We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveller rating
223
48
25
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
48
25
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar low ceilings lovely place b and b character and charm character room breakfast room beautiful garden period building separate cottage ancient town warm welcome breakfast was delicious oak beams wedding venue a wonderful stay beautiful room
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 301 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I wanted a few days of peace and quiet to explore the areas of Kent and Sussex. Mary put me in the Battle Room and it was lovely watching the rabbits and other wildlife through the large windows which lead onto the balcony. The 'sussex breakfast' was equally delicious and I would certainly return. It was an absolute pleasure staying there and very convenient.

Room tip: Tell Mary a little bit about yourselves and she will find the perfect room for you.
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SigiBentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My Wife and I celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary at the charming small hotel at Winchelsea with our 2 daughters and their families. We were all made very welcome from the outset and nothing was too much trouble for our friendly hosts. We all stayed in the medieval part of the house and found it wonderfully atmospheric - especially our Grandchildren! We were entertained to a champagne reception in the lounge followed by an absolutely first class meal. It really could not have been bettered. Very highly recommended!

Room tip: Bear in mind the house is very old and to watch out for low beams!
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianMeliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

The wife and I spent another weekend at strand house this time we had the inglenook room witch was spacious with a very large bed this is the best room we have had and would book it again the food and staff are excellent know doubt we will be staying here again at some point

Date of stay: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandycavendish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Strand House is in a wonderful location for easy access to Rye and Winchelsea. It's on the main road, but quiet inside so you feel like you're tucked away somewhere. The building is lovely and old, full of character, and well maintained. There is a pathway the entire way along the road to Rye (and to Winchelsea) so it's walkable, but there are no street lights so it made for an interesting walk back that night. The room was pretty. The floor was VERY slanted, so it felt like you were rolling out of bed, and the shower room very small, but it had everything we needed and the bed was very comfortable. The tea/coffee making facilities even have shortbread biscuits which is a nice touch. The afternoon tea was huge, there was so much to eat, so don't have lunch before you have it. The breakfast was delicious. They offer you a buffet cereal, fruit, juices etc, and then a cooked breakfast too with tea and coffee and unlimited toast (or so it seemed). The breakfast room is clean and bright and looks loved. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The layout of the building is quirky, and the lounge area is cosy. We would definitely come back to stay here.

Some suggestions for improvement:
The welcome wasn't great - we stood for ages in the doorway waiting for someone and then although we'd arranged early checkin, the papers weren't ready. The afternoon tea took quite a while to come out, and then we weren't given the same options as the other guests at the table next to us. (They had a choice of cakes, where ours was just delivered - and the toffee cake was a bit dry, we would have preferred chocolate like the table next to us had.)

Room tip: If you can, ask to see the rooms. Our room (Crow's Nest) was at the back of the hotel with one other room only so it was private but the floors were extremely slanted and the shower was tiny. It didn't have any view and was quite close to the hill up the Winchelsea. The other room (Willow?) would have been nicer, and seemed a bit bigger.
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2xsjgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My husband and I spent the weekend at Strand House and had the most amazing time. A beautiful, utterly charming and lovingly maintained property with an abundance of character. Strand House is in a stunning setting and actually really easy to find from London. The proprietors are friendly, welcoming and relaxed, yet someone is there in a flash if you have any needs; the service levels were exemplary. They also benefit from a great selection of wine (my favourite was in stock!) and the breakfasts are to die for. A tranquil, cosy, retreat which is reasonably priced and highly recommended for those looking for a weekend break in the English countryside with a touch of luxury and a wealth of history thrown in.

Room tip: sorry there is no swimming pool but I cannot unclick the box - please can you correct Trip Advisor admin!
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth_S_Drake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews