We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a Beach Walk” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Winchelsea Beach

Winchelsea Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Winchelsea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“a Beach Walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Winchelsea Beach is very special! Although mostly full of small stones, in low tide though near the water's edge is lovely sand. Higher up is a small path, half a mile long, perfect to watch the seagulls, the incoming waves, passing ships and incredible views all the way to France on a clear day. Strolling along is one of our favorite pastimes in the early evening.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank butterfly9393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    56
    33
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“I beautiful place for a walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We do this walk quite often when in Rye. Walk from Rye harbour down to the sea and head west along this beautiful beach. Really untouched.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fatbobslim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
129 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wild shingle beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Lovely wild beach with shingle bank. Parking in layby but not sure how crowded this is in summer. Remains of old wooden groynes making it very picturesque. Shells.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gorgeous49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Uncrowded shingle beach, with long walks, but beware the mud!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We have a caravan near here, and spend quite a lot of time here, there are lots of dog walkers, who enjoy running around and splashing in the water. When the tide is out there are lots of interesting groins, if that's your thing! My husband & I are both keen photographers so we are often there taking pictures. When our grandchildren visit we collect lots of shells and different bits and pieces that they collect for decorating and painting. However I would warn that during low tide, that there are some areas of deep mud, which is not pleasant should you step in it, my granddaughter lost her beach shoes within minutes of having them on and she did panic. It's a great place to take a picnic and there are also toilets open, and a icecream van regularly in the summer. In addition there is now 'the little white hut' opened by a local family serving hot food & drinks. The beach has a small parking area and there are nice walks either way up towards Rye or to Fairlight Cliffs. There is also the large 'Harbour Field' adjacent with a small playground at the other end. It is also within walking distance of a pub and shops.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank stmoritz1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“dull. Average shingle beach surrounded by empty marshland fields”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

It is an archetypal shingle beach you will find all the way along the south coast. Some have nicer views, some have more facilities, some have more parking, more events, more buzz. This one doesn't. It doesn't have the benefit of being next to a town, as such, its surrounded by marsh and the rye nature reserve, so not a lot to look at. Just fine if you want to do an activity connected with the sea - sunbathe in the summer or go fishing etc, but not the most exciting or picturesque promenade.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lindlou6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Winchelsea Beach also viewed

 

Been to Winchelsea Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing