We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winchelsea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Winchelsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

All the family had a great holiday the caravan was not dirty the beds where comfortable and at night the entertainment was very good and the pool was excellent and we where sad to leave a fantastic holiday park

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Winchelsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Hi and thank you for your review, We were all really delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay here at Winchelsea. I have personally passed on your comments to the teams and we look forward to seeing you back on park in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

Not a good experience, the caravan inside was very tired with stains and a sticky floor, a miss match of crockery can openers that didn't work, the outside was filthy, there was a bad storm which had thrown 3 caravans off there anchors and spun one round, this didn't go down well with the children looking on either, a 7 hour power cut and debris had blown into the pool but the worst was the staff refused to clean the pool out, so the 3 days we were there they couldn't use the pool because the manager closed it, stairs to the caravan were not level and in the dark, one of the family lost footing and twisted her ankle.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank dizandjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Winchelsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to read the problems you encountered during your stay on park. We have had lots of positive comments regarding the swimming pool this season, it was unfortunate that during your stay we experienced the storm and power cuts which caused problems for our outdoor pool.
Thank you again for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Arrived home today after a fabulous week at Winchelsea Sands. Kids loved it, adults loved it! Safe park for the kids to go off and play. Lovely staff. Chris the Lifeguard was great! Was able to check it early when we arrived as van was already ready. Linen was provided even though we hadn't asked for it which was very nice. Complimentary tea, coffee and milk in van was much appreciated. First time here and we booked to come back next year before we'd even left today. Only downside is the food at the clubhouse isn't great and quite expensive so we only ate there the first night. Pet friendly - we bought our dog with us. Would highly recommend this site to everyone!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Shelles43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Winchelsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass your kind comments about the staff onto them. Especially Chris at the pool.
We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We have just returned home after another fantastic holiday here.The caravan and holiday park were spotlessley clean as usual.We brought our two grandchildren with us again and they thoroughly enjoyed themselves.When we arrived,there had been a horrendous storm the previous which put the pool out of action for two days.Rose and her wonderful team arranged for us to use the pools at one of the other Park resorts in the area.We were made very welcome at the two that we used.The whole holiday was perfect including the weather.The icing on the cake was when our eight year old grandaughter entered the talent show and won,along with another little girl.
We were very sad to leave but can assure you we will be back soon.It is well worth the long journey (at least six hours).A big thankyou to Rose and all in reception,the cleaners who do a wonderful job,the maintainence staff,Lucy and Luke and every body else involved in making our holiday perfect

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Winchelsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Hello and thank you for your review, We were all really delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to Winchelsea Sands Holiday Park. I have personally passed on your comments to the teams and we look forward to seeing you back on park in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We come home Monday from a lovely holiday stay here, I have 2 children aged 2 and 10, we stayed in a silver class caravan it was very clean and my children and I really enjoyed every minute of our holiday there, the pool was great as it was heated and a great size, I struggled with my 2 year old before to take her swimming but here it was completely different and I think it helped the pool being heated she loved it and didn't want to get out of it, the evening entertainment was brilliant there was something for all ages throughout the evening and my children loved getting involved with the krazy krew games and dancing, both members of krazy krew were fantastic with the children, the reception staff were very helpful and done there very best to make us feel welcome,I have booked to go back nxt year as myself and my children really enjoyed our stay here, I can't wait for our holiday here nxt year. Would definitely recommend winchelsea sands to friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kelly28molyneaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Winchelsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Hello and thanks for your review. We were really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us here at Winchelsea Sands Holiday Park, and that the team and facilities lived up to your expectations.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I have just arrived back from a brilliant stay at Winchelsea sands holiday park.we arrived early due to a little blip on my part ;) but the staff were fantastic and sorted things for us .I cant thank the staff and the lovely Rose enough .We have been to this site a few times but the first time with a pet , its a very pet friendly place and lots of places to walk the dog with a large grassy areas and the caravan was fab and in a lovely setting .The site is great for all ages .The outdoor pool is fab my boys loved it and the lifeguard is fab very friendly and a real joker he does a great job .Evening entertainment has something for everyone .The beach is a stroll away and its really quiet even in hig season you can get a spot to relax .I have really enjoyed my stay again and will be returning next year :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mummytokaiandzak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Winchelsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found the caravan to be comfortable, our team to be friendly and the entertainment good. I have passed on all of your comments to my team.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

After reading rave reviews about this site, we decided to take a last-minute three night break in a pet-friendly Silver class mobile home, along with our 15 year old son and a friend. We arrived and parked up in a cramped car park, next to overflowing bins (dirty nappy nearly trodden on.) Where were the mobile homes surrounded by lush vegetation as per the pictures of the park? We were shown to a mobile home which was lovely inside, and we settled in, unpacked and went out to dinner. Just before 9pm, we got a knock on the door and it was a rep (who was really sweet and apologetic) saying that we had been given wrong van and the couple who should be in it had arrived and could we move to another one. We had to re-pack everything and she helped us carry all our belongings to the most run down, dirty, smelly mobile home. The curtains had been pulled off their railings at the corners, the shower fixings were hanging off the shower wall, the windows smeared and dirty etc etc We were all so upset, but as it was late we went to bed. In the morning, we complained and the staff (once again really lovely) agreed to move us to another van and gave us a free breakfast. We again packed up and moved and the mobile home was fine although it was more bronze class than silver, but very clean. The park itself feels a bit unloved, mobile homes quite close to each other, the pool small but clean - they stagger intake to avoid overcrowding. Seagulls are a nuisance - they start screeching at daybreak and don't let up all day, sitting on the roofs of the mobile homes. The entertainment was ok, again, good for little children, bingo was fun and the staff very very friendly and helpful - could not fault that. The young man doing the bingo and disco etc was fantastic. The beaches are a short walk away (shingle), as is the big park where the boys could play football - across the road from the campsite. (no ball games allowed on the park except in a tiny area at the back). We didn't eat at the restaurant so can't comment on that, but the breakfast was good as were range of drinks at the bar. Wifi is free in the entertainment area but you have to pay for it in your mobile home. I would say that this park and the entertainment is aimed at families with young children, there were very few teens, and lots of young children so although there was a pool table and mini-amusement arcade, there wasn't much for the 15-years olds to do, or other teens to chat to. We would never return to Winchelsea Sands, but can see that it would be attractive for families with young children. The accommodation was not worthy of the price we paid to stay and we were left feeling slightly disappointed.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Ali P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Winchelsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for your review. I was disappointed to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. If you’d like to discuss the issues you encountered further, please contact our office at winchelseaadmin@parkholidays.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winchelsea
18.3 mi away
Martello Beach Holiday Park - Pevensey Bay
0.9 mi away
The Lodge at Winchelsea
The Lodge at Winchelsea
#1 of 1 in Winchelsea
376 reviews
8.9 mi away
Crowhurst Park
Crowhurst Park
#3 of 8 in Battle
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Combe Haven Holiday Park - Haven
3.9 mi away
Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts
0.8 mi away
Strand House
Strand House
#1 of 5 in Winchelsea
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchelsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchelsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK

Address: Winchelsea Sands Holiday Park Pett Level Road, Winchelsea, Rye TN36 4NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye > Winchelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Winchelsea
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fantastic family holiday in one of the most popular tourist destinations on the south coast.Located between the historic towns of Rye and Hastings, Winchelsea Sands is the perfect base to explore the region's history and attractions. Not that you need to leave the park as we have everything you could wish for right here, including a great entertainment venue which is busiest at weekends and during peak season, and a terrific swimming pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Winchelsea Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing