We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful find”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lodge at Winchelsea
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winchelsea
Certificate of Excellence
kent
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“What a wonderful find”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Found The Lodge under lastminute.com and what a wonderful find this is. A warm welcome from the moment we arrived until we checked out. Hosts were very welcoming. Lovely, clean rooms with tea and coffee making facilities inside. Great choice at breakfast from cereals and full English to kippers. A real treasure and we would definitely book again.

Room Tip: Had a family room, of double bed and bunk beds in Room 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    106
    41
    19
    9
See reviews for
83
161
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

stayed at The lodge for 3 nights because we was going to a family wedding at camber sands , very nice exterior , was welcomed by very smiley man who turned out to be Mr jack of all trades (superman Sid )nothing too much trouble. Breakfast was really nice lots of it ,had a lovely time , well worth the money , very reasonably priced and would defiantly go back again

Room Tip: lower floor rooms have view of car park higher rooms have views of fields
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We have just had a Groupon deal for two nights bed and breakfast at this hotel. Although situated on the main road, it is quiet and surrounded by beautiful countryside and we were lucky enough to get room 6 on the back with magnificent views over the valleys. Our room was very clean, warm and comfortable. Fabulous power shower. The restaurant was a revelation a lesson in how to serve superb meals (eg sea bass, seared pork with pepper and chorizo), cooked and served to perfection, for less than a tenner! The staff were very helpful and friendly, particular mention for Sidney who gave gracious service with a smile and for whom nothing was too much trouble. The cooked breakfast was huge and very good. In all, an excellent motel type hotel which provided excellent value for money in a beautiful part of East Sussex.

Room Tip: Room 6 is upstairs on the corner at the back, spacious with lovely views. You can watch the bunnies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Lovely comfortable weekend at this motel just outside Winchelsea in East Sussex.
We came to do some walks for the weekend. The hotel proved to be ideal for the walks to the coast, Winchelsea and Rye. Lots of paths, lanes and country routes to take.
We chose a three bed room which was excellent. Breakfast generous and nice surroundings in the restaurant.
Ideal for cheaper accommodation in this area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Prime location in 1066 country .we stayed 2 nights and on arrivel we were greated to smiley faces and a warm welcome .The food is good and the service was fantastic .we managed to go RYE and HASTINGS on the first day and on the second BODIUM CASTLE and BATTLE ABBEY .I will defiantly call again .nothing was to much trouble.superb

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We had a really enjoyable 2 night break courtesy of Groupon at this super location, where the staff were very friendly , the accommodation clean and comfortable, and meals great value with generous proportions.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We booked a 2 night break on Groupon and we were not disappointed. Excellent value for money. Very clean, spacious room and it was nice to have a sofa to relax in the evening. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff. My only comment would be that the food we had in the evenings was very salty. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winchelsea
2.4 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
949 reviews
2.2 mi away
River Haven Hotel
2.3 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
754 reviews
2.5 mi away
The George in Rye
4.1 mi away
Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about The Lodge at Winchelsea

Property: The Lodge at Winchelsea
Address: Hastings Road, Winchelsea, Rye TN36 4AD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye > Winchelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winchelsea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Winchelsea 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Winchelsea offers its guests the perfect base to explore the beautiful 1066 countryside and historic sites. Situated between Rye and Hastings with ample free onsite parking. There are fantastic walks from our doorstep including the ‘1066 country walk’. 28 modern en-suite guest rooms, bar and restaurant, free wi-fi and free parking. Room price includes continental breakfast. The contemporary restaurant is open seven days a week serving a wide range of delicious dishes, including an excellent carvery every Sunday. Our menu changes to reflect the seasons and offers dishes for all tastes and budgets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your The Lodge at Winchelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Winchelsea Hotel Winchelsea
Winchelsea Hotel East Sussex
Winchelsea Motel East Sussex
The Lodge At Winchelsea East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing