We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lodge at Winchelsea
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winchelsea
Certificate of Excellence
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had our wedding reception at The Lodge in November and we couldn't have been more pleased with the amazing staff and their venue. I would recommend them for any special occasion, a night away or even just popping by for a bite to eat and a drink.

When planning our reception Toby couldn't have been more helpful and he offered lots of ideas as to the best use of the space etc as well as making sure he was there whenever we were scheduled to pop by to measure up bits and pieces or remind ourselves of the layout etc.

We had exclusive use from 3pm on the day which gave us plenty of time to set up and decorate and we were partying until very late.

I couldn't praise the bar staff enough on the night, making sure that no one was left waiting long even when mixing our signature cocktails on order by our
guests.

I was too busy on the dance floor to eat but I got great feedback from our guests and the meal we had the night before was delicious... As was the full English the following morning.


All of the rooms we visited and particularly our room (#5) we're lovely,had tea and coffee making facilities and ensuite bathrooms.

I can't wait to go back for our anniversary!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AimeeFowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    103
    40
    18
    9
See reviews for
80
155
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Bank holiday Monday & we decided to go for a day out Driving from Folkestone we noticed The Lodge which had a sign 'food served all day'. On the way back from Hastings at 2.30pm we decided to pop in. What a lovely surprise. The lunch was really great. We had the carvery which was good even at that time. Staff very friendly and we will definitely stop off there again. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anniemac108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We had the family room, room 12, which was fine - very clean and quiet but no view to speak of. I phoned prior to arrival to book dinner on the Sunday - and here is the only time it feel down - no one said the usual a la carte menu (on the website) wasn't available and it was a carvery. When we booked in the man on reception said the carvery was on until 8pm - I replied that we had a table booked at 8.30, and he said that was fine. Again, no mention that it was just a carvery. We had a busy day out and were looking forward to a relaxing meal without having to drive. We came down and we were the only ones there which didn't help, also we were given carvery was open and given a piece of paper with a few other options. I said what about the normal menu, but was told that wasn't available. In the end we left and had to drive all the way back into Hastings for a meal. Not the relaxing evening we had planned.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dee63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The Staff where really friendly the food was brilliant the whole place was clean and well kept really lovley restaurant beautiful views would advice any one to try it out we will definitely be going again

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teddybanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We had two nights at The Lodge. The staff were all friendly and helpful, and found me a lamp when my bedside light was not working. The room was small, dark and dreary, though the bathroom was excellent, apart from a shelf which sloped so much it was impossible to put anything on. There was a similar shelf in the main room. The window, though double glazed, let in a lot of noise, and as The Lodge is on a busy road, this was sometimes a nuisance. There were no curtains, just a rather old venetian blind, which let in a lot of light, and, being on the ground floor, didn't make you feel very private! There was very little wardrobe space, in fact very little space of any kind! The beds were comfortable and there were plenty of tea and coffee supplies, and some lovely biscuits. The food in the restaurant was good, though I found the restaurant area also to be dark and gloomy. There didn't seem to be much atmosphere, and I felt I could have been sitting in a 'bus station café, or similar. My husband had the Continental breakfast, which was included, but we felt that The Lodge was overpriced at £75.00 per night. Our room was supposed to be suitable for disabled guests, and the bathroom was indeed ideal for this, but there is no way a wheelchair could have been pushed through the room to get to the bathroom - there just wasn't enough space. Also, there was quite a big step up into the room, with no grab rail or anything to hold on to, and whilst a portable ramp was provided, it would have been vey steep to push a wheelchair up. Overall, I feel The Lodge is trying, but just hasn't quite got things right yet. It was OK for a stopover, but I would not consider it for a relaxing, leisurely holiday.

Room Tip: Be aware of the limitations regarding access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pevensey, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed at the lodge for two nights, the staff were excellent and couldn't do enough for us, Our room was lovely really clean and furnished really well all very comfortable.

We had a meal in the restaurant and it was delicious very quick service and the prices were really reasonable, unfortunately we didn't get the young lads name that served us that night but he really made sure we had an enjoyable evening thank you. The continental breakfast was lovely everything we needed.

Rye is very near and Camber sands beach.

Thank you also to the Manager who made time for us.

Overall a really lovely stay we will look forward to returning.

Room Tip: We asked for a nice view on booking, and it was a lovely view all across the fields we also had a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jojoread65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

In the area for Easter weekend and thought the carvery was perfect for Easter Sunday lunch,

We arrived @ 14:40 and our table was booked and reserved, sat down and waited for 20 minutes for drink order which was then wrong! When we asked for correct drinks they were brought back and "dumped" on table. We then ordered food and must say it was lovely but no offer of more drinks/refills , no consistency and had to chase chance for more drinks, chase to order puddings and there was no level of customer service, except the man carving (he was very friendly and I assume the owner) heard women ( waitresses ) moaning about feeling exhausted and complaining how busy it had been!!! Shame as this clearly is a stylish venue with a good chef and reasonable priced but the service today let it down

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winchelsea
2.4 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
933 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
2.2 mi away
River Haven Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
738 reviews
2.5 mi away
The George in Rye
4.1 mi away
Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Winchelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Winchelsea

Property: The Lodge at Winchelsea
Address: Hastings Road, Winchelsea, Rye TN36 4AD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye > Winchelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winchelsea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Winchelsea 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Winchelsea offers its guests the perfect base to explore the beautiful 1066 countryside and historic sites. Situated between Rye and Hastings with ample free onsite parking. There are fantastic walks from our doorstep including the ‘1066 country walk’. 28 modern en-suite guest rooms, bar and restaurant, free wi-fi and free parking. Room price includes continental breakfast. The contemporary restaurant is open seven days a week serving a wide range of delicious dishes, including an excellent carvery every Sunday. Our menu changes to reflect the seasons and offers dishes for all tastes and budgets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your The Lodge at Winchelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Winchelsea Hotel Winchelsea
Winchelsea Hotel East Sussex
Winchelsea Motel East Sussex
The Lodge At Winchelsea East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing