We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Keswick
Nearby Hotels
The Manor Hotel(Mundesley)
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beechwood Hotel(North Walsham)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scarborough Hill Country Inn(North Walsham)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Marge Hotel(Overstrand)
US$340
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Cromer Country Club by Diamond Resorts(Cromer)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Red Lion(Cromer)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveller rating
203
57
17
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
203
57
17
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmargaret and russellnorfolk breakfasthigh standardgood sizecooked breakfastlarge car parkexcellent qualitysea viewnothing too much troublewarm welcomefresh fruitbreakfast roomno hesitation in recommendingfeel so welcomenorfolk coastperfect hostspoachers pocket
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 287 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Very friendly and welcoming, the room was clean and had every thing we needed for a short stay booked at the last moment. Very close to the beach and to other local attractions. Food was excellent, we ate there in the evening and enjoyed a first class meal at a very reasonable price. The full Norfolk breakfast was superb, kept us going for the rest of the day! Margaret was an attentive hostess and her informality was pleasing. the Keswick is a great place for a stay in North Norfolk and makes a good base for visiting local attractions.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerryRose W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This is a very shabby hotel in need of some TLC.
The downstairs single is more like a box room and had not been cleaned thoroughly.
Both the bedside lampshades in our double room were cracked and broken and the bed had no support and was very uncomfortable. Plenty of left overs from previous occupants on the floor of the ensuite!
Sat at breakfast table for 15mins before anyone came out of kitchen to take order.
No cover on the dried fruit at the breakfast table and the cooked breakfast was swimming in grease.
'Mine host', although friendly, came across as overbearing and rather prickly. Very unprofessional to call guests 'my love', 'my dear'.
A very poor standard in a very rundown area. Not a very good experience or advertisement for a British seaside hotel!

Room Tip: If this is the only hotel available in the area - seriously consider whether to book.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaana_1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margaretbacton, Owner at The Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear Jaana-1955
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
We would like to reply because we feel some of what you wrote is unfair.
We strongly dispute that our rooms are dirty, we think we have an excellent housekeeping team and if the 4.5 tripadvisor reviews on cleanliness are anything to go by, so do the majority of our guests.
Your breakfast experience too does not sound a typical one, but as you did not say anything at all, at the time or when you left. (We know this because we have had absolutely no complaints regarding breakfast service) We were unable to address your concerns. We take your point about the uncovered dried fruit.
It is true, Margaret does have a friendly and informal management style, for which we make no apologies, this has nothing to do with the level of professionalism we strive to attain. As co-owner Margaret is the public face of the business and our occupancy levels / reviews attest that we please most people most of the time, we will not be changing this.
We also believe 'Shabby' and 'Rundown' is an exaggeration. For the past SIX years we have invested everything back into the business to build it up as quickly as resources allow. The improvements are massive, yet we accept we have a way to go and all our potential customers should know we are conduction refurbishments across the hotel as quick as financially possible. Having said this, we would like to point out that we have consistently achieved a 3 Star AA Rating and look forward to maintaining this level in the future.
Yes of course, we would like our product to be better, bigger rooms, more luxuriously appointed and even possibly a level of sycophancy that you seem to be looking for, but then we would not be a 3 star hotel charging 3 star prices! We continue to believe we offer good value, relatively speaking.
We feel it is an unfair review because it's so unbalanced; choosing as you did, to only focus on, what could be regarded as, our weakest areas. You did not mention what we regard as our strongest areas, Helpful customer service, Margaret & Glyn go out of their way to give helpful advice and ensure our guests enjoy their stay in the area, the award winning Rosette restaurant serving a la carte meals and the lovely beach and surrounding areas. Personally we do not think the North Norfolk Coastline is 'Rundown' clearly The Keswick is not for you and are sincerely sorry we did not meet your requirements on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Margaret and Russell have clearly put heart and soul into their hotel. We had the twin downstairs room which was clean and nicely appointed, but no sea view. All the other rooms upstairs are doubles wuth view. The food was extremely good - top class - and definitely worth the visit. Service was attentive, thoughtful and informal.

Only disappointment was that the rear of the hotel was a gravel car park where people didn't clean up after their dogs, and there wasn't a nice place to sit and enjoy the sea view.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VeniceCiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Just got back from a two night break at the Keswick which we booked at the last moment through booking.com. We had asked for a room with a sea view with the booking as we had noticed that there was a road in front of the hotel so we were disappointed that when we arrived we were allocated family room at the front but as we were only going to be there two days we didn't make a fuss.
The room was a good size and so was the adjacent bathroom which served two rooms which made up the family room. It was very clean and the towels appeared to be brand new. The room had tea and coffee making facilities a small flat screen tv and a hairdryer. The bathroom also had a shower over the bath.
We booked a meal in the evening and I must say having eaten at some of the best restaurants both in this country and abroad I was not disappointed. Russell the co-owner with Margaret has cooked for many years as a chef at places such as Harrods and we both had a starter followed by Lamb cutlets and the presentation and the quality of the food was excellent 10 out of 10.The meal was at a very reasonable price for the area and besides the al la carte which we had there is also a bar menu which had a good choice,
The following morning the breakfasts were excellent and Margaret the co-owner is very friendly and looked after us well.
The hotel is right on the sea front and a 50 yard walk takes you onto a sandy beach that is several miles long. The hotel is well placed for touring and while we were there we visited Cromer and Sheringham one day and the following day all the villages to Wells next to the Sea.
This hotel is well worth using for any break to North Norfolk but do ensure you get a sea view room as the road outside is quiet noisy until about 11 at night and again from about 6 in the morning.

Room Tip: Try to ensure by ringing ahead that you have been allocated a sea view room as the front rooms facing the road can be noisy.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malc_hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My family and I stayed for my birthday weekend in July 2013. The hotel was situated perfectly for the beach with my 2 young grandchildren in mind. The single rooms were very comfortable and the family room (more like a suite) was ideal with the children in a separate room from the parents. The only criticism was the curtains were not thick enough to keep out the light in the summer evenings and also the security light outside. The food was excellent and the owner went out of her way to be helpful. Thoroughly enjoyed the weekend made even better by the weather!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews