotel(Nuneaton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveller rating
194
114
62
39
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
194
114
62
39
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschampagne breakfastgroupon dealchicken curryfour posterbridal suitespecials boardevening mealcheesecakethe pubconverted stable blockfull englishfamily mealsunday lunchmain buildingmain mealstaff were brilliantwedding venue
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
219 - 224 of 441 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We were quite disappointed with our room. The bed was comfortable and clean however both throws were marked quite badlly one with large black mark and one with what appeared to be lipstick. Tiles were broken and cracked in the en suite and the radiator covered in rust. It was however quite spacious. The lights that decorate the hotel were left on until daylight and the curtains were quite thin so there was a great deal of light pollution.
Dinner was rather chaotic. Unable to grasp we did not want carrots or sweet corn. When beans and sweet corn arrived we asked if they could bring the correct order of beans mange tout. Sweet corn removed from beans and returned to table. No mange tout. We were then informed didn't have any. The beans were of very poor quality far from fresh and like leather. We left them.
In fairness we were offered a complimentary sweet but we had waited two hours from entering restaurant and declined.
The cobwebs in the room were amazing. I informed reception on departure but there was no shock or apology. Maybe it is just me but having stayed in all sorts of establishments from B and B to 5 star in large cities this one is certainly off the list. We ate at the pub down the road the next night. At least the nags head was value for money and honest pub grub. We also declined breakfast so cannot comment on that.
Sorry wouldn't return even though they deleted charge for veg from bill.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank anne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We booked our wedding here only 5 months ago as we were lucky to get a cancellation. Russell and I were the first civil wedding ceremony to be held at The Royal Arms. We also held our wedding breakfast for 73 people and evening celebration for 150 guests here.

We can only describe our wedding ceremony and the whole day and evening as perfect.

Anoop the General Manager and all his staff made sure everything was perfect - the actual wedding ceremony went perfectly without any problems, one of the staff members came to collect me, my mum and bridesmaids to escort us to the correct entry point to walk down the aisle, all the music we had chosen for the ceremony was played at the exact right moment, our chosen drink and canapes were ready for our guests after the wedding ceremony and were served on silver trays by the staff. We had our photos taken in the rose garden and at the picturesque front gates and also in the beautiful golden wheat field.

We then went into the marquee where all the tables had been layed out and beautifully decorated as promised by Anoop and his team. We had chosen a starter with a roast meal and pudding and a vegetarian option - all the food was delicious and presented very nicely on the plates with very generous portions. All our guests commented on how good the food was and the fact they were full. All the staff were fantastic and served the food without delay but did not rush us to finish quickly, in fact the staff were so professional you were not really aware of their presence, although they were always available if anyone wanted anything. Nothing was too much trouble and was always given with a friendly smile.

Our evening guests were greeted with an alcoholic fruit punch (or fruit juice) served by the staff from a large punch bowl. We had opted for the hog roast for the evening and the hog could be seen cooking on the spit - the smell of it cooking was wonderful. This was served on china plates with a toasted bun, stuffing, apple sauce, crackling and a buffet of salads, roast potatoes, homemade coleslaw and other delicious food. There was also a vegetarian option as we knew some of our guests would prefer a non meat option. Again all our guests commented on how delicious the food was and the generous portions.

We and quite a few of our guests had stayed at the hotel the night before our wedding and on the night of our wedding. We ate in the restaurant the night before and the food was very good with generous portions and the staff were again very nice and efficient. We all had a cooked breakfast on both mornings and this was also very good.

Our stay and wedding at The Royal Arms can only be described as perfect. All our guests are still commenting on the beautiful venue, the wonderful food and the friendly efficient staff.

We had never visited The Royal Arms before arranging our wedding here but Anoop the General Manager promised us our wedding day would be perfect and it was. I just want to add that we do not know Anoop or anyone connected with The Royal Arms.

Thank you Anoop and your wonderful Team for making our wedding day perfect.

Maggie

Room Tip: We stayed in the bridal suite, which is very nice. A lot of our family stayed in different room types and said they were very nice.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maggie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We were recently married here at the Royal Arms and there is only one way to describe the experience and that is perfect.

We were their first civil ceremony so it was with some trepidation when we booked it but the professional attitude of Anoop the manager soon put any fears to rest.

The venue it self is set in lovely countryside, perfect in the sunny weather we had, surrounded by golden wheat fields. Inside it is an interesting mix of old English pub and interesting bits and pieces. The wedding ceremony was held in the restaurant area which was rearranged and all layed out correctly, infact I'm sure they were measuring the distance between the rows of seats.

We and a lot of our guests had stopped the night before so we all got together for a meal, more on the excellent food later. So on the morning of the wedding, virtually no stress, excellent breakfast and a relaxed few hours to get ready.

Everything went perfectly during the ceremony or we were aware on no hitches. Then we were let loose for our photographers, they were in heaven with the alternate locations for pictures, we were photographed in the rose garden,  in front of the building and in the wheat field or on the public path that goes through it.

The guest were served with pimms and canapés which were again delicious.

Then off to the wedding breakfast held in the marquee, all the food was of excellent quality and decent portions. Must mention the staff here, they were perfect, quick efficient attentive with out being obtrusive. All the meals were served quickly and they were not phased when most of us took a cool down break out side before the desert course, just a polite "Can we serve desert now, please"

After the meal, we had a few hours to spend time with the guests, either in the beer garden, inside in the cool or out in the rose garden. The children were running around the secure paddock area, watched over by a few adults on the benches put out for us.

The evening guests we welcomed with a fruit punch, enjoyed by all and the evening food was a hog roast and buffet all served on china plates, none of this paper rubbish. What I remember most is people saying I'm to full to eat much then returning with plates piled high with pork and various sides.

Once the evening was over, we retired to the bridal suite just a short walk in the cool of the night from the marquee. I didn't mention as the sun was setting the photographer had us out in the wheat field again.

Since the wedding we have had chance to talk to a lot of guests and all have praised the venue, staff and the food. Nothing was too much trouble for them any issues were sorted before they became issues and all I can say is a huge thank you to all at the Royal Arms for making our special day perfect.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank RussellJesson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I recently attended a wedding here, and it was a perfect venue. The Marquee is huge, with a separate area for food service. Lovely decor and everything is planned so well. Also a huge grassed area, ideal for photos and to mingle outside.

I did not see the main area of the restaurant or hotel, so cannot comment on these, however it is in an excellent rural location, has stunning views and is really attractive from the outside. There are lovely walks nearby, and Sutton Cheney Wharf. A very attractive part of the Country.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
Thank JUPUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We held our wedding reception at the Royal Arms on the 14th of June and the day was amazing. The food and service was first class and all the staff were brilliant. The owner Anoop was incredibly helpful in the 12 month run up to the wedding and nothing was too much trouble, he made sure the day ran smoothly and looked after us. It was a big wedding with over 130 guests for the wedding breakfast alone and the food was the best. All our guest commented on the quality of the roast dinner and everyone loved the cheesecake. The cheese buffet was amazing too.

We had all the rooms booked for the night of the wedding plus a large number of our family stayed at the hotel in the run up to the wedding for a few nights. The food in the restaurant was such good quality, well cooked with great presentation and service. I love the mixed grill and the local ale was fantastic, the breakfasts were great too!!

Thank you for making our special day so fantastic and thank you to all the wonderful staff at the Royal Arms.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews