We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful family site”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bacton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castaways Holiday Park
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful family site”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed last August, for our second year running, taking our two small dogs, grandparents, and their small dog too. Always a friendly welcome from the owners, it's like staying with relatives. We had a minor problem with a smelly fridge, but on telling the owners, they were right over sorting it out for us. We love the access to the beach, dog friendly bar, inventive quiz night, and magical Edd the hilarious magic act. We will definitely be going again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    25
    4
    5
    11
See reviews for
68
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

My family went this holiday park last year in summer. We enjoyed our holiday because of the wonderful staff who were very welcoming and very helpful. A good variety of entertainment every night with excellent bar staff..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melody A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent Uk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We went on a family 3 day trip and by all accounts should still be there instead I am back home writing this review. The caravan we stayed was described in our literature as superior BUT if this is superior i really would not want to see budget.

My son was unable to sleep in the room with twin beds as the beds were to uncomfortable we had arrived late so couldn't complain. We made up his bed in the lounge on the seating as we pulled out the pull out bed and it was absolutely filthy and disgusting.

My husband and I could not sleep in our room and used a blow up mattress on the floor. The next morning everything was DAMP our clothes were WET my poor dog was coughing and spluttering due to the damp.

The caravan was dirty below the surface which appeared clean.

Obviously the owners know the beds are crap as the mattresses have old duvets wrapped around them.

ONE saving grace was that dogs are allowed in the bar area.

When we complained the lady we spoke to said she would go and get the owner however they never materialized just the same lady who worked in the bar to say did we want another caravan by this time we had packed up in the car and were driving away.

A offer of our money back or partial refund would have been nice pherhaps we to should inform ABTA we will be informing the site we booked through.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

So disappointing with this accommodation, yes it is family run that does not excuse the filthy accommodation. It does not excuse the fact we couldn't use the bar for lunch as they hire it out for private meeting (to make more money) Despite sending photographic evidence of the filth and bloodstained sheets and numerous other complaints these were brushed of no offer of a refund and not even an apology apparently it was my families fault for not running around chasing after the owner to complain. Oh and if you want to buy lunch from the shop for goodness sake don't go at lunchtime as its closed!!!!! This was meant to be a relaxing family holiday before my husband deployed for 6 months, totally ruined. Armed Forces personnel give a wide birth in my opinion if they don't respect an honest complaint why line their pockets. I have taken this further to ABTA as this is disgraceful.

Room Tip: certainly not a lodge didn't see other accomm
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gyouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna H, Owner at Castaways Holiday Park, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your family break at Castaways Holiday Park. Yes we are a family owned and run site that prides itself on cleanliness and personal Customer service however on this occasion you never gave us the opportunity to use our experience to ensure that you would have had a great stay. We apologise if you thought that your Pine Lodge was not up to your standards, however as stated in our previous complaint responses to you had you had brought these issues up directly with the park, we may have had a chance to rectify the situation. With regards to our clubhouse, this is clearly stated that we do not open for lunch time as in previous years we decided to close our Clubhouse during the daytime due to lack of response. The photographic evidence does not suguest that these photos were taken at the start of this customers stay, however to take apart the shower trap to take photos is totally unacceptable. The bloodstained sheets were only noticed as you stated on the Thursday evening after checking into your accommodation on the Saturday before. We would also like to state the blood stains that were on the sheet and were also on the protective cover underneath the undersheet. In all honesty how could we apologise if you could not come and speak to us directly regarding your problems with the accommodation. We as owners were onsite during the whole of your stay and in fact our house is directly opposite the lodge you stayed in and you know we spoke to you at the start of your break, so the fact that you did not want to chase us is total fabrication as this customer had every opportunity to speak to us. Our Shop opening times are clearly advised and stated to all our holidaymakers at point of checking in at Reception, so you would know when the shop opens and closes. We close at lunchtimes in order to get a meal ourselves as we work such long hours, but if you did require anything why did you not come across to the main house to ask for us to open the shop, as if you would have spoke to us you would have known we are very approachable people. The fact that you never mentioned anything with us at the start of your holiday, that you never spoke to us or our staff at all during your stay regarding your complaint, the fact that you stayed the full duration without saying anything at all, then when you get home you complain is not very honest to us or our staff. We do apologise that your complaint has esculated this far and that you wish to complain to ABTA regarding our site, but we could have made your stay better with us had we have known about your complaint during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
342 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

and since many of the family lived in Norwich we gathered here. We stated in Tern Lodge. The site is very quiet, and the accommodation was more or less what we expected. The Lodge was clean and well-equipped. There's a bar on site we didn't try plus a shop with some basics. Not far away there's a bigger shop, a pub a Chinese and a chippy. North Walsham has a biggish Sainsbury's, about 15 minutes away. The beach is 5 minutes away down some steps.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna H, Owner at Castaways Holiday Park, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your review on Castaways and of the village of Bacton. We do sincerely hope that your party enjoyied the birthday celebrations and hope that you can visit again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oundle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Lovely and small, beach access, clean van, well kept park, Power station so close by nearly put us off booking but we forgot it was there after day 1.
Bacton was great, nice chippy and a couple of well stocked shops, beach with lots of parking.
Quiet and relaxing :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phillnzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna H, Owner at Castaways Holiday Park, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your kind comments regarding Castaways and the local amenities!!! We strive to ensure that our customers do enjoy their stay. We do hope that you will visit Castaways very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have just enjoyed a nice family holiday here. We were not expecting much as it is a small holiday camp, but we really enjoyed our stay here. All the staff were so friendly and welcoming, the vans were all new and clean and the playground was ideal for the kids to have a play. The clubhouse was small but it was such a good atmosphere inside. I would recommend Castaways to friends and family. Thank you for a great time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bacton
3.1 mi away
The Keswick
The Keswick
#1 of 1 in Bacton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mundesley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
6.2 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
4.4 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaways Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Holiday Park

Property: Castaways Holiday Park
Address: Castaways Holiday Park Paston Road, Bacton, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Bacton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Bacton
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaways Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reception and Shop Opening Times: 9.00am - 12.30pm & 2.00pm - 6.00pm Wednesdays closed at 5.00pm Saturdays: 8.30am - 11.00am & 2.00pm - 6.00pm Jolly Roger Bar Opening Hours: 6.30pm - 12.00 Sundays 7.00pm - 11.00pm Food Served from Opening till 9.00pm ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castaways Holiday Park Bacton, UK - Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing