We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Company and Food you cannot forget!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Keswick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Keswick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bacton
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Company and Food you cannot forget!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

I've stayed at the Keswick many times on business over the past several months, but it is an establishment that I have never hesitated to bring my family to also.

The delightful and personal manner in which the Keswick is run has meant that Margaret and Russell's hotel has been my home away from home whilst on business and an extended family when my loved ones are with me.

This type of atmosphere is invaluable to the travelling professional or family holiday-makers alike; my family and I have thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Keswick on every occasion!

Margaret's warm and charming nature coupled with Russell's exuberant and quintessential flair in the kitchen, means that your stay at The Keswick can only be as heart-felt and enjoyable as mine!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    55
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
60
134
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

A truly fantastic find,from the moment we walked through to reception the greeting we received from receptionist Marie was amazing nothing was too much trouble,noticing my walking stick our cases were in our room on the 1st floor immediately.The room was spotless and the 4 poster king size bed. was so so comfortable..Margaret the co owner with husband chef Russell,what can we say about Margaret,Fantastic,a lovely lady whose favourite two words were NO PROBLEM!!!Now we come to the food,the full Norfolk Breakfast is a local sourced meal that fills you up until dinner time.Dinner, incredible you must try Russell's sea bass,sublime,as was everything he waived his chef's knife over..We were due to leave on the Wednesday,but just had to stay another day.
See you all again next year.
Can't wait.
Celia & Ted Gosling

Room Tip: We had the four poster bed room,wonderful slept like tops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

I received a wonderfully warm welcome from everyone at the Keswick. The rooms are lovely, the beds comfy and the food excellent. Located as close to the beach as it's possible to be in Bacton, this is a bed and breakfast to which I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

this is the second stay at the keswick for me,last year my husband was battling cancer and we both had a great time here,margaret and russell were superb hosts,the food was excellent and it was a pleasure to see my husband enjoy the food,we shared a double sea veiw room,and our little dog was welcomed as well,the room was spotless and very comfortable,since then sadly john passed away in june,Needing to visit a friend nerebye i booked into the keswick ,only 1 room available and a single,i didn hesitate and booked,the room was very comfortable,spotless with lovely crisp white sheets,bathroom with huge walk in shower,john, would have loved that,this visit was a very emotianal time for me,never in 25yrs had i stayed in a hotel alone,and to say i was nervous is putting it mildly,BUT i was greeted with such a warm MARGARET welcome,and instantly i knew once again my weekend was going to be great,and it was,the best norfolk brekky around,set me up for the day,superb is the word.im definatly going to book again and would highly recommend to anyone visiting that area,,THANK you every one for making my step into a different life so much easier for me,you deserve the biggest acalade for all your hard work .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sapcote, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Very friendly and welcoming, the room was clean and had every thing we needed for a short stay booked at the last moment. Very close to the beach and to other local attractions. Food was excellent, we ate there in the evening and enjoyed a first class meal at a very reasonable price. The full Norfolk breakfast was superb, kept us going for the rest of the day! Margaret was an attentive hostess and her informality was pleasing. the Keswick is a great place for a stay in North Norfolk and makes a good base for visiting local attractions.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryRose W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

This is a very shabby hotel in need of some TLC.
The downstairs single is more like a box room and had not been cleaned thoroughly.
Both the bedside lampshades in our double room were cracked and broken and the bed had no support and was very uncomfortable. Plenty of left overs from previous occupants on the floor of the ensuite!
Sat at breakfast table for 15mins before anyone came out of kitchen to take order.
No cover on the dried fruit at the breakfast table and the cooked breakfast was swimming in grease.
'Mine host', although friendly, came across as overbearing and rather prickly. Very unprofessional to call guests 'my love', 'my dear'.
A very poor standard in a very rundown area. Not a very good experience or advertisement for a British seaside hotel!

Room Tip: If this is the only hotel available in the area - seriously consider whether to book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaana_1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margaretbacton, Owner at The Keswick, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Jaana-1955
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
We would like to reply because we feel some of what you wrote is unfair.
We strongly dispute that our rooms are dirty, we think we have an excellent housekeeping team and if the 4.5 tripadvisor reviews on cleanliness are anything to go by, so do the majority of our guests.
Your breakfast experience too does not sound a typical one, but as you did not say anything at all, at the time or when you left. (We know this because we have had absolutely no complaints regarding breakfast service) We were unable to address your concerns. We take your point about the uncovered dried fruit.
It is true, Margaret does have a friendly and informal management style, for which we make no apologies, this has nothing to do with the level of professionalism we strive to attain. As co-owner Margaret is the public face of the business and our occupancy levels / reviews attest that we please most people most of the time, we will not be changing this.
We also believe 'Shabby' and 'Rundown' is an exaggeration. For the past SIX years we have invested everything back into the business to build it up as quickly as resources allow. The improvements are massive, yet we accept we have a way to go and all our potential customers should know we are conduction refurbishments across the hotel as quick as financially possible. Having said this, we would like to point out that we have consistently achieved a 3 Star AA Rating and look forward to maintaining this level in the future.
Yes of course, we would like our product to be better, bigger rooms, more luxuriously appointed and even possibly a level of sycophancy that you seem to be looking for, but then we would not be a 3 star hotel charging 3 star prices! We continue to believe we offer good value, relatively speaking.
We feel it is an unfair review because it's so unbalanced; choosing as you did, to only focus on, what could be regarded as, our weakest areas. You did not mention what we regard as our strongest areas, Helpful customer service, Margaret & Glyn go out of their way to give helpful advice and ensure our guests enjoy their stay in the area, the award winning Rosette restaurant serving a la carte meals and the lovely beach and surrounding areas. Personally we do not think the North Norfolk Coastline is 'Rundown' clearly The Keswick is not for you and are sincerely sorry we did not meet your requirements on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Margaret and Russell have clearly put heart and soul into their hotel. We had the twin downstairs room which was clean and nicely appointed, but no sea view. All the other rooms upstairs are doubles wuth view. The food was extremely good - top class - and definitely worth the visit. Service was attentive, thoughtful and informal.

Only disappointment was that the rear of the hotel was a gravel car park where people didn't clean up after their dogs, and there wasn't a nice place to sit and enjoy the sea view.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeniceCiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bacton
4.9 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mundesley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
9.3 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
5.2 mi away
Wayford Bridge Inn
Wayford Bridge Inn
#1 of 2 in Stalham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
8.0 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick

Property: The Keswick
Address: Walcott Road, Bacton NR12 0LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Bacton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bacton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Keswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Hotel Bacton
The Keswick Bacton, UK - Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing