We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient but basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lodge at Winchelsea
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winchelsea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The hotel is located near the delightful town of Winchelsea. If you are staying only one night it is fine but the rooms are too basic for a comfortable multi-night stay.
Don't miss Winchelsea it is a lovely village for a morning or afternoon stroll.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vjhSaumur_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

We booked this hotel for one night as we decided to go kite surfing in Camber Sands for the weekend at the last minute. It wasn't too far from where we needed to be each morning, staff were extremely friendly and helpful, plenty of car parking, rooms were clean and well decorated with tea and coffee available. Nice continental breakfast offered; you can pay extra for cooked breakfast.
Rooms were a little noisy (not from traffic) but only because we were in one of the middle rooms.
Overall would recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Just outside the village lies this small hotel for itself, near the road which we didn´t hear from our room. We arrived at nine pm, just in time for the last orders in the restaurant. It was good, so we ate here the next evening too. The room was good enough, the shower great.
We ordered english breakfast that kept us satisfied for lots of hours afterwards.
Very nice staff, all of them!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KosmosASL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We booked into this hotel at the last minute when looking for accommodation. Very much motel in style, but the rooms was very clean and well decorated. One of my friends is wheelchair bound and the staff could not do enough to accommodate him. We were given a ramp and extra equipment to use in the wet room bathroom. All the staff in the main restaurant/bar were helpful and friendly. Although on a main road, we weren't keep awake with noise. A really good stay in the heart of 1006 country. Good position for all local attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank felix099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Comfortable motel style hotel just outside Winchelsea. Our room had its own front door up a flight if steps. Spacious room and travel cot for our baby supplied at no extra cost. Good shower, toiletries, tea/coffee facilities, hairdrier etc. Nice continental breakfast and you can pay extra for cooked breakfast. Lots of car parking and you need a car to explore the area. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thollon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Stayed for a 3 night break and was very pleased with the Lodge. Motel style accommodation set in great countryside and although on a main road noise is not an issue. It is well placed for visiting many nearby attractions but a car is recommended to get around though the local bus does stop outside.
Had a first floor room which was large , clean and comfortable. Toiletries supplied plus tea/coffee (and biscuits) so no need to bring anything with you - just turn up and relax. The bar - fully stocked - and dining area are of a good size and there is some seating outside if the weather permits. Food wise a continental breakfast is included in the room price and it was ample but if required various cooked items are available at extra cost. A reasonable size menu is available from lunch through to late evening and the standard is good - we ate in all 3 nights and enjoyed what was on offer.
The staff are all very friendly and efficient and give the place a home from home feel and we would gladly go back to stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Stayed here for two nights as a family of four. The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating throughout the stay with no complaints. The room itself though was very dated and The Lodge is in need of refurbishment. The room had a slightly "fusty" smell to it, although the sheets were all clean. The bed was far from comfortable. The location itself is good and with a general lack of good, decent priced options in the area, if a little were spent on bringing this up to date whilst keeping the friendly attitude, then it would do very well.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank rajec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winchelsea
2.4 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
2.6 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
821 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Flackley Ash Country House Hotel
2.5 mi away
The George in Rye
2.2 mi away
River Haven Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Winchelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Winchelsea

Address: Hastings Road, Winchelsea, Rye TN36 4AD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye > Winchelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winchelsea
Price Range: £62 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Winchelsea 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Winchelsea offers its guests the perfect base to explore the beautiful 1066 countryside and historic sites. Situated between Rye and Hastings with ample free onsite parking. There are fantastic walks from our doorstep including the ‘1066 country walk’. 28 modern en-suite guest rooms, bar and restaurant, free wi-fi and free parking. Room price includes continental breakfast. The contemporary restaurant is open seven days a week serving a wide range of delicious dishes, including an excellent carvery every Sunday. Our menu changes to reflect the seasons and offers dishes for all tastes and budgets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Lodge at Winchelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Winchelsea Hotel Winchelsea
Winchelsea Hotel East Sussex
Winchelsea Motel East Sussex
The Lodge At Winchelsea East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing